Vista SP1-RC available .

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
Post Reply
User avatar
stereo55
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:06 pm
Location: Menifee , Calif

Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by stereo55 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:12 am

As of March 18/08 , Vista SP1 RC is available . May also be found in your Vista auto update .


x86: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en

x64 : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
* i7 5930K @ 4GHz 1.085v - Corsair H100i GTX - Asrock x99 OC Formula 3.1
* Sandisk Extreme Pro 480gb - HGST NAS 3TB - 2x WD Blue 1TB - 32gig Crucial 2133 - EVGA 980 Ti Classified - Corsair 780T/Seasonic 760 Platinum
* LG 34" Ultra Wide - Hanns-G HZ281HPB 27.5" - LG WH16NS40 Blu Burner - SoundBlaster Z - Klipsch 4.1's/Altec center channel
* Windows 8.1 Pro/Windows 10
* Retired game rig i7 920 @ 3.9 - EVGA x58 - still going strong!

Heatware

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:47 pm

OH BOY!

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by DMB2000uk » Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:58 pm

Someone sounds excited :P

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Alathald
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1630
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Southern Ohio
Contact:

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by Alathald » Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:00 pm

I'm giving it a try, not too much difference so far...
Image

User avatar
stereo55
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:06 pm
Location: Menifee , Calif

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by stereo55 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:10 pm

Well since my install yesterday , Ive had no problems . The only thing Ive noticed since Ive installed is that web pages and surfing is defintly faster , and with memory usage in Vista x64 having gone down by about 200mb ; besides those two things everything seems the same ( with maybe everything being abit "snappier" in general) .
* i7 5930K @ 4GHz 1.085v - Corsair H100i GTX - Asrock x99 OC Formula 3.1
* Sandisk Extreme Pro 480gb - HGST NAS 3TB - 2x WD Blue 1TB - 32gig Crucial 2133 - EVGA 980 Ti Classified - Corsair 780T/Seasonic 760 Platinum
* LG 34" Ultra Wide - Hanns-G HZ281HPB 27.5" - LG WH16NS40 Blu Burner - SoundBlaster Z - Klipsch 4.1's/Altec center channel
* Windows 8.1 Pro/Windows 10
* Retired game rig i7 920 @ 3.9 - EVGA x58 - still going strong!

Heatware

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:52 pm

stereo55 wrote:memory usage in Vista x64 having gone down by about 200mb
Really??

User avatar
Zertz
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:19 pm
Location: Magog, Quebec

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by Zertz » Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:33 pm

Just installed SP1 through Windows Update, didn't notice anything new yet :roll:

Vista X64-SP1 uses under 1GB but I never really noticed how much it used before.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:43 am

Highlights of Windows Vista SP1

Compatibility Improvements - Expanded driver database on Windows Update; improved battery life for notebooks
Performance Improvements - Local and Network file copy operations have been retooled; better time estimation and faster time to completion for long transfers
Kernel Tweaks - Vista now shares same kernel version as Server 2008; Kernel Patch Protection modified in x64 version
Miscellaneous - Expanded BitLocker support; WGA (Windows Genuine Advantage) anti-piracy less draconian

No Big Performance tweaks... Wish they would improve performance more than they did with SP1

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by Darkstar » Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:54 am

the only thing i noticed was that my system was rebooted in the morning and when i signed on i got the " windows has recovered from a serious error" dialog box
](*,)
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
dkarko
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:32 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by dkarko » Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:24 pm

Well since now SP1 is official, and since finally i have some free time i gave it a shot.
In fact i thought why not go for the x64 version. Well i was amazed, really.
I installed from an sp1 dvd. The system was very fast. It felt more responsive than vista 32bit (with no sp1).
I would stick with it, i really loved it, but i ran into driver problems :(. My webcam doesnt work,its not supported on 32b either but there you could load the xp driver.. but now there is no 64bit at all, not even for xp, cursed logitech). There aren't any drivers for my joystick either, but i guess it could work as a generic flight yoke. So apart from these 2 everything else works flawlessly.
"Παν ΜέτÏ

User avatar
stev
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:29 am
Location: Nashville, TN suburbs
Contact:

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by stev » Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:28 pm

Apoptosis wrote:Highlights of Windows Vista SP1

Compatibility Improvements - Expanded driver database on Windows Update; improved battery life for notebooks
That's one item I'll need.

I'm not all that thrilled with VISTA. :? I'm stuck with i until the lappy warranty runs out in September. Then It's XP all the way or UBUNTU.
AMD X2 TK-57 1.90Ghz | F700 Quanta | PC2-5300 DDR2 2Gb | GeForce 7000M | DVDRAM GSA-T40N | HP LaserJet 1018
My Stats http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ ... =&u=303718
Image
http://www.eff.org - Electronic Frontier Foundation - working to protect your digital rights

User avatar
stev
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1507
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:29 am
Location: Nashville, TN suburbs
Contact:

Re: Vista SP1-RC available .

Post by stev » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:22 pm

stereo55 wrote:... and with memory usage in Vista x64 having gone down by about 200mb.


Well, nothing much of a gain for memory with VISTA x32. In fact, just the opposite, memory use went up by 80Mb. :x I'm glad to have added the Corsair 1Gb extra RAM this past week! :)
AMD X2 TK-57 1.90Ghz | F700 Quanta | PC2-5300 DDR2 2Gb | GeForce 7000M | DVDRAM GSA-T40N | HP LaserJet 1018
My Stats http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ ... =&u=303718
Image
http://www.eff.org - Electronic Frontier Foundation - working to protect your digital rights

Post Reply