2 new dedicated folders

Here you can find out about our Folding Team! Our goal: to understand protein folding, protein aggregation, and related diseases
Post Reply
User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

2 new dedicated folders

Post by Darkstar » Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:55 am

Added 2 new dedicated folding machines (at least for the week) :lol:

Core Duo E6600's
1} running the W$ SMP
2} running console on both cores

Lets overtake Purdue this week since we left ATI in the dust..... :mrgreen:

get ready Iceman...

Darkstar_dd
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:02 am

heck yeah... we passed up BFG Technologies and held off ATI Technologies, which is huge seeing how much press ATI got with the launch of the [email protected] GPU clients a few months ago.

Next teams to pass up are Purdue, Hot Hardware and G4 Tech TV :)

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Post by DaIceMan » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:24 pm

Apoptosis wrote:heck yeah... we passed up BFG Technologies and held off ATI Technologies, which is huge seeing how much press ATI got with the launch of the [email protected] GPU clients a few months ago.

Next teams to pass up are Purdue, Hot Hardware and G4 Tech TV :)
That's the pass I'm looking forward to. Bastards ruined a perfectly good network, and the careers of a few decent folks. Most of the "celebs" from TechTV, and even the ZDTV days went on to do their own things and are doing well.[/b]

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Post by DaIceMan » Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:36 pm

Well Darkstar... with the stat server problems of late, I can't really tell how much you're gaining on me, but if you pass me, congrats.

I was hoping to have my new machine up and running by now, but I haven't been able to get around to pick up the rest of the parts yet.

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Post by Darkstar » Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:35 am

Iceman,

That would be cool, but i dont think its going to happen, got some older rigs running the GUI, which i will probably take down soon. But hey, at least we keep climbing up there!!
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

novicegamer
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Bellevue Wash

Post by novicegamer » Wed Mar 28, 2007 1:00 pm

I just added 2 more folders at work and restarted 2 others :)

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Post by DaIceMan » Wed Mar 28, 2007 8:53 pm

Darkstar wrote:Iceman,

That would be cool, but i dont think its going to happen, got some older rigs running the GUI, which i will probably take down soon. But hey, at least we keep climbing up there!!
I took my SMP machine down today. It's been running 100% for 10 days straight, so I gave it the day off.

Take a look now... you have me by a couple slots, but it won't be that way for long. The SMP rig is back at it, and I hope to have the dedicated SMP folder running, if not by this weekend, then by the following weekend.

odie2190
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:00 pm

Post by odie2190 » Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:03 pm

how do you get it to run at 100%?
Image

User avatar
Cypher
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:21 am
Location: St. Charles, MO
Contact:

Post by Cypher » Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:17 am

Darkstar is also the name of my Linux box.
Facebook | Linux Systems Administrator | Web and Software Developer | Microsoft Certified Professional

"Wielding power untouched by mortal man."

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Post by kenc51 » Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:24 am

Cypher wrote:Darkstar is also the name of my Linux box.
Slackware user ehh?

User avatar
Cypher
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:21 am
Location: St. Charles, MO
Contact:

Post by Cypher » Thu Mar 29, 2007 5:29 am

kenc51 wrote:
Cypher wrote:Darkstar is also the name of my Linux box.
Slackware user ehh?
Used to be.
Facebook | Linux Systems Administrator | Web and Software Developer | Microsoft Certified Professional

"Wielding power untouched by mortal man."

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Post by Darkstar » Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:11 am

Cypher wrote
Darkstar is also the name of my Linux box.
Cool, its the name of my home server too :drinkers:

Iceman, building another E6600 today! :lol:

I'll let it run dedicated for a few weeks as a burn in

DD
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Post by DaIceMan » Thu Mar 29, 2007 6:49 pm

odie2190 wrote:how do you get it to run at 100%?
I'm using the SMP on my E6600 and graphical on my old Athlon. SMP runs both cores at 100% and I have the graphical turned up to max, running it at 100% on my "daily driver". I use this computer for email, surfing and such, and even with graphical running at 100% I hardly notice it slowing down at all for what I do. When I'm encoding movies or compressing/decompressing files, I take a pretty big hit in speed there, but I usually just let it run and come back later for the files.

User avatar
DaIceMan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Springfield-ish, Missouri
Contact:

Post by DaIceMan » Thu Mar 29, 2007 6:50 pm

Darkstar wrote:Iceman, building another E6600 today! :lol:

I'll let it run dedicated for a few weeks as a burn in

DD
nice. I'm trying to figure out how I can budget a new folding machine every few months... but I haven't quite got it nailed down yet. ;)

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Post by Darkstar » Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:26 pm

lol, let me know when you nail it down...
I'm hooked, even folding on my laptops.... :rolleyes:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

Post Reply