Help with an HDTV

A place to rant about politics, life, or just anything you damn well feel like telling others.
Post Reply
User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Help with an HDTV

Post by vicaphit » Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:23 am

I bought a Polaroid TV back in November, and it was all fine and dandy until just recently. The TV will freeze periodically, and it seems completely random. Sometimes the TV has been on for 30 minutes, sometimes 2 minutes. It happens on every different source, so it isn't an HDMI, or VGA, or even cable problem.

The freeze is just to all functionality. I can still view whatever was on screen at the time, so it will sometimes be on a channel and still play the channel just fine, but I cannot change the volume, channel, or access the menu. Nothing works. This includes pressing buttons on the TV, not just the remote. I have to unplug the TV to turn it off, and turn it back on.

Could this be an overheating issue? The TV is near my computer, and both create a lot of heat. This also explains why it just started happening, as our temperatures have risen pretty high recently.

Has anyone had this problem?

I think the TV is under a manuf. warrentee, but I can't remember. I will check my documents tonight.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

tomato
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 9:45 pm

Re: Help with an HDTV

Post by tomato » Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:38 am

Heat could be an issue, but we need more info, such as the model# of your TV?
"Who' doing what now?"

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Help with an HDTV

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:32 pm

Let me guess the black friday one?

Should be under warranty still.

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Help with an HDTV

Post by vicaphit » Fri Jun 13, 2008 8:54 pm

No, I bought it before that. I got Polaroid's number and I will call them. I doubt they can really do anything about it though. Last night it didn't freeze once. I don't know what was up with the past few days.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

Post Reply