Aerocool touch 1000?

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Jan 06, 2013 6:15 am

Just purchased this fan controller and i was wondering there in the 5.25" bay is best to install it. above the optical drive and below? also i will be having all 4 fan points used :)
Last edited by DJ Tucker on Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by skier » Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:56 am

think it's mostly preference, but I guess if it is more central (lowest) then it will be easier to connect all fans (easier for fan cables to reach it)

but if all fans could reach the top bay I would put it there personally

:drinkers:
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:34 am

by the way it linked the wrong fan controller lol. but i'll probs put it at the top ;)
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by Major_A » Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:50 am

Put it where it's easiest to use. It would be nice if someone made an internal fan controller (say 5 connections and an internal USB header). Then ship software to control the fans exactly. I have a fan controller too and at the same time I hate having to give up a 5.25" bay just to use it. Let us know what you think of it, the one I have I'm not real crazy about (mainly b/c you can't turn off the display).

INeedAFnSuffix
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:25 am

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by INeedAFnSuffix » Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:06 pm

Major_A wrote:Put it where it's easiest to use. It would be nice if someone made an internal fan controller (say 5 connections and an internal USB header). Then ship software to control the fans exactly. I have a fan controller too and at the same time I hate having to give up a 5.25" bay just to use it. Let us know what you think of it, the one I have I'm not real crazy about (mainly b/c you can't turn off the display).
Yeah! But i didn't like displays i like knobs instead mainly because the digital ones have hardly any power handling because they just want to charge a bomb for them :rolleyes:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by DJ Tucker » Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:53 am

well it looks great but for some reason i can't set the fan speed. like my cpu fan saying it's 2700rpm i set it to 1500rpm and it hasn't dropped. when i touch to set the rpm again it already knows it's at 1500rpm but still doesn't set it? any help :)
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by DJ Tucker » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:46 am

ok fixed the issue. was having to wait like 30secs for it to drop :lol: i have set my cpu fan to 2000rpm from 2700rpm. much quieter and only 2-3c temp increase in occt linpack. my side fan has gone from 700rpm to 1000rpm max setting for some reason. that has cooled my gpu down by 2c in occt gpu, my NB by 2c occt linpack :) Top exhaust fan from 1400rpm to 1800rpm with no noise difference but airflow has increased from not moving an a4 piece of paper to lifting it lightly when placed above :) Front fan from 1400rpm to 1800rpm cooling my samsung F1 hard drive by 1c and my WD hard drive by 2-3c :finga:

Load temps before and after fan controller:
CPU: 63c Now: 66c
GPU: 80c Now: 78c
NB: 60c: Now: 58c
F1 HDD: 27c Now: 26c
WD HDD:34c Now: 32c

In game the temps are about 10-12c lower as games don't stress hardware half as much as stress tests do :)
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by Major_A » Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:15 am

Glad you got it working. I know when I have some fans hooked up to my motherboard even at the advertised 12V aka 100% it still isn't anywhere near 100%. So other than the delay between switching the fan profile what are your thoughts on the controller?

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by DJ Tucker » Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:51 am

very good. worth every penny best buy of 2013 so far :lol: still got some adjustments to do with my cable routing but witht the cooling fans i have it probably won't make a difference :)
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:36 am

Turns out my side fan and front fan are not working with my fan controller at least i don't think so. when i turn my pc on fan 2 and fan 3 reset their rpm to stock speeds. then i noticed that there is only 2 wires going into the molex connector and which i'm using a molex to 3 pin adapter. does that mean i can't use these fans on my fan conntroller as a third wire would be need to monitor the fan?
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by Major_A » Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:42 am

Shoot us a picture of what you're talking about if you can.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by DJ Tucker » Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:16 am

after a little search round on google i do believe the red and black wires are the + and GND/ground and the third wire (yellow or white) is the RPM monitoring cable. so i can still use the fan on my fan controller but won't be able to see any RPM on the display? well i now get 0RPM on fan 2, 3 and 4 that all have 2 wires :( Also unable to upload pic as my camera died and i only have my camera on phone that has no flash and is therefore to dark to see the image in my system :(
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

INeedAFnSuffix
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:25 am

Re: Aerocool touch 1000?

Post by INeedAFnSuffix » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:16 am

You won't be able to see the fan's RPMs and the fan controller depends on the fan's tachometer wire to set the RPMs therefore it keeps resetting simply because it doesn't "know" what RPMs it's spinning at

Post Reply