Windows ReadyBoost Put To The Test For Gaming

A place to give your thoughts on our reviews!
Post Reply
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Windows ReadyBoost Put To The Test For Gaming

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:05 am

Now that LR has installed Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit we can dive deeper into the new features of Vista. The ReadyBoost feature is only found in Windows Vista and allows you to use a USB key as virtual memory in order to enhance performance. This can improve small random I/O for people who lack the expansion slots, money, and or technical expertise to add additional RAM.

Image

Article Title: Windows ReadyBoost Put To The Test For Gaming
Article URL: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/455/1/

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:23 am

Never heard of this. Seems pretty cool, but not for i. The ram i have will be sufice, i will take your wonderful review word for it. LOL
Image

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Post by werty316 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:29 pm

I heard about ReadyBoost and came to the conclusion it doesn't quite work so well.
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

User avatar
Hybridesque
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 1:21 am
Location: Bradford, United Kingdom

Post by Hybridesque » Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:37 am

Agreed, it doesn't really give anything tangible. Then again, it was tested on a really powerful machine. Memory isn't that dear these days, even in the UK. Still no substitute for it, along with a fastish HDD.

blitzkrieg1110
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 11:47 pm

Post by blitzkrieg1110 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:47 pm

When I had Vista installed (that didn't last long) I tried using my 512mb flash drive and it failed the test for speed. I read somewhere that they are very strict with their speed to allow the use of your flash drive in ReadyBoost. Seems like a nice feature though (when I go back to vista in 4 or so months).
DFI Lanparty SLI-DR Expert
Opteron 170 (messing with OC currently)
ATI x1950 Pro PCI-e 256mb
Corsair ValueSelect 2x1gb PC3200
Westinghouse 22" Widescreen LCD
Antec NeoHE 550w

User avatar
slugbug
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by slugbug » Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:44 am

I tried it with a Verbatim 1 GB thumb drive and find some programs do open a little quicker.

SlipSand
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:50 am
Location: NC
Contact:

Post by SlipSand » Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:42 pm

This is only available on vista?
Image

User avatar
liqnit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:10 am

Post by liqnit » Tue Feb 13, 2007 2:46 pm

SlipSand wrote:This is only available on vista?
Yes

Casper
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:54 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by Casper » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:26 am

Are there 3rd party programs for windows xp that do the same thing?
I think this whole feature has limited value, adding RAM is much more beneficial (when possible). They need to develope really fast thumb drives to make this feature more attractive.
Your not crazy if you take the right pills everyday

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:30 am

Casper wrote:Are there 3rd party programs for windows xp that do the same thing?
No and I don't think i'd want to see a 3rd part encrypt data like that... hehe

dotslasher
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:03 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by dotslasher » Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:45 pm

This doesnt really work :)

i wont use it, i'll stick to my 2gigs of ram

User avatar
liqnit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:10 am

Post by liqnit » Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:37 pm

it is a very good feature but not so good implementation...

Post Reply