RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Sep 08, 2019 12:40 pm

So I havean issue with my vram. No matter what game I play, as soon as I hit 5gb vram usage I get instant black screen (monitor asleep) and system needs to be hard reset. only started happening once I upgraded to 1440p which in battlefield v, rainbow 6 siege and ark survival evolved does this happen. These are the only games I have that use more than 5gb of vram at 1440p. anyone able to shed some light?
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1995mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by camaroguy1998 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:54 am

Did you ever figure out what the issue is/was?
Bad memory chip?
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:49 pm

Yeah turns out the voltage on my 12v rail was dropping below 11.1v and causing my gpu to fail as it hit 5gb or if my gpu hit more than 70% load. So I removed the cablemod psu extensions and vdroop instantly went up to 11.7v under full gpu load. I contacted scan and they refunded me after providing video proof of the problem. I since brought some corsair braided type 4 cables and now I get 11.9v under 100% cpu and gpu load :)
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1995mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by camaroguy1998 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:13 pm

DJ Tucker wrote:
Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:49 pm
Yeah turns out the voltage on my 12v rail was dropping below 11.1v and causing my gpu to fail as it hit 5gb or if my gpu hit more than 70% load. So I removed the cablemod psu extensions and vdroop instantly went up to 11.7v under full gpu load. I contacted scan and they refunded me after providing video proof of the problem. I since brought some corsair braided type 4 cables and now I get 11.9v under 100% cpu and gpu load :)
Glad to hear you figured it out and have it covered! =D>
Gotta love Corsair! :)
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by DJ Tucker » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:18 pm

thankfully I have had great support from corsair and maybe one day will have a full corsair system or at least as much as corsair can be put into my system.
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1995mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

beatricefox
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 10:01 pm

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by beatricefox » Wed Jul 22, 2020 10:11 pm

DJ Tucker wrote:
Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:49 pm
Yeah turns out the voltage on my 12v rail was dropping below 11.1v and causing my gpu to fail as it hit 5gb or if my gpu hit more than 70% load. So I removed the cablemod psu extensions and vdroop instantly went up to 11.7v under full gpu load. I contacted scan and they refunded me after providing video proof of the problem. I since brought some corsair braided type 4 cables and now I get 11.9v under 100% cpu and gpu load :)
Thanks very much for that information.
8 ball pool free online

Kane8907
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 7:34 pm

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by Kane8907 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:01 am

1.If your CPU is a 4 core type and you run the game on a single core, also will cause black screen issue. 2.Also check your monitor cable is works well or not. 3.Last check is memory bar, clean the bottom copper memory bar with eraser.

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1281
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by DJ Tucker » Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:33 pm

Kane8907 wrote:
Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:01 am
1.If your CPU is a 4 core type and you run the game on a single core, also will cause black screen issue. 2.Also check your monitor cable is works well or not. 3.Last check is memory bar, clean the bottom copper memory bar with eraser.
lol necro after a year on my post well done sir. firstly, i have never come across a cpu that with only one of the four cores being used causes black screen. that's a cpu issue not voltage issue. secondly monitor cable can cause black screen but not due to a certain gpu load. thirdly it's called memory stick not bar and while that can be an issue it won't cause a black screen it would just bsod or shutdown.
9600kf 4.8ghz (1.2v)|Z390 Asrock Phantom Gaming 6|16gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz|RTX 2070 1995mhz (0.950v)|Corsair HX1000i|128gb Silicon Power NVME (OS)|2tb WD Blue M.2 SSD (Games)|Aqua Computer D5 Next Pump|Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora CPU Block|Watercool Heatkiller IV GPU Block|360+240mm Radiators|Vector VDM01

Kane8907
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 7:34 pm

Re: RTX 2070 VRAM Problem!

Post by Kane8907 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:58 pm

I did not notice the post time, Thanks for the information. Yes, the memory bar is a wrong reply.

Post Reply