Starting From Scratch

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
jchstocker
Legit Little One
Legit Little One

Starting From Scratch

Post by jchstocker »

Putting the end of the story first, I have been using computers since the early '70's. I am reasonably proficient in using them but never had the time to go "deeper" than "Pressing the start button", doing what I had to do, and calling the IT guy to sort out any problems. In passing, I have always used HP machines for no other reason except that I am a creature of habit. Finally I am a Marine Engineer by training and profession and so an technically minded, and have decided to retire (at last says my wife and kids!).

Why am I telling you this? Because I have just spent about US$150 to have an IT professional sort out a problem on my machine and it still is not right. With nothing else to do with my life - except enjoy it! - I have decided that it is high time I understood the workings of my computer.

I have a "HP Touchsmart PC" which is about 2 years old and has given me good service until now. It has a 313 Gig Seagate Hard Drive (SATA) and 3 Gig RAM. The OS is Windows Vista Home Premium SP2. I have decided that I would like to format the hard drive, get rid of everything, and re-load it with Windows 7 and the minimum peripherals (if that is the correct terminology!) required to ensure correct functioning of the machine. (With all due respect to HP, they load their machines with a whole lot of c**p that is never used, surplus to requirements and occupies space!)

Can anyone give me a step-by-step procedure of how I go about doing this and/or recommend a book I could buy /website I could visit were I could get this information?

Thanks in advance and all the best
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Starting From Scratch

Post by Apoptosis »