Legit Gaming CS:S Server Launching Tonight

A place to rant and rave about all the current gaming titles!
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Legit Gaming CS:S Server Launching Tonight

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:37 pm

Just wanted to let everyone know that I get the keys to the CS:S server tonight. This will be our own private CS:S server with our BF2 server coming next week after it gets all setup. I'll post up the information as soon as I get it!

User avatar
Illuminati
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Wright City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Post by Illuminati » Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:58 pm

Awesome! Now I'll finally have a CS:S server to call home...
We want to schedule a time to break it in tonight?
Justin West
Server Admin & Forum Moderator
Follow me on Twitter | Find us on Facebook

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Post by FZ1 » Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:16 pm

Great, I have 2 school projects due and a mid-term tomorrow. :( I'll prolly be there :P
Joe

User avatar
[AK]Zip
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:12 pm
Location: North Texas

Post by [AK]Zip » Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:21 pm

This means I need to reinstall HL2 huh? :mrgreen:
  • Corsair 800D | Corsair HX850W | LG 20X DVD+/-RW | TRUE 120 | Intel I7 920 D0 @ 4.2GHz (200X21, 1.275v) | Intel X25-M G2 120GB | 2 - WD Green 2TB | 6GB OCZ Platinum PC3 12800 | EVGA X58 SLI | X-Fi Platinum | EVGA GTX 480 (780/1970)
  • Dell U2311H 23in (IPS) | Saitek Eclipse II | Razer Boomslang 2007 CE | Razer Exactmat
Heatware 90-0

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Fri Feb 24, 2006 4:35 pm

FZ1 wrote:Great, I have 2 school projects due and a mid-term tomorrow. :( I'll prolly be there :P
hey i am right here with ya!!! Tempatation temtation!!!
Image

-mogwai
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: st. louis, mo
Contact:

Post by -mogwai » Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:02 am

exciting times
Image

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:37 am

Cant seem to get my bf2 to work, not suprising though.

-mogwai
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: st. louis, mo
Contact:

Post by -mogwai » Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:02 am

grunt wrote:Cant seem to get my bf2 to work, not suprising though.
from what i heard, after the latest patch, a lot of people have been having trouble trying to get the game to work
Image

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:10 am

-mogwai wrote:
grunt wrote:Cant seem to get my bf2 to work, not suprising though.
from what i heard, after the latest patch, a lot of people have been having trouble trying to get the game to work
yeah mine wouldnt work for some reason either. It would start a multiplayer game and crahs to windows. But my shuttle was working just fine with the new patch. So i jacked its EXE and replaced it and it worked just fine. :)

My guess is it was that little batch file i had attached to the EXE to auto set the affinity. After i had it working i just put it back and all is fine.


CAN YOU BELIEVE THEY ARE ALREADY REALEASING A NEW PATCH FOR THE PATCH!! :evil: :evil: :evil:
Image

-mogwai
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: st. louis, mo
Contact:

Post by -mogwai » Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:25 am

haha well, at least they're doing it.
Image

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:41 pm

that right there is why i dont play BF2 the game is so buggy that it distoryies the experience.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Sat Feb 25, 2006 5:14 pm

well i didn't get the IP from the server guys last night, so I guess it will be monday :(

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Tue Mar 28, 2006 6:04 pm

This thread has died and this topic has really pissed me off...

I was lied to and in turn was made to look like a liar.

A friend of mine works for Layered Tech ( http://www.layeredtech.com ) and informed me that he might be able to hook me up with some gaming servers in return for advertising on the site. It took nearly a month, but we came to an agreement on how it would be worked out. The head of Layered Tech's gaming division informed me that Legit Reviews would be one of the first sites to get LayeredX Gaming ( http://www.layeredx.com ) gaming up and running. Basically we would be the beta testers to get their control panel and admin software up and running. I was informed we would have BF2 and CS:S servers up and running on Feb 24th and it never happened.

Since then my original contact has quit and left -- when doing so he told me to no longer work with them. My new contact in their "gaming division" is out on a military tour with his reserve unit and wont be back for at least a month. Till then things are on hold. Seeing how it has been over a month without them coming through I have given up hope working out a deal with them.

The idea is not dead and I am moving on to the next company.

-mogwai
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: st. louis, mo
Contact:

Post by -mogwai » Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:04 pm

onwards and upwards :)
Image

User avatar
Illuminati
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Wright City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Post by Illuminati » Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:23 am

Bummer...
Justin West
Server Admin & Forum Moderator
Follow me on Twitter | Find us on Facebook

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:52 am

well i can get a temp cs:s server going for the time being. If i ran a bf2 server it wouldnt be able to hold that much people.

I have a dsl connection with 2.5m down and 400k up and i can use my shuttle as the server which has a 3.4p4 a gig of ram.
Image

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:13 pm

let me know what you guys think!
Image

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:49 pm

/me looks at a rack full of dual xeons.....
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

User avatar
Dragon_Cooler
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:17 am
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Post by Dragon_Cooler » Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:07 am

i dont see no offerings though!!!! LOL
Image

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:53 am

well the way i would have to do it is to charge like $5 a mth for unlimited access to the servers

i could do
BF2
CS:S
HL2
Q4

The reason i would have to charge is either to add another DSL line or get a T1 because its $400 amth for a T1

I am more than happy to try to set stuff up though.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

Post Reply