Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

A place to rant and rave about all the current gaming titles!
User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by FZ1 » Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:54 pm

I was at best buy around 6pm and they were just putting them out.
Joe

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by FZ1 » Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:07 am

So I'm not sure I'm all that crazy about this game so far. It's a lot like ES Oblivion where you have this huge expanse of country and you wander around looking for treasure (in this case, diamonds in briefcases) and you are sent upon various quests by people you meet who will give you something in return (typically diamonds). You can upgrade weapons, etc buy buying them with diamonds (surprise). It can take a while to get from place to place so it seems like it is taking a long time to play. It's more or less real-time. You need to sleep every so often at safe-houses, you need to take your malaria pills every so often too which is kind of a PITA.
The graphics are great (although it won't run for me anything >2x AA) and so are the physics. Enemy AI is so-so. They'll sometime turn their back on your in a firefight but a lot of times they will hide behind something forcing you to go after them instead of waiting to blast them when they round the obstacle.
Joe

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by Darkstar » Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:36 am

EVGA is giving out copies with the 260/280 video cards i believe.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
tbdsniper
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:51 pm

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by tbdsniper » Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:07 am

Pre ordered from Steam, love it so far. How far is everyone in the game right now? Also what settings are you running everything on?

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by FZ1 » Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:39 am

According to the save, I am 8% into it. I am running everything on the highest setting (1920x1200 res) except AA set at 2x (for previously discussed reasons). I noticed slight issues with frame rates where there are a lot of structures.
Joe

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Fri Oct 24, 2008 3:41 pm

I have all of the settings on high except shadows at 1680x1050, and it runs great. I have not experienced a single slowdown because even at 25fps the game is smooth. Looks beautiful, especially at sunrise!

I like the fact that you have to travel to get to an objective. It prevents me from running through the whole game in 2 days. The healing animations are awesome. If you are on your last bar of health and you heal yourself, you pull bullets out of your extremedies with pliers and a knife, or pull out a syringe and stab yourself with it. I do agree though, the enemies aren't the brightest bunch, but the firefights are still tough, and I am playing on normal difficulty. The buddy system is cool, if you lose all of your health a buddy will come out and rescue you, and fight with you until you can clear the area, but if they have rescued you recently, they won't come again until you have spent a bit more time (probably 24 hours in game or so).

So far, it has got me immersed. I always scout out road check points before running in with guns blazing. Sometimes I will toss some molotovs to clear the brush first.

I can't wait to find a hang glider, I want to fly around a bit.

Also, for you level designers out there, the worldbuilder is VERY easy to use, I suggest you give that a try FZ1. You can design your level, and jump into the map within seconds to try something out.

I think, so far, this is my favorite game this year. Though Fallout 3 may make me change my mind... Let's hope!
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
tbdsniper
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:51 pm

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by tbdsniper » Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:44 pm

Nice, does anyone else have an issue while turning on AA and getting mesh lines? They weren't there before when AA was off. Its not that bad, but just wondering if anyone else is seeing this.

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:07 pm

At 1680x1050 I can't even see jagged edges, so I don't bother with AA.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by martini161 » Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:23 pm

8800gt can still play everything at the highest XP lets me go at 1440x900 8)

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:52 pm

I know, I can't believe how optimized this game is. I bet they are losing some of the mid/low range pc owners because they are thinking it is like Crysis!

Anyone play with the level builder yet?
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by martini161 » Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:09 pm

vicaphit wrote:I know, I can't believe how optimized this game is. I bet they are losing some of the mid/low range pc owners because they are thinking it is like Crysis!

Anyone play with the level builder yet?
not yet, my main rigs down as im waiting for the super glue i used to put a fan blade back on to set :P

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:20 pm

martini161 wrote:not yet, my main rigs down as im waiting for the super glue i used to put a fan blade back on to set
Yikes, I would get a new fan instead. Imagine how much force one of those blades would have to endure to stay attached at 5000 RPM.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by martini161 » Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:51 pm

well its running now, but if i find a bloody dead cat on the floor ill know what happened :P (she likes to sleep near the pc, nice and warm)

User avatar
Digerati
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 9:41 pm

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by Digerati » Sat Oct 25, 2008 4:27 am

I am looking forward to playing this when I get the chance! It looks like a very awesome game. The first one was good, but slightly overrated IMHO. I just want to explore the environment in this one, heh. :)

User avatar
tbdsniper
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:51 pm

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by tbdsniper » Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:37 am

So I turned AA off and those mesh lines are gone now. Still a great game. Only issue is when you have to drive to the other side of the map just to knock someone off.

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by werty316 » Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:13 pm

Anyone else disappointed with this game or am I the only one?
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:51 pm

tbdsniper wrote:Only issue is when you have to drive to the other side of the map just to knock someone off.
Use the bus stops, they make it much quicker, and there is always a vehicle parked at the bus stops.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
tbdsniper
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:51 pm

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by tbdsniper » Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:11 pm

vicaphit wrote:
tbdsniper wrote:Only issue is when you have to drive to the other side of the map just to knock someone off.
Use the bus stops, they make it much quicker, and there is always a vehicle parked at the bus stops.
Forgot about the Buses on the map. Doh! Just wish there were a few more stops on the map and not just on the outside.

User avatar
Skippman
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 10:16 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by Skippman » Sat Oct 25, 2008 6:34 pm

I would have picked this up but I just finished playing through Crysis Warhead (again) with my new card and Fallout 2/Red Alert 3 come out next week. Guess there goes my social life.

User avatar
aircommando13
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:14 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by aircommando13 » Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:14 pm

wtf on amazon its got a 1.5 star rating out of a couple hundred people... probably because it limits the DRM's
Intel E8500 @ 4.0GHz
4GB(2 x 2GB) DDR2 800MHz
EVGA 750i SLI FTW
Seagate 7200.11 500GB HD
EVGA GTX 260 55nm
Antec 630 watt PSU
Samsung 22x DVD/+/-RW Burner
Antec p182 Case

Post Reply