WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
Post Reply
User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by sbohdan » Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:32 am

I wanted to install win7 64bit on my old rig (D830 CPU, MSI P4N Diamond MOBO, 250GB MAXTOR IDE HDD, GS8800 Vid) but I can't. It allways does the same: veeeery slow during instalation and after couple of hours gives me an error. I also tried vista 64bit. Is it because of the old hardware not supporting 64bit? I wanted the 64bit, so it can use the whole 4GB of RAM Ihave. XP32 bit intalls with no problem but it only has directX 9.0c instead of 10 and it can only see 3.25GB of the 4GB of RAM. any advice?
here is the error:

Image
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4715
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by bubba » Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:46 am

According to MSI's site the board does 64bit, but the error you are getting looks like a hardware/64bit issue. Have you tried updating the BIOS?
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not."
-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by sbohdan » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:56 am

I have the latest 1.5 bios - unfortunately it's from 2006. stupid MSI dropped the support after that (same goes for the drivers).
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
dgood
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by dgood » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:30 am

I'm not sure on this but wasn't the 64bit on the P4's/PD's different than that of the AMD64 and later 64 processors? the X64 vs IA64 or something? I think the older 64 on the Pentium isn't compatible.
Image

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by sbohdan » Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:51 pm

SO, CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT MY OPTIONS ARE?
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by skier » Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:43 pm

try installing 32bit?
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by Darkstar » Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:58 pm

sbohdan wrote:SO, CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT MY OPTIONS ARE?

is this an upgrade or a clean install?

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by sbohdan » Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:13 pm

it's a clean install and I see no option installing the 32bit version. in that case I would get directx10 ...
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
dgood
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by dgood » Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:30 pm

Windows 7 RTM or RC disk use it then use your disk to upgrade from it can you try that?
Image

User avatar
hnzw_rui
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:42 am

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by hnzw_rui » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:29 pm

dgood wrote:Windows 7 RTM or RC disk use it then use your disk to upgrade from it can you try that?
You can't do an in-place upgrade from Windows 32-bit to 64-bit.

@sbohdan
Assuming you have a legit Windows 7 key, just download the 32-bit equivalent of your installation disc from torrent sites. I don't think Microsoft cares if you share the installation discs to the world. It's the product keys that are important. In fact, they usually let you use Windows for 30 days without needing a product key (probably their version of a trial).
File Server/Media Encoder/PVR PC
Antec P182 / Corsair 550VX / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R / Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 / Wintec AMPX 2x2GB DDR2 800 / Sapphire 100233L Radeon HD 3450 / WD Caviar SE16 750GB x3 / WD Caviar GP 750GB / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7190A x2 / XP Pro SP2

unRAID Server
Antec 300 / Corsair 520HX / Abit AB9 Pro / Celeron 430 @ 1.80 / Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB DDR2 667 / ATI Rage XL / Seagate 7200.11 1.5TB x9 / unRAID 4.3.3

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by sbohdan » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:48 am

SEEMS LIKE I was able to install vista64. took about 4 hours to do :(
checking it out...
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by Darkstar » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:41 am

well if you have a working OS on there now, run the windows 7 upgrade advisor to see if your system will physically be able to run windows 7.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

i was asking if the disks were upgrade disks because like hnzw_rui said you cannot upgrade a 32 bit to 64 bit in place. So if for example you have 64 bit windows 7 upgrade disks then you must have a 64 bit OS existing to upgrade.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by sbohdan » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:51 pm

thanks guys for trying but it just won't work. it seems like a 64bit issue. it was lagging and just a nuissance, so I just put xp pro 32 bit on and now the old rig is flying. thanks anyway...
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:12 pm

yeah I am late to this thread, but don't think you'll have the drivers available to you for 64-bit use on that board... But you figured that out... ;)
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
sbohdan
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: WINDOWS7 lnstallation problem

Post by sbohdan » Sat Dec 05, 2009 4:54 am

Apoptosis wrote:yeah I am late to this thread, but don't think you'll have the drivers available to you for 64-bit use on that board... But you figured that out... ;)
yeah, what's really pissing me off that it used to be a top of the line MOBO from MSI, they even offered a diamond membership (whatever that is). they only had support for about 2 years and no update since. thank you MSI. just learned the hard way to choose a gigabyte or Intel board - they are best for stability and OC as well :P
Main rig: NZXT Phantom modded case with Danger Den WC, MSI Tomahawk B350, Ryzen 1700X @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR4 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36, MSI GTX 1060 3GT OC, Asus 24" 1ms 144hz, Intel P7600 256Gb nvme PCiE, Samsung 2TB; PC P&C 750W, Win10 Pro 64
Laptop: Dell XPS 1530 (T9500; 4GB 800 RAM; 120GB Crucial SSD; 8600GT; WIN10 pro 64bit)
my complete GFX tuneup & cooling mod: http://forums.legitreviews.com/viewtopi ... highlight=

Post Reply