Two New Problems

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Two New Problems

Post by Neptune24 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:23 am

Hi Guys, yet more problems, well more annoying little bugs than problems. Anyway the first is that my computer spends about 5 minutes or so on the following screen:

Image
This isn't mine just an example (If you want to see mine you will have to me how to get it as I haven't a clue.)

And I am having some problems with the windows "RUNDLL32" file.
I open Neverwinter Nights and have to wait a minute for it to do nothing and then open it again. This hasn't always been the case only recently it has started doing both of these.

I have poked about a bit and tried to work out why these are happening but have come up blank.

Thanks for any help.

Neptune24
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Velo:Sity
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Velo:Sity » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:10 am

Any new devices you've added recently?

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Neptune24 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:15 am

Nope. Nothing new on the system since this started happening.
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Major_A » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:18 am

Give this a try.
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/15 ... ecker.html

I've had a board that will sit at the BIOS screen for a good minute before it boots through the tests. Unplug the Radeon video card and put in an nVidia card and it's instant. Dunno. Point is some boards are just flaky.

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Neptune24 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:22 am

Not yet tried the link.

Is a flaky motherboard the only reason then.
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Major_A » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:36 pm

Could possibly be a piece of bad hardware that the POST (Power On Self Test) is struggling to get through. Might want to open your case and take a look inside. I'd look for any bulging capacitors.

Example:
http://www.badcaps.net/images/caps/kt7/kt3.html

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Neptune24 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:05 am

Ok I shall have a look for any dodgy capacitors and do the whole remove all non essensial hardware and put them back in one by one. I will update when I have done this.
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Two New Problems

Post by kenc51 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:16 am

I'd run it through a few passes of memtest86+

Also, try bumping up the ram voltage a notch

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Neptune24 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:31 am

At the mo I am working on updating all the drivers for everything and shall see what happens after I am finished with this long and tedious task.
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Neptune24
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Hampshire, UK

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Neptune24 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:09 am

Right I have checked all of the drivers and other than the graphics card, they were up to date and I have checked all of the capacitors (not fun and took too long) they all seem healthy.

However while checking the capacitors I noticed that it was a bit dusty in there. Can I use a paint brush to clean the boards and fans and everything. Or will this fry something??

Neptune24
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Mother Board: Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD PhenomII X4 965 Processor, 3.4GHz(Stock)
Memory: 16GB RAM
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 550 Ti Memory: 1024 MB
GPU Driver:
8.17.12.7061
Direct X 11

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Two New Problems

Post by Major_A » Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:05 pm

Might be easier to go grab a can of compressed air. As long as you turn the power off and use the brush it will be fine.

Post Reply