How to fold on i7

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
eden999
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:08 am

How to fold on i7

Post by eden999 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:24 pm

Hi, i just built a new i7 860 rig, and was wondering how i fold on my cpu. It's running at stock clocks and plan to fold pretty much 24/7 for LR, how do i fold to maximize my point output?

Thanks

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: How to fold on i7

Post by spitter » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:16 pm

bigadv, at stock clock you can put out about 11000 - 12000ppd and for 95 watts is the best thing going right now.

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=4464

eden999
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:08 am

Re: How to fold on i7

Post by eden999 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:54 pm

hmm seems like a good idea, i can fold on 6 threads only right? And is there a more basic guide, lol i got totally confused reading that, too lazy to digest it.

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: How to fold on i7

Post by spitter » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:11 pm

quick and dirt guide:
Download and install vmplayer http://downloads.vmware.com/d/details/p ... piZGVkZA==
Download and extract Linux image http://folding.braindancer.net/linuxrou ... FAH-1.1.7z

In the extracted file click on the exe file named Linux64_FAH it will start the vmplayer and folding,
To change the name, team number and put in your pass key ,open you web browser and put in the 192.168.1.x number that is on the vmplayer screen. check the bigadv box along with the auto start and set the number of cores you want to fold, check the reboot on submit and submit. Your folding bigadv

It's set up for 6gigs of ram or better, if you have less your going to have to change a few things!!!
And I hope you have a win 64-bit os.

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Re: How to fold on i7

Post by werty316 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:44 pm

If you think setting up bigadv is too much work/too hard to configure than SMP2 is your next best alternative.
SMP2 is much easier to setup and the points are not bad at all with bonuses.
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

eden999
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:08 am

Re: How to fold on i7

Post by eden999 » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:17 am

uhm, i have 4gb of ram. and i have win 7 64bit

User avatar
Wifuzzy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:29 pm

Re: How to fold on i7

Post by Wifuzzy » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:27 am

anyone in this tread know how to show foldinf log on linux in vmware?

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: How to fold on i7

Post by spitter » Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:01 am

http://192.168.1.4/log.php

works on mine, you mine have to change the last number

Post Reply