New GPU3 core will be called core_15

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

New GPU3 core will be called core_15

Post by Apoptosis » Sun Nov 08, 2009 7:21 am

A recent blog post from Pande:

Updates on new cores: Protomol and GPU3 core
There has been a lot of work on updating the Protomol core to bring it in line with the other cores in [email protected] I'm happy to say that a lot of progress has been made and it's looking much better. Joe will continue to test it, but it looks close to be moving to the next levels of QA.

The GPU3 core is also moving along. It will be called core_15 (the natural next number in the GPU series). The main changes there have been to incorporate the updated GPU code from OpenMM. OpenMM was based on our FAH GPU MD code to start, but has had several enhancements and additions. In particular, it should be much more stable than the previous FAH GPU MD cores. However, this stability does come at a mild cost in performance. We will address this at the benchmarking stage, since all core 15 (GPU3) projects will start fresh, not continuing existing projects.
this stability does come at a mild cost in performance... damn, looks like GPU folding might be getting a ppd decrease once the new core hits.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: New GPU3 core will be called core_15

Post by Athlonite » Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:16 pm

does it support crossfire or sli yet without all the friggin round ya have to do to get it running on two gpu's
Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX 8320 @ 3700MHz NB/HT @ 2600MHZ
2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 C9
1x Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 9550MHz core 1250MHz mem
1x Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212S SATA
2x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm raid0
1x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm storage
1x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7200rpm storage
Thermolab Baram 1 x 120mm CM R4 90cfm 2000rpm 1x SilverStone 120mm AP 1500rpm 37.5cfm
SilverStone ST75F-P 750W PSU Full Modular
SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: New GPU3 core will be called core_15

Post by skier » Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:32 pm

Athlonite wrote:does it support crossfire or sli yet without all the friggin round ya have to do to get it running on two gpu's
that's constructive :?
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Post Reply