Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

A place to rant and rave about all the current gaming titles!
User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by pwcmed » Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:36 pm

After a couple days of troubleshooting my PC ,http://forums.legitreviews.com/about17971.html with this fix http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814102801,I am finally able to play this game. I have to say that I'm not that impressed. I'm only 8% into but I'm not digging it. But like a bad book I have to finish it. Maybe I need to give more time.

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by FZ1 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 am

I'm starting to enjoy it more but the malaria thing is getting on my nerves.
Joe

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:56 pm

I just got into act 2, and have played for about 2 hours without a single malaria event.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by FZ1 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 2:29 pm

vicaphit wrote:I just got into act 2, and have played for about 2 hours without a single malaria event.
You're ahead of me then. I hate that you can't travel from place to place without getting into 30 firefights along the way. Sometimes you just want to accomplish the mission. I got the good sniper rifle...helps a lot on missions.
Joe

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by pwcmed » Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:47 pm

Someone mentioned early to ride the buses. It doesn't show the bus station in the cease fire town but it's there.

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:55 pm

I always check bus station proximity to my mission goals. Makes it soooo much easier.

Though I just found a jeep that has a grenade launcher on it, so maybe I will do a bit more driving.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by martini161 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:50 pm

vicaphit wrote:I always check bus station proximity to my mission goals. Makes it soooo much easier.

Though I just found a jeep that has a grenade launcher on it, so maybe I will do a bit more driving.
to bad its not like crysis. i loved how in that game if you didnt want to play a level you could usually speed mode through it right quick :P

Tyron
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:27 pm

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by Tyron » Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:01 pm

I still haven't played it at all. I picked up Dead Space waiting for my copy to come in and now up I'm hooked. It's like a cross between Doom 3 and Bioshock. Great game.

User avatar
aircommando13
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:14 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by aircommando13 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:29 pm

EVGA now bundles it with their GTX video cards, might get one
Intel E8500 @ 4.0GHz
4GB(2 x 2GB) DDR2 800MHz
EVGA 750i SLI FTW
Seagate 7200.11 500GB HD
EVGA GTX 260 55nm
Antec 630 watt PSU
Samsung 22x DVD/+/-RW Burner
Antec p182 Case

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by FZ1 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:03 pm

Tyron wrote:I still haven't played it at all. I picked up Dead Space waiting for my copy to come in and now up I'm hooked. It's like a cross between Doom 3 and Bioshock. Great game.
I've been wanting to get that one too
Joe

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by FZ1 » Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:04 pm

Update has been released and should prompt you to install when you load the game:
================================================================================

Far Cry® 2 v1.01 Update

================================================================================

- Fixed Dolby 5.1 support for most sound cards.
- Fixed mission objectives marker after a loading a save game.
- Fixed for difficulty level not changing health when updated.
- Fixed Jackal Tapes and Partner Tapes pages.
- Fixed Field Manuals not unlocking after game mode change.
- Fixed glider key remapping.
- Fixed keyboard controls remapping in single mode that didn't carry into multiplayer mode.
- Prevent a buddy from getting stuck when healing him while receiving damages.
- Fixed stats of favorite weapon not properly reset between loaded save games.
- Fixed the mortar moving the player through wall.
- When creating a dedicated server with PunkBuster enabled then close it to create another but this time with PunkBuster disabled, PunkBuster will still be considered ON, on this new server.
- Display server's IP address in lobby, beside the match’s name (for direct IP join to work)
- Fixed a problem where a player could get stuck (and couldn’t get killed) after pressing the interaction key while wounded and getting rescued by a teammate at the same time.
- Fixed vehicles not being respawned if they were never used.
- A ranked match that is already started will not be listed in the match list.
- Fixed users not being able to see a match if the host switched match mode after a rank. Prevent the host from changing the server setting in a Ranked Match through the console.
- Fixed a glitch that could make a player invisible to another.
- Improved match start conditions. Ranked games can now also start if the player max is attained and everybody but the host is ready.
- Fixed if a user has too many user maps and tries to enter the map rotation menu in a Player or Ranked match, he would get disconnected.
- Fixed incorrect check for negative values when adjusting diamond count.
- Fixed a problem where a player would render through objects if healing a wounded playing while being wounded at the same time.
- Fixed players with same name by using identifiers instead of names.
- Always validate the diamond pool after class upgrades, reset or rank up to avoid getting more diamonds than the player is supposed to for his rank.
- Fixed reload not being interrupted on the host when a client picks a weapon while reloading.
- Fixed crash when creating a LAN game without a network cable.
- Fixed a random crash when joining a game.
- Fixed to make sure game is minimized in order to show the website when clicking on ubi.com
- Fixed crash in editor when deleting many objects in very rapid succession.
- Fixed crash in editor during parsing of the map headers.
- Fixed a random crash that could happen when pressing ESC to cancel a Benchmark run.
- Added CPU Intensive benchmark test run.
- Allow launching the Dedicated Server Launcher in command line.
Joe

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by pwcmed » Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:03 pm

RANT

I had some family over the holidays and somehow my computer got jacked up. I had this game loaded so I did not get to uninstall it. I guess I have reached my install limit. I'm F*cking done with this game. This game isn't even that good to be going though this hassle. To bad I can't give this game away and get it off my steam account.

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:16 pm

I believe you can install the game without your internet connected so it doesn't try to register, then turn the internet on after it fails to register, uninstall the game, then try to re-install and register like normal. I heard this works, but never tested it myself.

Or you could just go to the ubisoft website and download the working EXE as it says in the troubleshooting area of the website.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by pwcmed » Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:01 pm

Download a working EXE, are you talking about getting from a torrent site. I'm done with this game, I'm not going to hassle with a game that is just OK. :finga: Ubisoft

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:29 pm

No, not getting it from torrents. Ubisoft has a working EXE posted on their own troubleshooting site for people who cannot register the game electronically. It is funny, but EA does it too.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by DMB2000uk » Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:08 pm

Isn't that a no-cd crack that EA have hosted on their site? :axe:

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
vicaphit
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:22 pm
Location: SE Ohio

Re: Anyone Pre-Order Far Cry 2?

Post by vicaphit » Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:34 pm

It is, it also bypasses the activation also. The FarCry 2 exe doesn't make it a "no-cd" exe.
----
Andy

New Rig: Intel Q6600 (2.7ghz), ASUS P5KC, 4GB DDR2-800, Palit 9600GT (1GB), Ultra X3 1KW (thanks LR!), Vista 64bit
Dell Rig: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ (2.1ghz), 2 GB DDR2 Ram, MSI 8800GT (512MB), Vista 32bit

PSN: VICaphit

Post Reply