Internet Rubbish

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Internet Rubbish

Post by Neptune24 » Fri Oct 07, 2011 10:40 am

Hi guys. Long time I know, but new build needed sorting and no internet. Anyway back to the point. I have a really rubbish internet speed and would like to know if there is any way to speed it up for the time being as I refuse to pay to end the contract early. And knowing that it might help I am with Sky.

Image

And just to confirm that I am the only one using it when the test was done and that was the only thing using the broadband.

Neptune24
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by Major_A » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:04 pm

Not really. There are some adapter tweaks you can do but they aren't even worth doing. Your internet speed is what it is (that make sense?). If you feel like you aren't getting what you paid for then you need to contact the provider. You could be behind a bad node, faulty modem or old wiring. All of these things would cause problems.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1191
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by DJ Tucker » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:09 pm

sky broadband has been having these problems since the truly unlimited came in. i would check to see what your download and upload should be then call them to find out why you only getting this. from there they should send out a repairman to access what is causing the bad speed and sort it for you at no cost, unless the problem is the area cable system :(
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
DaddyRabbit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:46 am

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by DaddyRabbit » Fri Oct 07, 2011 7:11 pm

I don't know that I would call that "broadband" :(

Using the same app I measured the DL/UL speeds on my supposed 6mbs cable connection from Maryland, USA to Suva, Fiji (7801.33 miles) and got:

This is definitely an issue with the ISP and they should fix it. Is there an "expected" speed? For example my service states ~ 6mps down and 420kbs up (regularly get more though so no complaints), with a clause that performance may vary due to load etc. If you are consistently getting dial-up speeds thru a cable or DSL there is an ISP problem.

I don't think I will complain about my ISP again...
Attachments
suvatest.PNG
suvatest.PNG (96.24 KiB) Viewed 1742 times
Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Core i7 2600k
Corsair H100 Liquid Cooler
8gig (2x4) G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600
Powercolor HD5870 PCS+
OCZ Agility 2 240G SSD (boot, programs, games)
WD Caviar Black 1TB (Data)
CM UCP RS700-AAAAA3 700W 80+ Silver PSU
CM Storm Sniper
Gateway FHD2400
Win 7 Pro 64bit

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by Neptune24 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:32 am

Ok thanks guys. Just out of interest is there any way to test from pc to wall myself??
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by Major_A » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:37 am

You can run a traceroute and see if the issue is between the computer and your router/modem.
http://www.pingplotter.com/freeware.html

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by kenc51 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:46 am

Major_A wrote:You can run a traceroute and see if the issue is between the computer and your router/modem.
http://www.pingplotter.com/freeware.html

Careful using traces to determine speed. some devices on the isp network will show high latency as they are busy serving real traffic and will only reply to ping as a low priority. "pingplotter" will just sit an wait for a reply & you'll think this is where the slow speed it.

Make sure your not using wifi when testing the speed

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by Neptune24 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:55 am

Ok thanks for the app. And I am using the adapter that allows me to run the signal through the mains, which is not where the issue stems from as i took the pc down to the router and didnt get much faster. I will say that the results I published were wrong. The real speed is 0.45 not 0.09. Windows was updating which i didn't notice.
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Internet Rubbish

Post by Major_A » Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:16 am

That's still not very good. What were the published speeds when you signed up?

Post Reply