6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3940
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by KnightRid » Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:59 pm

Plain and simple. Skier brought up on twitter about the 6.30 SMP2 client and getting the bonus points. I was just wondering which way is better to fold on the i7. Right now I have it up and running on the VM with the bigadv flag and smp -7. I installed the 6.30 core on this Q6700 system to test it out (have to reboot first) but it seems you do not have to do -smp # anymore? It will just find the number of cores you have and use them.

Now will the 6.30 find 8 cores on the i7-920 or just 4? If only 4 then the bigadv on the VM would probably give more points, I would think.

Well, let me know. I need to catch up in points after being down for so long ;)
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by skier » Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:10 pm

vm and SMP2 both have bigadv, both can use 8.....

install, config, add -smp -bigadv.
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by vbironchef » Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:27 pm

I have been thinking about the big-adv as well. After reading the posts on [email protected] I deceided that the 6.30 client is the way to go. The posts that I have read said that the big-adv is for 8 core rigs. It does work by the way (if you don't have 8 cores) it's just not what [email protected] had in mind with big-adv points. That said Vm ware does not give you any big-adv points anymore. Unless it has changed that I do not know about. As for me, I am using the 6.30 client for both my rigs. That's about it because temps in my neck of the woods is still to hot. Let me know what you what you deceide to do so I can get in some of that big-adv point action.

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by vbironchef » Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:29 pm

skier, are you sure that Vm ware gives big-adv. points? I know that they stopped it for awhile, what changed?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by skier » Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:23 pm

vbironchef wrote:skier, are you sure that Vm ware gives big-adv. points? I know that they stopped it for awhile, what changed?
i don't know or care if it does, smp2 is better.
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by smack323 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:32 pm

is 6.30 smp2 able to be run on a i5?
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by skier » Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:52 pm

smack323 wrote:is 6.30 smp2 able to be run on a i5?

any multicore system can use SMP2. 2 cores and up, use SMP2.
3999
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by camaroguy1998 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:16 am

skier wrote:
smack323 wrote:is 6.30 smp2 able to be run on a i5?

any multicore system can use SMP2. 2 cores and up, use SMP2.
3999
Question.....Can you run SMP2 & GPU on the same rig?

CPU is an AMD 965BE x4
GPU is a 9600GSO
ASUS Crosshair V- Formula Z - AMD 9590H2O
16G GSkill RipJaw - CoolerMaster Seidon cooler
Corsair RM750X - Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
ASUS BW-12B1ST BD Burners(X2)
EVGA 560ti SC
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor
Corsair 600T case

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3940
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by KnightRid » Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:17 am

I know when you set up SMP2 you go to the advanced options and change the [normal} to [big] for unit sizes but i do not see anywhere you have to actually set a -bigadv flag?

Do you HAVE to have it? I put the -smp flag in the setup and am running it as a service (which RULES), should I go back and add -bigadv on this Q6700 or just on the i7?

Oh, I also turned on the -advmethods which I have no clue if I should have on or not in SMP2

I just realized, I do not know very much LOL
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by vbironchef » Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:32 am

Just on your i7. Your Q6700 only has four cores. Even your core i7 only has four real cores. It will work but not recommended, I used it last year with good results. This year I am just going to use 6.30 SMP. Should take about 15 to 20 min. per %. So every 2 to 3 days you should complete a WU.

Edit: To camaroguy1998, of course you can run both at the same time. What I do is to go to the task manager and disable one core from the SMP Client and use that core only for the GPU Client. Make sure to disable all other cores on your GPU client. :) Any other questions just ask. :drinkers:
Last edited by vbironchef on Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by smack323 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:36 pm

I currently have SMP2 going on an i5 - i belive i set up the -bigadv in the set up. it is taking about 11min per 1% - it will take about 18hrs per WU at this rate. I found this in the set up guide- this is where to set the -bigadv during the set up

Disable CPU affinity lock (no/yes) [no]?
Not useful for SMP since it use all cores.
Additional client parameters []?
You can enter the client flags here so you don't have to type the flag each time you run the client. We strongly suggest you enter the -smp Do NOT enter -config or -configonly'' or any single-use flag in this field to avoid problems.

IP address to bind core to (for viewer) []?
For future use when the Viewer is working better. Specifies the IP address of the machine of which the viewer should display the client output.

all cores are cranking along at 100% we'll see what happens.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by vbironchef » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:43 pm

