How do you guys do Black and White?

A place to rant about politics, life, or just anything you damn well feel like telling others.
User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by dicecca112 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:20 am

Do you guys use a Filter on your camera or apply black and white in Photoshop.
Image

User avatar
GI-JOE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by GI-JOE » Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:48 am

Filter on camera if I am taking the picture at that exact moment. Photoshop if I have the picture on my computer already.
-----------------------------------------------------
- CoolerMaster Elite 330
- Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.16ghz (9.5 x 333 @ 1.12 volts)
- Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
- 4 GB G-Skill DDR2 800
- Asus 8800GT 512mb w/Glaciator Fansink
- Antec Trio TruePower 650w

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by InspectahACE » Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:52 pm

My camera has a setting to where it changes to black and white and takes it natively. I believe cameras have had that for the last 5 years at least..digital cameras of course
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by martini161 » Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:55 pm

take it in raw and you can put it to b&w the same way the camera does, and switch it back to color later

User avatar
The Black Pumpkin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:45 pm
Location: Lake City, Florida

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by The Black Pumpkin » Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:53 pm

What GI-JOE said. I also use the sepia filter on my camera, things look pretty different when taken in sepia.
AMD Opteron 1224SE "Santa Ana" = DFI Lanparty UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G
Crucial Ballistix 4x1GB DDR2 800 = Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Sapphire 4870 1GB = Sceptre X20WG-Naga 20" = Logitech X-530 5.1
Seagate 320GB (SATA II) x2 = Samsung SH-S203B (SATA)

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:30 am

I know i'm jumping in a bit late here, but follow marty's advice.

You can make a B&W picture look a lot better by tweaking the grayscale levels rather than just having to stick with whatever the camera picks for you.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by dicecca112 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:34 am

DMB2000uk wrote:I know i'm jumping in a bit late here, but follow marty's advice.

You can make a B&W picture look a lot better by tweaking the grayscale levels rather than just having to stick with whatever the camera picks for you.

Dan
Not really dan, I still haven't made a decision. Not sure I want to pay the exorbitant cost of Photoshop vs the cheap cost of Filters
Image

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by Alathald » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:28 pm

GIMP should be able to handle all of your filtering needs, might give that a try before spending a lot of money on something you may not need. If you need to open RAW files try the UFRaw plugin.

Might also try CinePaint, which is a fork of the GIMP, as it handles up to 32bit per-channel images.
Image

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by dicecca112 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:40 pm

Gimp doesn't do it for me. Never has, its just not photoshop.
Image

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by martini161 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:50 pm

not for editing, but for adjusting RAWs its great

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:54 pm

Is Canon's Digital Photo Professional (check your camera's install CD's) not featured enough for messing about with RAW files for you?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by dicecca112 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:36 pm

Hmm wonder if its Mac Compatible :P Yes Dan I bought a Macbook Pro. I think you need to update my sig again, time for a design :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:51 pm

One of the unibody ones?

And I do believe Canon has mac versions of their utilities too.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by dicecca112 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:53 pm

Yup Aluminum Unibody MacBook Pro 15"

Put a OCZ Vertex 128GB SSD and 4GB of Muskin DDR3 SODIMM

Sold my Dell Laptop and the EEE PC to fund it.

I'll check Canon's Site to see what they have
Image

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:33 pm

You'll need to dig up your CD's that came with your Camera i'm afraid.

Canon for whatever reason doesn't let you download full versions of their programs, only updates for already installed versions.

How's the gloss screen and glass trackpad treating you?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by dicecca112 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:39 pm

had a glossy on my Dell, so I could care less, but the screen is much much better quality. Trackpad not so much, I use a Microsoft Bluetooth Mouse. It got some getting used to but I'm getting there.
Image

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by martini161 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:21 pm

does linux like those macbooks very much?

User avatar
dicecca112
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5013
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by dicecca112 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 3:24 pm

Mac OSX is linux basically. But yeah Ubuntu runs fine on it, but lately all I really do is do a little programming and surf, and for the programming I just use Parallels w/Windows and Visual Studio. My computer addiction has really stopped, and its more I have my laptop and my HTPC, and the rest I dedicate to my toys (camera) and programming. Don't leave college, the real world sucks you never have time or the money to do anything you want.
Image

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by Alathald » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:50 pm

Oh noes! We've lost one of the hardcore linux geeks to OSX and worse yet, I think you just unwittingly talked Dan into buying a Macbook! :axe:

Just kidding of course (well except the Dan part), Apple does make quality hardware and if I wasn't a brokeass college student I might (might) just own one. As for the GIMP not cutting it, I've had no issues with it but then I've avoided Photoshop like the plague because I'm almost certain that if I learned Ps, I would never be able to go back.

Anyway, where are the pictures of this new toy?
Image

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: How do you guys do Black and White?

Post by martini161 » Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:29 am

he's probably too busy trying to figure out how to get them in B&W in PS :finga:

Post Reply