Windows 11....?

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

Thunderbird is what i out my mom on some yrs ago. Im sure hes referring to his work!
Ummmm, gmail!
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

KnightRid, found this the other day!
May be what you're looking for!

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-upgr ... windows-11
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4224
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by KnightRid »

camaroguy1998 wrote: Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:17 pm KnightRid, found this the other day!
May be what you're looking for!

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-upgr ... windows-11
Yea. I am still on the fence about trying it or not. Do you think it is worth the upgrade? My pc now had ftpm2.0 so everything is fine except the AMD 1700 cpu which really makes no sense why it isn't supported!
Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

KnightRid wrote: Thu Feb 17, 2022 4:35 am
camaroguy1998 wrote: Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:17 pm KnightRid, found this the other day!
May be what you're looking for!

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-upgr ... windows-11
Yea. I am still on the fence about trying it or not. Do you think it is worth the upgrade? My pc now had ftpm2.0 so everything is fine except the AMD 1700 cpu which really makes no sense why it isn't supported!
It may not make sense but it makes Dollars! M$!
I have not made the move yet either, its on my "Maybe" list!
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by sbohdan »

I'm using Windows 10 Ameliorated, which is a german project, that has ALL the spyware, bloatware removed from it, incl. forced updates, cortana etc. It uses way less resources, it's not spying on everything I do. is about as fast as win7 was and has all the functionality of win 10 anyway.

https://archive.org/details/windows-10-ameliorated-1903
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite, Ryzen 5800X @ stock, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36-1T, AMD RX 5700XT + AlphaCool WC, ACER Nitro XV2 27", SP 1TB nvme PCiE GEN3, Samsung 2TB; Cooler Master MW Gold 650W, Win10 Pro 64
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

I downloaded & installed Win11 today!
Everything I had on 10 is still there, works and looks the same!(Chrome still there and works fine)
After setting taskbar to the left and turned chat and M$ store off, pretty much the same visually!
Tried to uninstall M$ Store...lol...yeah thats not an option!
I tried to terminate the app and nothing happened even though it shows the "Terminate" button, apparently its not active!

Its only been a few hours and so far no big surprises!
Yeah there's a lot of crap loaded, gives me something to do tomorrow night!
Go through and decide what stays and what goes!
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

For KnightRid.....
Seems M$ :evil: does not want you running Win11.
For those who use the work around for TPM and CPUs a WaterMark will be showing up on your desktop soon!

https://www.theverge.com/22988775/micro ... njcHL7q7s0
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4224
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by KnightRid »

camaroguy1998 wrote: Tue Mar 22, 2022 1:31 am For KnightRid.....
Seems M$ :evil: does not want you running Win11.
For those who use the work around for TPM and CPUs a WaterMark will be showing up on your desktop soon!

https://www.theverge.com/22988775/micro ... njcHL7q7s0
Saw that :) Mine has TPM but with it being the first gen Ryzen MS still wont allow it. So stupid.
Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

KnightRid wrote:
camaroguy1998 wrote: Tue Mar 22, 2022 1:31 am For KnightRid.....
Seems M$ :evil: does not want you running Win11.
For those who use the work around for TPM and CPUs a WaterMark will be showing up on your desktop soon!

https://www.theverge.com/22988775/micro ... njcHL7q7s0
Saw that :) Mine has TPM but with it being the first gen Ryzen MS still wont allow it. So stupid.
Sounds like its time to update! Image

Sent from my SM-A526U using Tapatalk

ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4224
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by KnightRid »

camaroguy1998 wrote: Tue Mar 22, 2022 4:12 am Sounds like its time to update! Image

Sent from my SM-A526U using Tapatalk
Honestly I thought about it until I saw the insane pricing on some of the cpus. Also I can do cad and 3d printer files on my system just fine. Sure it is a little slower but not all that much. I would love to get a high end cpu for video editing but my entire PS5 cost less than one cpu. It is getting a bit crazy out there with the cost of building a computer. It used to be a cheaper solution but now everyone is price gouging and just plain upping their prices to make it way more expensive :(

I wish I could edit video on the PS5!
Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

KnightRid wrote: Wed Mar 23, 2022 3:22 am
camaroguy1998 wrote: Tue Mar 22, 2022 4:12 am Sounds like its time to update! Image

Sent from my SM-A526U using Tapatalk
Honestly I thought about it until I saw the insane pricing on some of the cpus. Also I can do cad and 3d printer files on my system just fine. Sure it is a little slower but not all that much. I would love to get a high end cpu for video editing but my entire PS5 cost less than one cpu. It is getting a bit crazy out there with the cost of building a computer. It used to be a cheaper solution but now everyone is price gouging and just plain upping their prices to make it way more expensive :(

I wish I could edit video on the PS5!
Can't argue with that!
I've had 2 friends recently decide not to have me build them a new puter, because it was $200-$300 more than they expected!
Both are on puters I built 10 to 12 yrs ago! (AMD based $600 builds)
New build would start at $1k maybe $1100 to $1200 for similar setup!
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by bubba »

With neon production halved by Ukraine stopping their production, chip prices wont drop anytime soon.

