DNS Servers

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

DNS Servers

Post by Kaos Kid » Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:44 pm

Hmmm. It has been awhile since Spectrum internet has "filled in" the blanks for DNS Servers in my router. I have manually used Google's (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) when Spectrums went wonky (was still Charter at the time). I switched to Cloudflare's (1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1) and I thought that was done. However, I happened to do a DNS leak test and found that my DNS queries were bouncing around to at least 6 different Spectrum servers in my area before resolving through them. I did something I've never had to do, manually fill in the DNS server addresses I desired to the network adapter properties in my PC along with having them listed in my router. I again ran DNS Leak Test and saw it only querying Cloudflare servers so I assume that I succeeded in removing Spectrum's DNS servers from the loop. Did I really have to do that, or am I missing something? Thanks.
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: DNS Servers

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:18 pm

hummm

What DNS leak test did you use? I can try to replicate here.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: DNS Servers

Post by Kaos Kid » Wed Jan 02, 2019 9:36 pm

Sorry, I didn't see this. After experimentation, I found that although I had 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 set as DNS in my router, it was still showing DNS requests to Charter DNS servers. After going in to network settings for the connection in Windows and manually setting the DNS to 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1, now when I run dnsleaktest.com it only shows Cloudflare servers so I guess it is bypassing Charter/Spectrum DNS servers. Things seem pretty snappy so I'm OK with it for now. Do I have any reason to trust Clouidflare any less than Spectrum with my DNS requests?
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3924
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: DNS Servers

Post by KnightRid » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:37 am

I don't trust anything to be 100% secure and safe on the internet so I would say both are equal.

I am surprised you can hide from all their servers since they are providing the internet service. Your modem still have to send info to them to make sure you are a paying customer and such so they can probably see all the settings and change them if they want (old cable system at old house used a config file in the modem to do this and could update it whenever they wanted) so just keep an eye on the settings to make sure they stick.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: DNS Servers

Post by Kaos Kid » Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:51 pm

They updated my internet and modem 6 months after everyone else, this 3.1 modem is Spectrum branded and doesn't want you to get into it to see stats. I've used the workaround but it is a PIA and not worth the trouble. I'm still using my DLink DIR-850L AC1200 router.
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

User avatar
Kaos Kid
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:31 am
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Re: DNS Servers

Post by Kaos Kid » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:43 am

Hey Nate, if you don't mind when you are at home on your Spectrum Internet, do me a favor please and run your ipconfig/ all command to see which DNS servers that Spectrum is using as default. Thanks!
I have come to the conclusion that "FaceBook" should be renamed "FacePalm" :roll:

Post Reply