Triple SLI

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
Wifuzzy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:29 pm

Triple SLI

Post by Wifuzzy » Sat Feb 20, 2010 2:20 pm

I sent my Asus board in for RMA. It should be back in a couple of weeks...ish. The board does triple sli and is a 775 socket. I presume I do not need much of a CPU to do this. I guess mu question is what are choices do I have in video cards that are budget minded that support triple SLI? I do not want 3 280s.

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: Triple SLI

Post by spitter » Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:39 pm

Do you have a power supply already?? I have 3 empty slots also but I do not have plans to fill them, I will go a 3rd i7 instead.

User avatar
Wifuzzy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:29 pm

Re: Triple SLI

Post by Wifuzzy » Sat Feb 20, 2010 5:48 pm

3 video cards in a computer and my wife knows nothing.....another computer and my wife goes ballistic... :axe: And I actually have 7 open slots.

Edit: actually 6....1 is in the wifes computer. If I put one in there we would be back to... :axe:

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Triple SLI

Post by stopthekilling77 » Sat Feb 20, 2010 6:46 pm

Wifuzzy wrote:I sent my Asus board in for RMA. It should be back in a couple of weeks...ish. The board does triple sli and is a 775 socket. I presume I do not need much of a CPU to do this. I guess mu question is what are choices do I have in video cards that are budget minded that support triple SLI? I do not want 3 280s.

First off, a bottom-shelf CPU will not do well in a tri-sli system, you will want to have a capable CPU or you'll be bottlenecked by your processing power. As long as you don't have a low-end CPU you'll be good. As for cards, I'd just check which nvidia cards have the dual-bridge setups and then find an acceptable price point :drinkers:
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: Triple SLI

Post by spitter » Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:19 pm

Wifuzzy wrote:3 video cards in a computer and my wife knows nothing.....another computer and my wife goes ballistic... :axe: And I actually have 7 open slots.

Edit: actually 6....1 is in the wifes computer. If I put one in there we would be back to... :axe:
Use the same case and how will she know??

User avatar
Wifuzzy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:29 pm

Re: Triple SLI

Post by Wifuzzy » Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:01 pm

Well...scrolling on web pages is just a tad slow when [email protected] is running...she would know.

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: Triple SLI

Post by spitter » Sat Feb 20, 2010 11:12 pm

Ah that's an easy one, reboot the router and modem, and when it doesn't work blame the isp. You really need to learn how to self inflict pc issues so you can upgrade when you need to.

User avatar
Wifuzzy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:29 pm

Re: Triple SLI

Post by Wifuzzy » Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:33 am

LOL...in my household, I don't think my 8 year old would fall for that one. They are a little to smart for that. Anyway...I guess I'll just waite and see what Nvidias "big" announcement is on Monday. I'm thinking fermi is a no show for a while, at least in any quantities anyway. If I'm wrong...I'll grab one of those.

User avatar
Wifuzzy
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:29 pm

Re: Triple SLI

Post by Wifuzzy » Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:01 am

Off topic..but. I had an asus m2n-e. It is just a plain am2 board. Sent it in for rma with Asus. They say they can't fix it and they do not have any more of those boards. So they are sending me a triple sli board instead. now I have 2 tri sli boards sitting on a shelf...LOL

Post Reply