Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:04 pm

I have tried for about a week to get the program to work. I have installed and uninstalled about 15 times. I tried following NUMEROUS tutorials on the error code I have including deleting work folder, dat files etc. This is supposed to be an AMAZING program. It's supposed to be the next big thing. I have a great idea for whoever designed [email protected] and [email protected] MAKE IT EASY!! Imagine if this is how it worked and if it is how it's supposed to work then I have been doing run a rounds because of this problem.

Goto a website such as foldingathome.com click on download and install. Don't make you goto an ENTIRE different subscreen dedicated to high performance clients. ON THE SAME PAGE where you have 20 versions of downloads. Have a button that says, download standard, download advanced. Once downloaded click install BAM. Select what you want to run and how much power you want to use.

Instead I have downloaded all sorts of stupid SMP clients, hacks, deleted work folders, Dat files. WTF?

Here is my error, no matter my drivers, my install client, my download site, my version. On top of uninstalling and installing seriously 15 times.
[email protected] has run into a serious error running the core. and will shutdown.
They even don't capitalize the first letter after a period, or just use a comma. It's a program designed by a DAMN UNIVERSITY!

It's not my video card. Because sitting next to me is 2 perfectly fine video cards, an Ati 4870 black knight by ASUS, and a XFX GTX 260 black edition.
Could they or could they not just make it easy? They look like they came up with the idea for this back in 2000, designed the website using the Windows logos from 2000, and then let it sit for 9 years before they used it. You can donate money, but not common sense I guess.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by InspectahACE » Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:47 pm

are you trying to fold with both card int eh same rig or separate ?
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by geokilla » Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:38 pm

Use the console client to fold. It's not wise to mix NVIDIA and ATI for folding so you might wanna seperate the two GPUs. Finally, follow the GPU guide on [email protected]'s site and report back.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:51 pm

They were both separate. One was last week and the Nvidia after cleaning ALL Ati drivers out was today and yesterday.

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:07 pm

Now I went on a limb and decided to try to figure it out, because I hate being stumped. Sure enough the cudart.dll wasn't in the same folder. I moved it. AND BAM nothing. Same problem. Core shutting down. WTF?!?!?!

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by vbironchef » Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:16 pm

Take your time and read. Folding with a GPU client is not hard to do. Don't get upset and don't give up! Delete everything and start over. Make sure you make folders for everything. Makes for easy start up! If I can do it, so can you! I know you can do it. :partyman:

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by InspectahACE » Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:40 pm

it took me along while to figure out how to get both my gpus folding at the same time along with 3 cpu cores all at once, so don't give up. I almost did. My biggest hurdle was figuring out how to make sure each client got their own perspective work folder so they do their own work instead of steal the work of another client.
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:53 pm

It ended up being some weird WU. I have to restart it like 50 times and delete it to hopefully get a good work unit I guess. It's working as of now. No idea when it will stop again. My CPU has no problems though.

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by geokilla » Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:01 pm

Ok for NVIDIA folding, you need the following files:

NVIDIA Driver 18X.XX recommended due to the low CPU overhead
[email protected] console client from Stanford
FahMon
Follow the guide http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinGPUGuide

I found [email protected] to be easy to set up. I had no errors the first time I started folding. What type of error are you getting? Also what OS?
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:23 pm

Also it WILL NOT work on the new Nvidia drivers. 186 series.
I had to rollback to 182. It didn't bother me because left for dead and crysis both were slower with the new drivers that supposedly INCREASED performance by 25%!! hah. I was about to try out some old school drivers from 2005 to see if they worked better.
'm on XP 32bit. The problem was drivers, missing dll file, and bad WUs. As I said BAD way to set up something that is heavily used.

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by InspectahACE » Sat Jun 06, 2009 9:35 pm

I don't know what was up on the drivers on your end, but I'm using the new 186 drivers and it's working fine for me. least it seems like you got it workin
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3947
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by KnightRid » Sun Jun 07, 2009 5:36 am

I have heard this complaint NUMEROUS times and I have even thought about quitting folding because of the thing STILL being in Beta! They need to make an easy solution that will work, no dos client, windows client, ati client, nvidia client, spaceman client, martian client, etc... They would have and KEEP sooooooo many more folders if they would get off their collective asses and actually make something that works and installs EASILY!

I feel for ya man! Wait till they decide to shut the client down because it is in Beta and they want you to update every so often, but for some reason cant seem to push the new version to your computer automatically and install it for you...that will frustrate the hell out of you!! It does me!

Mike

at least Seti seems to have their act together, just more worthwhile to fold them search the skies ;) Aliens are already among us, just look at Dicecca - HAHAHHHHA :mrgreen:
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:24 am

Off 1 GTX 260 and 1 E5200 intel, I can fold about 8k PPD.. If they decided to get things going a bit better I think I'd like to have the competition to get up the ranks. I wish [email protected] had a better database and more people or could tally points to [email protected] teams.

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by geokilla » Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Are you running the SMP client on your E5200?
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:25 pm

not even really folding it haha. Just 10% of the CPU What is the SMP client? I have it but, not sure if it's actually the one being used.

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by hercules71185 » Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:28 pm

how do you get it to work? I have it downloaded and it pops up a dos window when I try to install it, And if I click the icon nothing happens. Seriously come on, [email protected] you click download BAM uses 100% of both cores of CPU AND your GPU. [email protected] needs to get it's act together.

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by geokilla » Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:37 pm

hercules71185 wrote:how do you get it to work? I have it downloaded and it pops up a dos window when I try to install it, And if I click the icon nothing happens. Seriously come on, [email protected] you click download BAM uses 100% of both cores of CPU AND your GPU. [email protected] needs to get it's act together.
Stop complaining and go check out the guides. It's seriously not that hard if you follow the guide.

First off, get the DEINO client since you're on XP 32 bit. Then, extract that to a folder (where you have [email protected]? up to you) then run install.bat. Then follow the other instructions on the guide at the [email protected] site.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3947
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by KnightRid » Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:13 am

geokilla wrote:
hercules71185 wrote:how do you get it to work? I have it downloaded and it pops up a dos window when I try to install it, And if I click the icon nothing happens. Seriously come on, [email protected] you click download BAM uses 100% of both cores of CPU AND your GPU. [email protected] needs to get it's act together.
Stop complaining and go check out the guides. It's seriously not that hard if you follow the guide.
Another reason people get frustrated and stop folding ;) There is no EASY guide to follow for some people! I had a guy call me up because he could not figure out how to shut down the computer inside of windows! THERE ARE NO STUPID QUESTIONS, well, mostly there aren't ;)

Argh, these discussions get me fired up. We are giving FREE time and resources to this project yet we get betas, software that cant even be shrunk to our toolbar (without outside programs), software that wont auto-update, software that has some stupid expiration date on it...

Hercules - if you really want to get this running - give me a holler on twitter - KnightRid (of course) - I will see if I can get you up and running.

Mike

Dont get me started on Cuda drivers or regular drivers - sometimes they work, sometimes you need the other..LOL
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Why I will never fold for [email protected]

Post by skier » Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:58 pm

ive had best luck with cuda 181.20, then again, thats with SLI
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Post Reply