To smack323, congrats! Just one note, you have to finish at least 10 SMP WU's to get a big-adv work unit. You won't always get a Big-adv WU all the time. I hope you entered a passkey. I hope all goes well, but I feel that a I5 is not what [email protected] had in mind with the big-adv WU's.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by skier » Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:23 pm

smack323 wrote:I currently have SMP2 going on an i5 - i belive i set up the -bigadv in the set up. it is taking about 11min per 1% - it will take about 18hrs per WU at this rate. I found this in the set up guide- this is where to set the -bigadv during the set up

all cores are cranking along at 100% we'll see what happens.
well it just won't download the bigadv work units, same thing with Thuban, you can set bigadv but just wont get the units (though there is now a workaround for the thuban, that's 6 cores not 4, the i5 wouldn't finish the unit on time I don't think)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by smack323 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 5:22 am

thats fine if i dont get the bigadv points or workunits. my output looks like it will triple with the smp2 core - I already have more today with one WU finished. unfortunatly my output was only about 300 ppd so 3x it isnt doing much.
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by skier » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:27 am

smack323 wrote:thats fine if i dont get the bigadv points or workunits. my output looks like it will triple with the smp2 core - I already have more today with one WU finished. unfortunatly my output was only about 300 ppd so 3x it isnt doing much.
well my 3GHz core2quad got me ~5k ppd so you should be sittin pretty shortly
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3940
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by KnightRid » Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:57 am

ok, I installed the 6.30 on the i7 but it will NOT run as a service in Vista 64 bit. I tried everything. Yes, i ran cmd in admin mode. When the computer starts it loads the FAH6.exe program but it never starts the a3 program to fold. I ended the fah6 task in taskmgr and ran fah6 manually and it downloaded a3 and ran just fine.

Does anyone have any idea why it will not run as a service? I could just add it to the startup menu but am wondering why it will run fine as a service on my Q6700 with win7 64bit but not the i7 with Vista 64bit.
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by skier » Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:34 am

KnightRid wrote:ok, I installed the 6.30 on the i7 but it will NOT run as a service in Vista 64 bit. I tried everything. Yes, i ran cmd in admin mode. When the computer starts it loads the FAH6.exe program but it never starts the a3 program to fold. I ended the fah6 task in taskmgr and ran fah6 manually and it downloaded a3 and ran just fine.

Does anyone have any idea why it will not run as a service? I could just add it to the startup menu but am wondering why it will run fine as a service on my Q6700 with win7 64bit but not the i7 with Vista 64bit.
because vista is worthless? I dunno, I don't ever run as service unless i'm bot'ing the system without even connecting a monitor or keyboard/mouse
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by spitter » Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:26 pm

Defiantly bigadv, I am getting 35k ppd on some wu on my 930, no vmware anymore just the windows smp client. And not as a service for me, big hit on ppd.

vbironchef
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by vbironchef » Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:35 pm

This is a interesting read at folding @ home forum. http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=16348

Re: -bigadv Frame Times on 6 core Processors
by 7im » Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:56 pm

Stanford made no changes to the -bigadv program since it started. They did not make a change from 8 real cores to allow 8 virtual cores. When it first started, there were no i7s. 8 real cores or more were the only option.

Actually, Stanfords current method of detecting cores is based on what the OS reports to the fah client. This is how i7s could eventually sneak in the door, and how AMD x6 chips can also sneak in the door with a slightly different hack.

And if Stanford does change this to 8 true cores, do you honestly think all the i7 folders will go back to SMP units? I think not. I assure you, they will do the same thing us X6 folders are doing now.


Yes, they will go back to regular SMP WUs. They won't have a choice. If Stanford makes a change, they will be sure to close these back door tricks. They can black list i7 and AMD 6x hardware (no more # of CPU cores hacks). They can check for real cores as the fahcore starts up, not just at the time the WU is downloaded (no more sneakernetting), then can shorten deadlines so that only real 8 core systems just make the deadline (eliminates headroom so every other hack the above countermeasures missed is covered), etc. etc.


Side note, speed is headroom, yes. However, your AMD x6 lacks the headroom that Stanford intended with their 8 Real Core minimum. They wanted 2 days or more head room. So when your x6 can finish a WU with 2 days to spare, let's talk. Until then, if people keep slowing down the results with more and and more slower systems, then you might be pushing Stanford harder and harder to make a change. Be careful what you wish for.
7im

Posts: 7640
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Website

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: 6.30 SMP2 or keep using bigadv on the i7-920

Post by Athlonite » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:26 pm

vbironchef wrote:To smack323, congrats! Just one note, you have to finish at least 10 SMP WU's to get a big-adv work unit. You won't always get a Big-adv WU all the time. I hope you entered a passkey. I hope all goes well, but I feel that a I5 is not what [email protected] had in mind with the big-adv WU's.
I got through 8 bigadv WU's and it started picking up normal WU's so missed out on the bonus point 10 bigadv wu 's return policy and i was all like :finga: FU bloody [email protected]
Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX 8320 @ 3700MHz NB/HT @ 2600MHZ
2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 C9
1x Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 9550MHz core 1250MHz mem
1x Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212S SATA
2x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm raid0
1x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm storage
1x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7200rpm storage
Thermolab Baram 1 x 120mm CM R4 90cfm 2000rpm 1x SilverStone 120mm AP 1500rpm 37.5cfm
SilverStone ST75F-P 750W PSU Full Modular
SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

Post Reply