Win 7 x64 vmware player problem

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Win 7 x64 vmware player problem

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:41 pm

Hey everyone, anyone using VMware Player successfully on their Windows 7 x64 installations? I have my VM set up and it works, I just have no access to the internet from the VM which is a big problem seeing how I'm trying to set it up for SMP [email protected]
I've tried setting it to Bridged, NAT, and Host Only just for kicks, but still have the same problem.

I've already done a few google searches on the problem but wading through the results gave me zilch.
Thanks in advance, this is driving me nuts.
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: Win 7 x64 vmware player problem

Post by smack323 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:09 pm

wish i could help - i have both windows 7 64 & 84 running as VMs on a windows 7 64 host with no problems. its VM workstation not player tho. didnt do any special config
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Win 7 x64 vmware player problem

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:02 pm

It was something stupid, like I thought. I ended up having to "run as administrator" even though I AM the administrator :lol:
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Win 7 x64 vmware player problem

Post by stopthekilling77 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:28 pm

New issue, now that I've got ubuntu configured for folding, I get "there was an error creating the child process for this terminal" whenever I try to run the desktop shortcut I made.

Shortcut is configured like this:
Name: [email protected]
Description: (blank)
Command: /home/smp/FAH/startfah (smp is the username I use for my smp VM)
Comment: (blank)

In my permissions tab of the shortcut I made sure it had access to read and write. What am I missing?
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

Post Reply