Oblivion (Elder Scrolls IV)

A place to rant and rave about all the current gaming titles!
User avatar
Topher
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 11:29 am
Location: Temple of the Rat
Contact:

Post by Topher » Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:11 pm

Ah sorry.... I read this:
i live about 15 mins away from bethesda.
and seen that your location listed next to your name was st. louis mo, so I just assumed......

-mogwai
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: st. louis, mo
Contact:

Post by -mogwai » Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:20 am

ah hehe it's all good :)
Image

Immortal

Post by Immortal » Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:53 am

I do beleive i OWN this game.... yup got it yesterday... couldnt wait for it to be relased in the UK so got it shipped over express from USA! :D

Just a side note... if u got a good GFX card... and by good i mean X800/GF6600GT and above this game will be lolvley... under that you wont experiance it like it should be....

Im gonna upgrade by 9800 Pro sometime soon...

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Thu Mar 23, 2006 9:53 am

yeah time to get rid of the 9800 Pro!

NAiLs
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 871
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 12:46 am
Location: WI
Contact:

Post by NAiLs » Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:25 am

lol... I still have my 9800 Pro and I still love it! :) I was thinking of picking up an x850 (AGP, yes...) 'cause I don't plan on upgrading to PCI-e for a atleast a year yet.
"Bow down before the one you serve! You're going to get what you deserve!" - |\| | |/|

Immortal

Post by Immortal » Thu Mar 23, 2006 1:17 pm

thats the problem i have... it seems that with AGP and PCi-E cards, the AGP counterparts are £20-£30 more expensive.... and this is really a pain in the dernier....

Soliex
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:05 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Soliex » Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:19 am

I love this game.

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3946
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Post by KnightRid » Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:22 am

Well good thing i didnt buy this! My friend bought a copy and brought it over, since i have a better graphics card than he does, and I cant even hardly move in the menus it is that jerky...I admit I only have the GeForce FX5900, but DAMN - all the settings at the lowest and I cant move the mouse properly on the screen? He is fit to be tied since he only has the Ti series video card right now..lol..

oh and this system is the 3000+ with 2gb ram yada yada yada...I just dont get it...*sigh*

Was looking forward to trying it too! Then maybe buying it once the price came down to around $20.

Mike
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Post by FZ1 » Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:54 am

Well, don't feel so bad. I have a dual core running at 2853 with a 2GB of RAM and a 7800GTX 256MB and on near max settings it stutters sometimes. Now I want the 7900GTX but no one has them in stock :evil:
Joe

Immortal

Post by Immortal » Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:53 am

my god people... my 9800 pro does well for itself... im at recommended settings but instead of 800x600 im at 1280x960 and have turned on water reflect and water ripple. All i turned down was visual distance and that was by 1 notch... its a massive boost to performance!

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3946
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Post by KnightRid » Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:34 am

Immortal wrote:my god people... my 9800 pro does well for itself... im at recommended settings but instead of 800x600 im at 1280x960 and have turned on water reflect and water ripple. All i turned down was visual distance and that was by 1 notch... its a massive boost to performance!
and that is why I cant understand why mine is doing so poorly - the FX5900 Ultra blows away the ati 9800 pro. Only difference between the 5900 ultra nd mine is 50mhz core clock - mine is 400 the ultra is 450.

Maybe there is something else screwed up on mine :(

oh I was running at 1280X1024 to match my monitor, maybe i should try at 800X600 or something...just htought of that :oops:

Mike
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

DanielDev
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:20 am

Post by DanielDev » Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:50 am

got p4 2.66ghz (533fsb :oops: ) OCed to 3.4ghz, 512mb ram, 9800XT 265mb and am running it at 1280x1024 with visual distance turnes down.
runs pretty smooth, loading takes a while, but more ram is coming up this way :)

Kerii
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 5:07 pm

Post by Kerii » Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:27 pm

KnightRid wrote:and that is why I cant understand why mine is doing so poorly - the FX5900 Ultra blows away the ati 9800 pro. Only difference between the 5900 ultra nd mine is 50mhz core clock - mine is 400 the ultra is 450.

Maybe there is something else screwed up on mine :(

oh I was running at 1280X1024 to match my monitor, maybe i should try at 800X600 or something...just htought of that :oops:

Mike
Try going here:
http://www.elderscrolls.com/forums/inde ... 3&t=308781

Scroll to the middle of the page and then a little bit down to where it says "Very low end video card (GF3, GF4ti, radeon 8500/9000 etc, possibly FX series) tweaks (Or, is my video card supported?)"

Has a lot of tweaks you can do to get the game running smoothly. :P

Though the best performance boost for people will probably come from tweaking the SMP (if you have dual core) and grass options in Oblivion.ini.

Specifically:

[General]
iPreloadSizeLimit=1000000000

[OPENMP]
iThreads=20
iOpenMPLevel=20

[Grass]
iMinGrassSize=125 (the higher the number, the less dense the grass)
Image

audiodox
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:49 am

Post by audiodox » Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:58 pm

done waiting for it to come out... :( just waiting to get enough money buy it :P

TK421
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:20 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Post by TK421 » Fri Apr 28, 2006 3:34 pm

audiodox wrote:done waiting for it to come out... :( just waiting to get enough money buy it :P
I got a copy from my friends to make sure it ran on my PC, but it's so good, Im going to buy it. Afterall, they didn't bother with all that copyright protection crap. I'm impressed and for that, they deserve kudos!

Also, the tweaks on the forums REALLY helped out on my GeForce Go 6600
Stormtrooper TK421

Post Reply