Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
Post Reply
Sovereign
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:28 pm

Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by Sovereign » Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:24 pm

So, *ahem,* what options do I have for doing so? The COA sticker on the bottom of the laptop is intact and readable. Would an "OEM" Windows XP disk do it?
Play
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz :: 8GB DDR2-800 :: eVGA 9800GX2 :: 7900GTX (secondary) :: abit IP35 Pro :: 150GB Raptor 10k RPM :: 2x750GB WD Caviar :: 120GB WD :: X-Fi XtremeMusic :: NEC 4551A :: BenQ DVD Combodrive (52x32x52) :: Dual 22" Acer AL2216W :: Thermaltake Armor Black :: Logitech Z5500 5.1

Work
Core 2 Duo @ 2.53GHz :: 4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz :: 3670 :: Intel PM45 Chipset :: 500GB 5400RPM SATA :: Integrated Audio :: BD-ROM/DVD Burner :: 16" 1920x1080 RGBLED

User avatar
InspectahACE
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:25 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by InspectahACE » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:14 pm

it don't see why not. I used an OEM version on my mother's old Compaq. But then again, you never know with Dell
i7 3930K @ 3.8 Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | Asus GTX TITAN SLI | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z DDR3-1866 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Force GT 90 GB SSD | 2x Corsair Force GT 240 GB SSD | 450GB VelociRaptor | Sound Blaster Z | Corsair AX1200i PSU | Logitech G502 | Logitech G810| CM HAF-932 Black Edition | BenQ Zowie XL2730 27" monitor | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by hercules71185 » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:30 pm

no just do yourself a HUGE FAVOR.
Download the drivers for Ethernet and wireless however you connect to the internet. I know dell's website is a little messed up, but you can get the drivers from them still. as long you have that you can download the rest of the drivers when you put your computer back into windows. If you forget that driver it becomes a pain in the backside.

Sovereign
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:28 pm

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by Sovereign » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:58 pm

hercules71185 wrote:no just do yourself a HUGE FAVOR.
Download the drivers for Ethernet and wireless however you connect to the internet. I know dell's website is a little messed up, but you can get the drivers from them still. as long you have that you can download the rest of the drivers when you put your computer back into windows. If you forget that driver it becomes a pain in the backside.
Thanks for the advice, but I'm wondering, basically, what kinds of disks I would need to *obtain* to ensure that the legitimate product key on the bottom of this Dell will take on the disk I'm using. I already know to have drivers or another computer w/USB drive ready.
Play
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz :: 8GB DDR2-800 :: eVGA 9800GX2 :: 7900GTX (secondary) :: abit IP35 Pro :: 150GB Raptor 10k RPM :: 2x750GB WD Caviar :: 120GB WD :: X-Fi XtremeMusic :: NEC 4551A :: BenQ DVD Combodrive (52x32x52) :: Dual 22" Acer AL2216W :: Thermaltake Armor Black :: Logitech Z5500 5.1

Work
Core 2 Duo @ 2.53GHz :: 4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz :: 3670 :: Intel PM45 Chipset :: 500GB 5400RPM SATA :: Integrated Audio :: BD-ROM/DVD Burner :: 16" 1920x1080 RGBLED

User avatar
Sporg
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:22 am
Location: Kansas City Area
Contact:

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by Sporg » Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:32 am

I would think that you could use any enterprise load disc and then just change the product key post installation. I've done that on quite a few systems that I've fixed for folks.
I would never die for my beliefs because I might be wrong.
~Bertrand Russell

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by bubba » Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:46 am

PM me you snail mail addy. I have a stack of Dell OEM XPSP3 disks at work. I mail you one.
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by hercules71185 » Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:29 am

Just make sure you aquire the proper Windows.
For example, if you have Windows Home, or Windows Media Center you have to use the exact type of Windows you have in order for the key to work.

User avatar
Sporg
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:22 am
Location: Kansas City Area
Contact:

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by Sporg » Sat Sep 12, 2009 3:41 pm

hercules71185 wrote:Just make sure you aquire the proper Windows.
For example, if you have Windows Home, or Windows Media Center you have to use the exact type of Windows you have in order for the key to work.
Ooops, yeah. I left out that bit of important info. :mrgreen:
I would never die for my beliefs because I might be wrong.
~Bertrand Russell

Sovereign
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:28 pm

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by Sovereign » Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:59 am

The person ended up going for Windows 7... :mrgreen:

Makes my support easier. Getting rid of XP, one computer at a time!
Play
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz :: 8GB DDR2-800 :: eVGA 9800GX2 :: 7900GTX (secondary) :: abit IP35 Pro :: 150GB Raptor 10k RPM :: 2x750GB WD Caviar :: 120GB WD :: X-Fi XtremeMusic :: NEC 4551A :: BenQ DVD Combodrive (52x32x52) :: Dual 22" Acer AL2216W :: Thermaltake Armor Black :: Logitech Z5500 5.1

Work
Core 2 Duo @ 2.53GHz :: 4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz :: 3670 :: Intel PM45 Chipset :: 500GB 5400RPM SATA :: Integrated Audio :: BD-ROM/DVD Burner :: 16" 1920x1080 RGBLED

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by hercules71185 » Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:05 am

Sovereign wrote:The person ended up going for Windows 7... :mrgreen:

Makes my support easier. Getting rid of XP, one computer at a time!
haha only if they just made Windows 7 64 bit ONLY it would speed the evolution of that.

Sovereign
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:28 pm

Re: Need to Format Dell, do not have Dell OS disk

Post by Sovereign » Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:09 pm

hercules71185 wrote:haha only if they just made Windows 7 64 bit ONLY it would speed the evolution of that.
Windows Server 2008 R2 is finally following through on the threat--it's x64 only.
Play
Q6600 @ 3.2GHz :: 8GB DDR2-800 :: eVGA 9800GX2 :: 7900GTX (secondary) :: abit IP35 Pro :: 150GB Raptor 10k RPM :: 2x750GB WD Caviar :: 120GB WD :: X-Fi XtremeMusic :: NEC 4551A :: BenQ DVD Combodrive (52x32x52) :: Dual 22" Acer AL2216W :: Thermaltake Armor Black :: Logitech Z5500 5.1

Work
Core 2 Duo @ 2.53GHz :: 4GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz :: 3670 :: Intel PM45 Chipset :: 500GB 5400RPM SATA :: Integrated Audio :: BD-ROM/DVD Burner :: 16" 1920x1080 RGBLED

Post Reply