4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

Post by KnightRid » Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:36 am

Ok so I have 8 SATA ports on the MB and 4 of them seem to not be working all of a sudden. I had drives hooked up and they are just gone. If I swap the cables around I can get 4 of the 8 ports to show all the drives but not the others.

Could this be a driver gone wonky or is it the MB itself going bad?

Everything else works fine. I have not noticed any errors and all the drives test fine too.

Don't really need all the drives, I am just anal about keeping everything in its own place.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: 4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

Post by Apoptosis » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:21 am

Hopefully you have something new to tinker with!

Let me and everyone still around here know how that goes.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: 4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

Post by camaroguy1998 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:06 pm

This may not be any help, but oddly similar...Kinda!

This is from a past topic of mine!
2. This being the big one, when I went in to bios to see if AHCI was enabled(it was not)
I read all the side notes when you highlight a category and there was a note that said under SATA enabled(instead of AHCI) use SATA ports 1-4 only! Ports beyond 4 can be enabled through the OS later! That I dont get, but its not a big deal.
Yes, I had the SSD connected to port 5! :oops:


https://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtop ... 20#p225577
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: 4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

Post by KnightRid » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:42 am

Got something new :)

Ryzen baby

Wouldnt fit in my Antec 1200 case so I had to swap everything out and around to get it in the HAF 932! Then had a bad video card :roll: Now I am going to see if I can get stupid windows 10 on it or if it will tell me I cant use it cause of hardware changes. I may try to stick this drive in it and see if it will update drivers and such as I absolutely hate to reinstall windows and get all my programs reinstalled and set properly.

I have it running with Linux Mint!!!

Wish I could do everything in Linux as easily as I can in Windows but just to get the back light on my keyboard to work was a chore.

We are making spaghetti sauce today so maybe this afternoon I can get back to it.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: 4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

Post by camaroguy1998 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:14 pm

KnightRid wrote:Got something new :)

Ryzen baby

Wouldnt fit in my Antec 1200 case so I had to swap everything out and around to get it in the HAF 932! Then had a bad video card :roll: Now I am going to see if I can get stupid windows 10 on it or if it will tell me I cant use it cause of hardware changes. I may try to stick this drive in it and see if it will update drivers and such as I absolutely hate to reinstall windows and get all my programs reinstalled and set properly.

I have it running with Linux Mint!!!

Wish I could do everything in Linux as easily as I can in Windows but just to get the back light on my keyboard to work was a chore.

We are making spaghetti sauce today so maybe this afternoon I can get back to it.
It wont fit in an Antec 1200??? Must be huge, hoping for your sake its a ThreadRipper!
Ryzen is on my wish list!
M$ Windows makes things so easy, yet so difficult!
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: 4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

Post by KnightRid » Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:47 am

camaroguy1998 wrote:It wont fit in an Antec 1200??? Must be huge, hoping for your sake its a ThreadRipper!
Ryzen is on my wish list!
M$ Windows makes things so easy, yet so difficult!
Didnt get to it yesterday, gonna try today!

Gigabyte B350 MB
Ryzen 7 1700
16GB DDR4 3200MHz memory
EK-XLC Predator 240 water cooler

Replacing this i7-3770K I have had for ever!

the space on the back of the 1200 is not big enough to fit the radiator and i cant figure another way to attach it on the 1200 except to try and get fan mounts for the back side of the drive bays and attach it there (not a good thing in my opinion). With the HAF932 I took the top fan out and it fit easily on the inside top of the case.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: 4 SATA connectors on MB went bad it seems..??

Post by DJ Tucker » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:45 pm

The 1200 is great for air but as I found out a while ago it doesn't like 240 rads (unless thin rad). I had trouble getting a 240 into this case with the best place for the rad being at the rear (although I prefer front for pulling in cool air). While the room is there the motherboard I used had the vrm heatsinks in the way so I also had to use the haf 932 still have that system running today except its inside an NZXT H440.
Armageddon V1.0
Processor: Core i7 9700k 4.9Ghz (AVX 4.9Ghz) @ 1.264v Barrow 240mm+360mm
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 2700Mhz 16-16-16-32-1T
Hard Drive: Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & Intel 660p 2Tb
Video Card: RTX 2070 Heatkiller IV 2010Mhz @ 0.975v
Power Supply: Corsair HX1000i
Monitor: Lenovo L24Q-10 1440P
OS: Windows 10 64 bit Pro
Mobo: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Case: Vector VDM01
Peripherals: K70 Lux, M65 Pro, and Void Pro Wireless

Post Reply