Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA - SOLVED

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4114
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA - SOLVED

Post by KnightRid » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:02 am

Ok so I got a Revopoint POP 3d scanner from the kickstarter which requires power from a USB 3.0 or higher port because it needs more than 500mA to operate even though it is still considered a USB 2.0 product. My problem is that no matter what I have tried, I get only 500mA from any port I plug it in to. I went out and bought a powered USB 3.0 hub thinking that would work but it does the same thing.

Does anyone have any ideas how I can see what is going on or what I can change to get more power to go through when I hook it to a 3.1 or 3.0 port?

My motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-AB350-GAMING 3 in case you need that. Every driver says it is up to date, including the bios.

I am using - https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html - to view the power for the USB ports.

i was thinking about buying a Y adapter (1 female to 2 male) so I can plug it into 2 usb ports on the computer so it can pull double the power but not sure if that would work and the y cables I have here are either all male or a special connector to 2 male (for cooling fan pads under a laptop).

SOLVED - Lovely Windows 10 and it's security crap strikes again. Had to go in to the privacy settings and make sure the camera is allowed for apps to access. Seriously, this was the problem. I am guessing most desktops have this disabled because they don't have webcams built in or maybe i disabled it at some point, not sure. Anyway, it is fixed and if anyone has this problem you can fix it too. This was solved by someone else through the Revopoint forums (although the person posted on facecrap I believe).
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1656
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by camaroguy1998 » Tue Apr 27, 2021 11:12 pm

Don't know much(anything) about the scanner sooo.. I'm guessing it does not work at all!?
A simple questions, have you tried using another PC/Laptop?(Make sure the scanner is not the issue)
The initial video I watched the guy connected to a Laptop, hard to believe it would put out more power than a PC!
Have you contacted Gigabyte with your issue?
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon AIO Cooler
Corsair CX750F RGB PSU - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ACER 24" LED LCD monitor

ANTEC 900 case in Chartreuse NEON paint

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4114
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by KnightRid » Wed Apr 28, 2021 3:53 am

Yes, I tried on my laptop but did not work. It is an old Dell Studio XPS 1645 so I thought it only had USB 2.0 ports and would not work.

I did not give Gigabyte an email but I shall do that today.

The scanner does work when I use my cell phone with it hooked to a portable battery pack so I know the scanner does function.

I just don't get why a powered usb hub would not give enough power.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1656
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by camaroguy1998 » Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:21 pm

KnightRid wrote:
Wed Apr 28, 2021 3:53 am
Yes, I tried on my laptop but did not work. It is an old Dell Studio XPS 1645 so I thought it only had USB 2.0 ports and would not work.

I did not give Gigabyte an email but I shall do that today.

The scanner does work when I use my cell phone with it hooked to a portable battery pack so I know the scanner does function.

I just don't get why a powered usb hub would not give enough power.
I'd definitely get a hold of Gigabyte....
Check the specs on the USB hub, With that said, I'd bet that the hub has a power regulator!
I'm sure they would not want to be liable for damage to someones USB powered device!
So it may be regulated to something Most devices will work with!

Let us know how it goes!
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon AIO Cooler
Corsair CX750F RGB PSU - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ACER 24" LED LCD monitor

ANTEC 900 case in Chartreuse NEON paint

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4114
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by KnightRid » Thu Apr 29, 2021 3:54 am

camaroguy1998 wrote:
Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:21 pm
KnightRid wrote:
Wed Apr 28, 2021 3:53 am
Yes, I tried on my laptop but did not work. It is an old Dell Studio XPS 1645 so I thought it only had USB 2.0 ports and would not work.

I did not give Gigabyte an email but I shall do that today.

The scanner does work when I use my cell phone with it hooked to a portable battery pack so I know the scanner does function.

I just don't get why a powered usb hub would not give enough power.
I'd definitely get a hold of Gigabyte....
Check the specs on the USB hub, With that said, I'd bet that the hub has a power regulator!
I'm sure they would not want to be liable for damage to someones USB powered device!
So it may be regulated to something Most devices will work with!

Let us know how it goes!
I will let you know. Might take a bit to get a response from Gigabyte, if at all. I filled out the web form yesterday and sent it so we shall see.

