VM smp folding issue

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2188
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

VM smp folding issue

Post by stopthekilling77 » Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:44 am

I've got virtual workstation up and ubuntu 8.10 x64 all set up on a VM, but once I get SMP [email protected] all set up and I double click on the icon to start up, a white box blinks and disappears. Any suggestions?
Cyberpower special rig
ASUS Prime 450M-A
Ryzen 5 3600 stock
CM Hyper 212 EVO push/pull
24GB DDR4 3000 (soon to be 32GB)
AMD RX 580 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB NVMe SSD
Lexar 256GB SSD
6GB Seagate hdd
Stock PSU (will upgrade)
ASUS VE278 27" monitor, Samsung Vizio V435-G0 42" 4K TV
Logitech Z533 2.1 Speakers, G935 7.1 headset
MS LXM-00001 Ergonomic kbd
Razer Deathadder Elite, XBOX One wireless controller

I've come a long way from that original Core2Duo build y'all! :supz:

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1630
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: VM smp folding issue

Post by Alathald » Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:40 pm

Right click the launcher>Properties>Type>Application in Terminal

Now it will start in the terminal so you can see if there are error messages. If you're still having issues post the Launcher Command you're using and a fahlog.
Image

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: VM smp folding issue

Post by martini161 » Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:28 pm

gotta launch it from a console. open up your console in teh folder where fah6 is and type
./fah6 -smp -verbosity 9 -forceasm

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2188
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: VM smp folding issue

Post by stopthekilling77 » Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:19 pm

okay well I tried both things but right clicking the launcher doesnt give me a "type" option. using 8.10 here, so I'm thinking its a difference in versions. I also don't know how to open the console in the folder, and none of my google searches helped me. i'll check back tomorrow morning after i get some rest.
Cyberpower special rig
ASUS Prime 450M-A
Ryzen 5 3600 stock
CM Hyper 212 EVO push/pull
24GB DDR4 3000 (soon to be 32GB)
AMD RX 580 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB NVMe SSD
Lexar 256GB SSD
6GB Seagate hdd
Stock PSU (will upgrade)
ASUS VE278 27" monitor, Samsung Vizio V435-G0 42" 4K TV
Logitech Z533 2.1 Speakers, G935 7.1 headset
MS LXM-00001 Ergonomic kbd
Razer Deathadder Elite, XBOX One wireless controller

I've come a long way from that original Core2Duo build y'all! :supz:

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: VM smp folding issue

Post by martini161 » Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:44 pm

open a console
cd /[path of folding folder]
so if it was on your desktop
cd /home/ian/Desktop/folding
./fah6 -smp -verbosity 9 -forceasm
if theres one shell you ever learn;make it bash

Post Reply