Problems installing vista SP2

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
Post Reply
User avatar
ratNukit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:38 am
Location: Hamburg - Germany

Problems installing vista SP2

Post by ratNukit » Thu May 28, 2009 1:17 pm

Hey guys,

this new service pack just doesn't seem to want to be on my pc.
I've got Vista Buisness x64 SP1 installed right now.

I downloaded the SP2 from the microsoft site ( 577 megs). Tried to install and got my first error message, after a day of searching the net I resolved that one, just to be replaced by a new one and I can't seem to get that one to go away :( .

The Error message is:

ERROR_SXS_COMPONENT_STORE_CORRUPT(0x80073712)

Any of you have an idea how to resolve this?
:)
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Problems installing vista SP2

Post by Apoptosis » Thu May 28, 2009 3:05 pm

I'd download SP2 again... might be corrupt.
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
ratNukit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:38 am
Location: Hamburg - Germany

Re: Problems installing vista SP2

Post by ratNukit » Thu May 28, 2009 4:30 pm

Downloaded it again from a different mirror, still same error :(
Image

User avatar
bmaverick
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: Problems installing vista SP2

Post by bmaverick » Thu May 28, 2009 10:33 pm

After following Nate's link and downloading on a T1 line, it gets half way and hangs. Not sure what the dog gone issue is with da thing.
My heatware!

Support Your Local Sheriff - At high noon

Jason: "How much does it pay?"
Citizen: "Well, none of our other sheriffs ever lived long enough to find out."

glassmaster
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 5:52 pm

Re: Problems installing vista SP2

Post by glassmaster » Fri May 29, 2009 6:06 pm

I had the same problem. I have 64-bit Vista home premium and the download from Windows update stalled at 90%. Then my laptop crashed, couldn't close any windows or shutdown normally. Forced a shutdown with the power button, booted back into the desktop, clicked Windows Update and my laptop froze up again. Again forced a shutdown, rebooted to desktop, tried clicking Update again and this time SP2 installed successfully.

But, before the installation started the download indicator still read 90%. Go figure. I guess the thing to do is keep trying.

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Problems installing vista SP2

Post by DMB2000uk » Sat May 30, 2009 5:33 pm

Well I was gonna say that I had no problems installing SP2, it just downloaded fine from within the windows update thing and seemed to install pretty quick.

But then I just checked the my computer properties page, and it's still only showing as SP1, and it isn't listed in the recommended updates any more. :-k

Dan

Edit: I installed an IE8 hotfix and it's back again.
Image (<- Clickable)

Post Reply