physics cards??

This is the place to discuss the latest computer hardware issues and technology. Please keep the discussion ON TOPIC!
Post Reply
Bigedmond
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:42 am
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

physics cards??

Post by Bigedmond » Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:16 pm

I am wondering if they are worth getting. Building the system in my sig, and wondering if i should think about getting one.
Last edited by Bigedmond on Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Coming soon

EVGA i680
Intel e6600
BFG 8800gts 640mb
Geil DDR-800
Souncblasts X-fi extreme gamer.

InsolenceAndHeresy
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:29 am

Post by InsolenceAndHeresy » Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:45 am

i see no system in your sig.

PhysX cards are/will be useless especially since GPUs will be doing Physics once the time comes (8800GTX already can).

User avatar
Schwarz
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:14 am

Post by Schwarz » Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:11 pm

They are already useless.
The prcessor for physics on the card is not even that powerfull.
Even though it is the way of the futur I wouldn`t speed 200-300 bucks on something you will not use.
Games have to support physics and so far only 2 or 3 games do.
And I wouldn`t even count GRAW because its a little rushed out addon for the physx that does`t do nothing but lag your game and add some little particles flying.
Later on you will be able to let`s say buy a cheap nvidia card and just use it for physics and it will already be a lot more powerfull then the Physx card.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: physics cards??

Post by Apoptosis » Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:52 pm

Bigedmond wrote:I am wondering if they are worth getting. Building the system in my sig, and wondering if i should think about getting one.
Let's see I wrote the review on the card on May 18th 2006 and haven't used it since... http://www.legitreviews.com/article/346/1/

I do still use it on PSU testing though...

There is no point in any of the games that I have played using it. For the past year it's sat on a shelf collecting dust. :(

User avatar
dgood
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post by dgood » Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:55 pm

I heard something that it depends on the physics engine the game uses havoc or some other one and most games use havoc and don't support it, but a few newer games will be designed around the other physics engine to take advantage of it but yeah I'd never bother with getting one.
Image

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:06 pm

one of my friends has it in his system, and its completely not worth it for the price
Image

User avatar
Schwarz
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:14 am

Post by Schwarz » Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:10 pm

Yah I have a friend that has it too.
It was nice playing the demo it came with but besides that its laying there doing nothing.
He tells me he should have kept the 300CAD $ and buy something else.

vrioux
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:34 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by vrioux » Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:37 pm

It's only a gimmick... Multicore CPUs can handle the physics of any games without problem. Vista's gpu abstraction makes it possible for games to use a portion of the gpu for physics. The future shows CGPUs, where your CPU has an array of vector processing cores that are faster than any GPU today. In this future, you will not need any GPU / PPU / APU / whatever other "PU" anymore. You will only have one CPU, like it should be. That new chip will be flexible enough to accomodate all kind of tasks, from x86 generic code to heavily parallel floating point operations.

So, no, don't throw your money at physx cards.

Vincent

Bigedmond
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:42 am
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Post by Bigedmond » Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:48 pm

InsolenceAndHeresy wrote:i see no system in your sig.

PhysX cards are/will be useless especially since GPUs will be doing Physics once the time comes (8800GTX already can).
sorry, forgot to hit the sig button
Coming soon

EVGA i680
Intel e6600
BFG 8800gts 640mb
Geil DDR-800
Souncblasts X-fi extreme gamer.

rockcola
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:59 am

Post by rockcola » Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:46 pm

Yeah, they are a great idea, but will need to be implemented in the CPU or GPU. Physics in future games will be awesome if this happens.

User avatar
Schwarz
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:14 am

Post by Schwarz » Sun Feb 18, 2007 12:45 pm

It will happen.

InsolenceAndHeresy
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:29 am

Post by InsolenceAndHeresy » Sun Feb 18, 2007 3:29 pm

I think I read somewhere that the X1900 alone can do circle bounces 14,400 times faster than the PhysX can (CustomPC magazine I think it was).

moon111
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:33 pm

Re: physics cards??

Post by moon111 » Sun Feb 18, 2007 3:54 pm

Apoptosis wrote:
Bigedmond wrote:I am wondering if they are worth getting. Building the system in my sig, and wondering if i should think about getting one.
Let's see I wrote the review on the card on May 18th 2006 and haven't used it since... http://www.legitreviews.com/article/346/1/

I do still use it on PSU testing though...

There is no point in any of the games that I have played using it. For the past year it's sat on a shelf collecting dust. :(
Hate to admit it, but if I get something like this, I would have it in my system just for bragging rights.

Tim Burton
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 795
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:10 am

Post by Tim Burton » Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:00 pm

I'd rather have two GPUs outputing to 3 monitors than worry about added physics.
I still can't understand why nVidia and ATI hasn't figured out how to have a SLI setup make 3 monitors run in HQ and be able to game like that. It would be pure :ANAL: in flight sims and even in many FPS.

moon111
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:33 pm

Post by moon111 » Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:06 pm

Tim Burton wrote:I'd rather have two GPUs outputing to 3 monitors than worry about added physics.
I still can't understand why nVidia and ATI hasn't figured out how to have a SLI setup make 3 monitors run in HQ and be able to game like that. It would be pure :ANAL: in flight sims and even in many FPS.
With the prices of LCD's dropping... good point.

Post Reply