remote server access

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
unfaithfulsfan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 761
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:52 pm
Location: Buffalo NY

remote server access

Post by unfaithfulsfan » Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:10 pm

OK, this might seem to be a goofball question but I haven't ever set this up nor have I ever worked with it very much.

If I configured the village's server and 3 client PCs for remote access, I would then be able to log in and out of the admin account(s) with no trouble from home, correct? I know we have to have a dedicated IP address, our own domain and a couple of other things I cannot remember right this second. But the crux of the issue is having the ability to remotely log into my account on the server and the clients.

We're using MS Small Business Server 2011 Essentials for the OS and I need to be able to access the server as well as the 3 clients remotely. They're always left on but just not logged in.

Thanks,
Jack
"A payphone was ringing and it just about blew my mind,
when I picked it up & said 'Hello' this foot came through the line"
~Bob Dylan

User avatar
egloeckle
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:48 pm

Re: remote server access

Post by egloeckle » Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:26 pm

SBS 2011 Essentials does not have remote web access (RWA) set up by default. You will ideally need to set this up (and get an SSL cert, i would recommend against a self signed one for ease of use) which will allow you to securely tunnel (via SSL) to pc's/server using remote desktop. Your other option is to use something like Logmein or Teamviewer to accomplish this.

RWA requires you to have some form of domain name pointing to the server's internet IP as well. This can be done via dynamic dns just fine. You will also need to open port 443 (https) to the server on any firewall's.

RWA is really nice, though it may not be the easiest to set up. I have not used anything short of SBS Standard so I dont really know how to get this set up other than a quick google search.

http://titlerequired.com/2011/07/15/set ... ls-part-1/
http://titlerequired.com/2011/07/15/set ... ls-part-2/

Cant speak for how accurate the above links are, like I said, I have never used essentials.

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4703
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: remote server access

Post by bubba » Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:20 pm

Think all you would need is fixed IP from the ISP and a VPN appliance. Then your home PC would act like it was setting on the network at the office.

Or

try the Logmein (or similar) software route, see if that will work for ya. Me, I'd go with the VPN.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: remote server access

Post by kenc51 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:35 am

bubba wrote:Think all you would need is fixed IP from the ISP and a VPN appliance. Then your home PC would act like it was setting on the network at the office.

Or

try the Logmein (or similar) software route, see if that will work for ya. Me, I'd go with the VPN.

+1 for VPN

It's what it's designed to do, much more secure and far less overhead than remote web access.

If you need an SSL cert, you can get a perfectly good free one here
http://cert.startcom.org/

User avatar
unfaithfulsfan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 761
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:52 pm
Location: Buffalo NY

Re: remote server access

Post by unfaithfulsfan » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:09 am

Ah, the SSL cert. Couldn't remember that for anything last night....

I had found a couple of pretty good tutorials for SBSE RWA
http://titlerequired.com/2011/07/15/set ... ls-part-1/
http://titlerequired.com/2011/07/15/set ... ls-part-2/

Just wasn't sure of the finer points of the ability.....

My understanding is the SBSE OS is built on the SBS 2008 kernel but is scaled down for smaller business models, like our little municipality here in WNY. The server has been in place since last November and has been pretty much a rock. I'm setting up offsite backup and don't want to have to trot down to Village Hall every time I need to check on something. Ditto for the 3 Win7 clients.

Thanks for the assistance, yet again. I really don't know what I'd do without y'all!
Jack
"A payphone was ringing and it just about blew my mind,
when I picked it up & said 'Hello' this foot came through the line"
~Bob Dylan

Post Reply