I was always under the impression that ANY usb 3.0 port should provide 900mA (1500mA on dedicated charge ports), usb 2.0 gives 500mA and usb 3.1 gives 2500mA or maybe 5000mA, can't remember off the top of my head. I just don't get why some people have gotten the scanners to work. I know one person said they had to plug it into a charging port on their laptop to get enough power.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4114
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by KnightRid » Fri May 07, 2021 3:15 pm

Just an update from the response I got from Gigabyte...
It may just be related to the hardware itself if you had isolated with multiple USB platform with the same reports as USB are just PnP power. There's no way to controlling or setting the amount of power output from the USB ports as it's autmotic.
They are saying it is the scanner causing the problems. Which it very well could be but it makes no sense why using a powered hub it STILL won't work on this main system but I can use the powered hub on my laptop and it works for the scanner even though the laptop only has USB 2.0. So confusing.

Figured I would post this just to keep anyone who finds the thread with the same problems in the loop.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1352
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by DJ Tucker » Sun May 09, 2021 2:40 pm

have you installed the latest bios for that board and checked the bios for any options to enable usb 3 as it can be disabled on my board and turns all usb 3 into usb 2 when disabled.
ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Core i7 9600kf 5Ghz @ 1.28v With Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Gigabyte RTX 2070 2010Mhz @ 0.963v With Watercool Heatkiller IV
16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 3000Mhz 16-18-18-36-1T
Aqua Computer Ultitube 200 Pro D5 Next
Magicool G2 Slim 2x240mm & EK Coolstream SE 360mm
Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & WD Blue M.2 2Tb
Corsair HX1000i
LG Ultragear 24MP59G-P
Windows 10 64 bit Pro
1st Player Steam Punk SP8
Corsair K70 Mk2, M65 Elite and Void Elite USB

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4114
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by KnightRid » Mon May 10, 2021 3:27 am

DJ Tucker wrote:
Sun May 09, 2021 2:40 pm
have you installed the latest bios for that board and checked the bios for any options to enable usb 3 as it can be disabled on my board and turns all usb 3 into usb 2 when disabled.
Yes, I did update the bios to the newest and checked the drivers. I did forget to check the bios to make sure it kept all the settings though so I will do that after my pain doc appointment today!
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1352
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA

Post by DJ Tucker » Tue May 11, 2021 3:48 am

after a bios update all setting are reverted to default so if you changed anything it would be back at default
ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Core i7 9600kf 5Ghz @ 1.28v With Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Gigabyte RTX 2070 2010Mhz @ 0.963v With Watercool Heatkiller IV
16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 3000Mhz 16-18-18-36-1T
Aqua Computer Ultitube 200 Pro D5 Next
Magicool G2 Slim 2x240mm & EK Coolstream SE 360mm
Silicon Power P32A80 128Gb & WD Blue M.2 2Tb
Corsair HX1000i
LG Ultragear 24MP59G-P
Windows 10 64 bit Pro
1st Player Steam Punk SP8
Corsair K70 Mk2, M65 Elite and Void Elite USB

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4114
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA - SOLVED

Post by KnightRid » Thu May 13, 2021 4:04 am

SOLVED - Lovely Windows 10 and it's security crap strikes again. Had to go in to the privacy settings and make sure the camera is allowed for apps to access. Seriously, this was the problem. I am guessing most desktops have this disabled because they don't have webcams built in or maybe i disabled it at some point, not sure. Anyway, it is fixed and if anyone has this problem you can fix it too. This was solved by someone else through the Revopoint forums (although the person posted on facecrap I believe).
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1656
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Need some help - USB 3.1 and 3.0 ports only givng 500mA - SOLVED

Post by camaroguy1998 » Fri May 14, 2021 3:12 am

KnightRid wrote:
Thu May 13, 2021 4:04 am
SOLVED - Lovely Windows 10 and it's security crap strikes again. Had to go in to the privacy settings and make sure the camera is allowed for apps to access. Seriously, this was the problem. I am guessing most desktops have this disabled because they don't have webcams built in or maybe i disabled it at some point, not sure. Anyway, it is fixed and if anyone has this problem you can fix it too. This was solved by someone else through the Revopoint forums (although the person posted on facecrap I believe).
Good to hear! =D>
I hate when you spend hours, days or weeks trying to figure out an issue and it takes 30 seconds to fix when you do!
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon AIO Cooler
Corsair CX750F RGB PSU - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ACER 24" LED LCD monitor

ANTEC 900 case in Chartreuse NEON paint

Post Reply