Throw inflation in there its getting a bit nuts.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1438
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by DJ Tucker »

My entire pc brand new cost me £2800. Right now including used parts, you can build my system for £2000. Only 6 months ago you could build my pc for £1700. Inflation sucks :(
ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Core i7 9600kf AVX 4.8Ghz @ 1.264v With Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Gigabyte RTX 2070 2040Mhz @ 1.0v With Watercool Heatkiller IV
16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36-2T
Aqua Computer Ultitube 200 Pro D5 Next
Corsair XR5 240mm & 360mm
WD Blue M.2 2Tb
Corsair HX1000i
LG 24MP59G 75hz & AOC G2460VQ6 75hz
1st Player Steam Punk SP8
Corsair K70 Mk2, M65 Elite and Void Elite USB
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4224
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by KnightRid »

bubba wrote: Wed Mar 23, 2022 9:16 am With neon production halved by Ukraine stopping their production, chip prices wont drop anytime soon.

Throw inflation in there its getting a bit nuts.
Odd thing is, laptops don't seem to be effected, except the high end ones with the 3xxx video and such. I thought laptops would skyrocket but still seeing some pretty good deals.
Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

Well Crap!
Win11 updated today and FORCED me to associate my M$ account with it!
Would not give me any other option!
:evil: :evil: :evil: :finga:
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
DJ Tucker
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1438
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:52 am
Location: Hardbase Headquaters
Contact:

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by DJ Tucker »

That update didn't make me use my MS account as I have a local account and refuse to sign in my my MS account.
ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Core i7 9600kf AVX 4.8Ghz @ 1.264v With Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Gigabyte RTX 2070 2040Mhz @ 1.0v With Watercool Heatkiller IV
16Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36-2T
Aqua Computer Ultitube 200 Pro D5 Next
Corsair XR5 240mm & 360mm
WD Blue M.2 2Tb
Corsair HX1000i
LG 24MP59G 75hz & AOC G2460VQ6 75hz
1st Player Steam Punk SP8
Corsair K70 Mk2, M65 Elite and Void Elite USB
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

DJ Tucker wrote: Thu May 12, 2022 3:13 am That update didn't make me use my MS account as I have a local account and refuse to sign in my my MS account.
Originally when I loaded Win10 i did it offline with no M$ account.
So, when I updated to Win11 there was no account associated with the install.
I am mad at myself, I had just read an article about the forced account issue the night before
and didnt even think twice when the update popped up :oops: :(
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4224
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by KnightRid »

Yea they are getting even shadier than they used to be with this MS account crap. I can see they want to be Google or Apple but it just makes things frustrating for people. Individuals wont be too effected but companies will. Sure I don't want a MS account and I would live without the couple things you cant use without one (store, cloud crap, account restore I think....cant think of what else) but some people cant or are not smart enough to know that so MS is taking advantage of the situation to collect more data on individuals. So sad they are doing this. I really need to install linux again and see if it has gotten any better. I hate using the command line for so much stuff!
Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:
User avatar
camaroguy1998
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by camaroguy1998 »

KnightRid wrote: Thu May 12, 2022 4:24 am Yea they are getting even shadier than they used to be with this MS account crap. I can see they want to be Google or Apple but it just makes things frustrating for people. Individuals wont be too effected but companies will. Sure I don't want a MS account and I would live without the couple things you cant use without one (store, cloud crap, account restore I think....cant think of what else) but some people cant or are not smart enough to know that so MS is taking advantage of the situation to collect more data on individuals. So sad they are doing this. I really need to install linux again and see if it has gotten any better. I hate using the command line for so much stuff!
From what I've read, individuals will be the ones FORCED into an account association!
Most Companies will be able to side step it or not be effected at all if they're using an Enterprise version of windows!
M$, Google, FB etc.... :finga:
ASUS AM4 TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
AMD 3400G - 32G GSkill RipJaw V - {Win10} Pro 64bit, Win11 Update
Corsair H100i RGB PRO XT 240mm AIO Cooler
Corsair RM750X PSU - Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB SSD
ASUS 27" LED LCD monitor - Lepai 2x20W Amp - Dayton B652 Spkrs

Corsair 4000D Airflow
User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4224
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Re: Windows 11....?

Post by KnightRid »

camaroguy1998 wrote: Fri May 13, 2022 12:03 am From what I've read, individuals will be the ones FORCED into an account association!
Most Companies will be able to side step it or not be effected at all if they're using an Enterprise version of windows!
M$, Google, FB etc.... :finga:
They are putting that requirement on the PRO version of 11 too! I think most enterprise situations would not have to have the store and such so they would never bother anyway. Home users and small businesses are the ones they are getting all the data from with this crap. So sad but Google does it to all of us android users and Apple does it to all ios users so I guess MS is tired of being at the kiddie table.
Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:
Post Reply