800mhz DDR2? what do u need to run this stuff?

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
XethaN
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

800mhz DDR2? what do u need to run this stuff?

Post by XethaN » Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:21 pm

After reading Nate's review on: DDR2 800MHz Roundup: A-Data, Kingston, & Mushkin, and I must say he did an excellent job,
there is always so many things to considder when thinking about a ram upgrade.
Only problem is I think my motherboard does not yet support the 800mhz ddr2's that you reviewed
I just won a Gigabyte i-DNA motherboard the GA-8N-SLI Royale, it says on the side it supports dual chanell
DDR 667 modules, does that mean the 800's r outa my range?
Im about to buy 2x1gb 667 sticks of ram (a-data brand ) and I wanted to know also, is all DDR2 dual chanell, or could someone try
and pull a swifty on me and sell me single chanell DDR2? if so is there a difference? (or is this dual and single chanell a setting in bios)???

What are the things to ask before I lay down my $$ when buying ram, so I atleast know what I am getting.

I'm desperate to upgrade since im still using 3x256 sdim chips lol on me good ol P4 1.6

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Feb 14, 2006 11:08 pm

All of Intel's current desktop chipsets support dual channel memory. To activate dual channel all you have to do is plug in two modules. If you use just one module the system will work, but it will be single channel. There is not a setting in the BIOS that allows users to enable or disable dual channel memory support.

When it comes to 800MHz I can tell you that future Intel platforms are going to run DDR2 800 as a standard. So, today 667MHz memory is supported on the Intel 975X chipset, but in a number of months that will be old news.

The motherboard you won uses the nVIDIA nForce4-SLI Intel Edition chipset which can run 800MHz the memory, but the system needs to be overclocked if I recall correctly. The BIOS might have a 2:1 memory divider, but I'm not 100% sure on that Gigabyte board.

For the price of the A-Data modules I don't think you can go wrong and as you saw in my review their price veresus performance numbers were very good.

Let us know which modules you go with and how your system performs.

SAMSAMHA
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:59 am

Post by SAMSAMHA » Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:14 pm

i think it's smart for amd to go with ddr2 800 as it should bring some performance increase over current 939.

XethaN
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

thanks for the info

Post by XethaN » Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:39 am

Thanks for all your info. much apprecieated.
Yeah i currently have the Motherboard mentioned above, plus the 3.6ghz pent 4 Cpu, both which I won, (I was exstatic when i won the pair) but its given me the computer bug again, which is a good thing for me, bad thing for my wallet.
next week im buying the 2x1g sticks of 667 ddr2 they are only $104 each AUD not USD, think that equates to about 74-78 USD each which is pretty good cos my local shops are selling 533 mhz chips for $156 AUD. Ebay rocks.
Now all i have to decide on is a
:video card for my SLI system and ill get the 2nd vid card later.
:DVD dual layer drive.
:Sata HDD
:new monitor
:case
im gonan take my time and try and put some $$ into this system to make it worth my time.

will let you know as things progress.....such excitement.

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Post by werty316 » Thu Feb 16, 2006 3:56 pm

Its sweet that the M2 will go with DDR2 800. The standard DDR2 667 is just too slow compared to some DDR1 memory kits that can OC and provide more bandwidth that DDR2 667. Plus with the memory controller on the chip it will show more a difference between Intel chips.
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: thanks for the info

Post by kenc51 » Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:06 pm

XethaN wrote: im gonan take my time and try and put some $$ into this system to make it worth my time.

will let you know as things progress.....such excitement.
Pls do.....!

Post Reply