cant follow links

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

cant follow links

Post by Merlin » Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:21 am

For some reason if I click on a link like a tech support link off of a game menu it will not actually input the web address and go to the site. I get a blank white screen with the field that should have the web address blank. Any ideas as to what setting might be making this happen?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: cant follow links

Post by Sparky » Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:24 am

What browser are you using?
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: cant follow links

Post by Merlin » Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:25 am

IE 64 bit
strange thing. I can go to the links thread here and it does work. just not off of a drop down menu in a prgram..
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: cant follow links

Post by Sparky » Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:29 am

Have you tried making 32 bit IE or another browser your default browser to see what happens? I'm running Windows 7 64 bit but I use Chrome or 32 bit IE for my browsers. Some web pages didn't seem to work properly in IE 64 bit for me.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

DragonFury
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am

Re: cant follow links

Post by DragonFury » Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:36 am

ie 64 bit is a bit finiky, try waterfox a 64bit browser from firfox
Mini ME
Is in a state of flux....

User avatar
egloeckle
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:48 pm

Re: cant follow links

Post by egloeckle » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:54 pm

Check your file associations for htm/html as well as the http/https protocols. Reset them if anything or try setting them to another browser, then back to IE.

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: cant follow links

Post by Merlin » Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:26 pm

egloeckle wrote:Check your file associations for htm/html as well as the http/https protocols. Reset them if anything or try setting them to another browser, then back to IE.

How do I do this??
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
egloeckle
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:48 pm

Re: cant follow links

Post by egloeckle » Sat Jun 23, 2012 11:49 pm

Assuming win7 its under "Default Programs" either right on the start menu or in control panels. Use the "Associate a file type or protocol with a program" option, then its just a matter of finding the appropriate file types and protocols in the list (file types and protocols are separate in the list, each section is alphabetical though.

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3945
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: cant follow links

Post by KnightRid » Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:17 am

egloeckle wrote:Assuming win7 its under "Default Programs" either right on the start menu or in control panels. Use the "Associate a file type or protocol with a program" option, then its just a matter of finding the appropriate file types and protocols in the list (file types and protocols are separate in the list, each section is alphabetical though.

I believe (correct me if i am wrong) you can just install Firefox or Chrome, tell it to be the default web browser, restart the computer, then tell IE to be default again and it should reset associations - I think.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
Sparky
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA

Re: cant follow links

Post by Sparky » Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:18 am

KnightRid is correct, I seem to recall during the installation of Chrome it asked if I want to set it as default browser.
Asus X58 Sabertooth|i7 950|CM Hyper 212+|12GB XMS3 PC1600|XFX HD 6870 |Samsung 840 Evo 250 GB SSD|1TB WD Caviar Black SATA 6|1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3|X-Fi Titanium|Corsair HX 750|LG Blu-ray Burner|Asus DVD/CD Burner|CM HAF 922|Windows 7 64 Bit

User avatar
egloeckle
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:48 pm

Re: cant follow links

Post by egloeckle » Mon Jun 25, 2012 6:52 pm

It does, but not everyone wants to have to install a browser (even though there are far superior ones than IE) to fix a stupid windows hiccup.

Post Reply