Grid racing frame rate issues.

A place to rant and rave about all the current gaming titles!
Post Reply
hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Wed May 27, 2009 12:32 pm

I have no problem running the game and it looks great. I turn it up to 1680 x 1050 EVERYTHING maxed and I get around 40-50FPS, if I turn off particles it goes around 50-60fps. But, if I do a donut without particles my frame rate is about 50-60 still, if I turn on particles however. My frame rate will drop as low as 3!!!! WTF? Any ideas?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by skier » Wed May 27, 2009 12:40 pm

hmm, i play all max at 1440x900 and havnt experienced that, tho i don't do donuts often, i just race, lol

i'll try to reproduce it tho
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Wed May 27, 2009 3:30 pm

lol I don't know why, if I max everything out no problems at all but, if particles are even low it's WAY low in FPS. With low particles a donut gives me 7fps and slow mo look. And if I turn it off I get 50 at the least. Everything else is ultra.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed May 27, 2009 7:34 pm

The game wasn't designed to do donuts with? :finga:

What card you playing this on?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
KILLER_K
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 1:51 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by KILLER_K » Wed May 27, 2009 10:02 pm

I assume you have the latest patch installed. And if you are running a intel then this will cause issues.
* "C1E Instruction" support (Enhanced halt state)
* "SpeedStep (TM)" support
Disable these and report back.

Good Day

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Thu May 28, 2009 4:43 pm

Yes I have the latest, patch and STILL the same problem, I've turned off stepping, and I've reinstalled the game. I changed my CPU to stock to make sure it wasn't with that. Nothing. I guess I have to play without particles and smoke, but, it sucks because in the drifting events it looks nice on the replay. Also, my frame rate drops EVEN ON LOW SETTINGS!!!! No vsync, 200+FPS at all times, UNLESS you burn out or turn a corner with particles on. weird. Good game I must admit other than that. Something is not making sense, either my physics program or something. NO OTHER GAME does this. I get high speed stutters and posted that in another post. Where I can get high FPS and it looks glitchy. That must be a vsync issue because if I turn it off it seems to help that out.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by DMB2000uk » Thu May 28, 2009 5:08 pm

Hmm, my mate suffered with the full framerate slowdowns. Not sure if we ever got to the bottom of that one (he did swap CPU and GPU, and I can't remember if it was the CPU that made it go away or the GPU). But whatever he did, he's problem free now.

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
KILLER_K
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 1:51 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by KILLER_K » Thu May 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Silly question, but is v-sync on or off while this is happening?

Good Day

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Thu May 28, 2009 8:24 pm

tried both. It happens on and off.

User avatar
KILLER_K
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 1:51 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by KILLER_K » Thu May 28, 2009 8:49 pm

What video card and did you update drivers or try rolling them back? I know i'm probably not helping much, but just trying to cover basic stuff. And i'm sure you already done and checked all this.

Found this at Grids pc forum:
http://community.codemasters.com/forum/ ... p?t=299075
Looks like a slow down sticky thread.
Good Day

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Fri May 29, 2009 1:54 am

I had drivers 8.6 that came with my video card and when I played it, I had the problem Now I have catayst 9.5.

The video card is a EAH Asus 4870 black edition, and the ram is 2x2gb OCZ platinum with an E5200 Intel powering it.

The PSU is a sigma shark, no name brand with excellent reviews and ratings.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by skier » Sun May 31, 2009 11:45 pm

i tried to reproduce and couldn't didn't get lower than 30FPS at highest settings donuts or not
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:54 am

skier wrote:i tried to reproduce and couldn't didn't get lower than 30FPS at highest settings donuts or not
I'm returning my video card and I got an open box from the egg that was a GTX 260 core 216. For 129 by XFX. I'm guessing it had to be hardware related. Because in Crysis, I was playing maxed out with the DX10 hack and when you find the scientist and the ice and fog kicked in. Same thing. Something to do with fog really hurts the GPU.

User avatar
IRQ Conflict
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:26 pm

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by IRQ Conflict » Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:20 am

I don't have GRID but I do have Crysis and I don't remember having any issues like that with fog/smoke.
-Rampage- Motherboard: Asus Rampage Formula CPU: Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz Cooling: OCZ Vendetta 2 Ram: 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 5-5-5-15 @ 540Mhz Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 Storage: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB/4x 500GB Barracuda 7200.11 Raid 0 Power Supply: PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad Case: Antec P180B Monitor: Syncmaster 245T OS: Vista 64bit
Image

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:03 pm

Did you have it with your current 4890?
I just got the XFX GTX 260 Black Edition it should be here in a few days. We will see if it's an ATi thing.

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by smack323 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:59 pm

I have a 4850 in one of my computers at home. i installed GRID and didnt get any of the problems you were talkng about. its a mid range system at best- c2d 7200, 2gb RAM, win XP32, ati 4850.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Grid racing frame rate issues.

Post by hercules71185 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 2:44 pm

I tried different drivers and stuff. I sent back the video card since it was a dark knight edition and I had to underclock it to keep it from artifacting. So I got a GTX 260 and never got the problem. It had to be something with the card I guess.

Post Reply