Reinstalling Windows Vista 64bit?

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Reinstalling Windows Vista 64bit?

Post by DJ Tucker » Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:01 pm

So a friend of mine has a corrupt vista installation and he wants me to reinstall vista without losing any of his data. he only has 1 hard drive of 500gb which is almost full and really doesn't want to lose any of that data. how can this be done?
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

sgkean
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:50 pm

Re: Reinstalling Windows Vista 64bit?

Post by sgkean » Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:54 pm

Depending on how corrupt it is, you have several options.

In order of least system damaging
Try the Vista Roll-Back feature, if it's been configured
Use the Vista install disc and try to repair the installation
Reinstall Vista over the current install, data will remain; will have to reinstall software; potential for corruption still be there
Microsoft User State Migration Tool; back-up all the data and the configuration settings to be reloaded after the reinstall
Manually back-up the data to an external drive(s); assuming you have one; potential for data to be missed; total reimage

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Reinstalling Windows Vista 64bit?

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:51 pm

ok so it puts everything into windows.old on clean install which is what i hoped would happen but any .exe applications need to be re-installed again :(
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

sgkean
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:50 pm

Re: Reinstalling Windows Vista 64bit?

Post by sgkean » Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:06 pm

Correct, it sucks but at least data files remain intact...

Post Reply