how many cores to fold on

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

how many cores to fold on

Post by Darkstar » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:21 am

taskmanager.jpg
taskmanager.jpg (170.45 KiB) Viewed 1444 times
:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:30 am

What the frack!?

Is this some kind of reg hack?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:33 am

what in the world do you have going on there?
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
GI-JOE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by GI-JOE » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:36 am

256 threads/cores?!? Dang someone has a technological advantage over AMD and Intel! :mrgreen:
-----------------------------------------------------
- CoolerMaster Elite 330
- Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 @ 3.16ghz (9.5 x 333 @ 1.12 volts)
- Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
- 4 GB G-Skill DDR2 800
- Asus 8800GT 512mb w/Glaciator Fansink
- Antec Trio TruePower 650w

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by Darkstar » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:43 am

Its a shot of taskmanager on a Windows 2008 R2 showing 256 logical cores.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:02 am

so whats the system?
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by InspectahACE » Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:16 pm

so uh.. what secret government agency do you work for with all that? :mrgreen:
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by Darkstar » Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:54 pm

I heard it was a HP superdome64 itanium, i just saw the screenshot and thought 91 % utilization with 256 cores? is it folding? then i thought maybe it was bubba with his Autocad programs, :| but i think its running SQL. I was kind of mind boggling to see so i thought i would post it. (Maybe thats what Iceman is folding on)

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by geokilla » Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:16 pm

:prayer:

They better be folding for LR. Our PPD's been dropping from around 200k to around 140k now.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
stev
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:29 am
Location: Nashville, TN suburbs
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by stev » Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:26 pm

Here I thought it was an NVidia Tesla folding by McFolden.

McFolden averages 259,202 points/24hrs.

"...Nvidia founded Team “Whoopass”, which consists only of several computers that are running the [email protected] GPU client. Even with just 4-5 test machines, the team quickly moved into the top 5% of all contributors by sheer processing power. Dr. Vijay told us that if only 1% of all CUDA-capable users would start using [email protected] in their spare time, the [email protected] machine would quickly be considered the fastest performing HPC computer in the whole world – hitting about 60-80 Peta FLOPS of processing power."

:shock:

:supz:
AMD X2 TK-57 1.90Ghz | F700 Quanta | PC2-5300 DDR2 2Gb | GeForce 7000M | DVDRAM GSA-T40N | HP LaserJet 1018
My Stats http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ ... =&u=303718
Image
http://www.eff.org - Electronic Frontier Foundation - working to protect your digital rights

User avatar
werewolfdaddy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 670
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by werewolfdaddy » Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:07 pm

so do you think it would be good for web browsing and checking email? :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
XstollieX
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: how many cores to fold on

Post by XstollieX » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:19 pm

skierkid450 wrote:[email protected]@K!!!
mem leak.JPG
mem leak2.JPG
how sick is that :lol: it's pretty laggy, CPU is bouncing around from no less than 15% to 50%(one full core), RAM is at ~1080,000kB and holding, with spikes randomly

(many, many, many, many, many, many tabs are open)

and firefox couldnt just close, it had to force quit, and it took a while just to do that
werewolfdaddy wrote:so do you think it would be good for web browsing and checking email? :mrgreen:
Unless of course you browse like skierkid :finga:

Post Reply