Win 7 Tweak Apps

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Win 7 Tweak Apps

Post by Major_A » Sat May 08, 2010 7:55 am

I ran across this tweak utility on MajorGeeks, TweakMe!. I went to the author's website and discovered there are quite a few things on this guy's site.

TweakMe! - very similar tot XP Antispy that I'm sure some of you are familiar with. I ran the TweakMe! application on my Windows 7 virtual machine and it worked without corrupting the install.

Unlocks all editions on a Win 7 DVD.

Office 2010 Trail Extender - rearm the trial days back to 30 days up to 5 times.

User avatar
smack323
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: Win 7 Tweak Apps

Post by smack323 » Sat May 08, 2010 2:10 pm

I am assuming that even if you unlock a edition of Windows 7 you would still need the correct key to go with it?
Core i5-6500 - Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4 2133 - Asus GTX 1070 DUAL 8GB - Antec 750W - Crucial 525GB SSD - Windows 10 64bit - ASUS 27" LED

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Win 7 Tweak Apps

Post by Major_A » Sat May 08, 2010 2:13 pm

Yes, but there is an advantage there. Say you already bought XP Home Premium x64. Someone gives you or you buy cheaply a version of Ultimate x86. You have the ability to select the x64 version of Ultimate and install it using the x86 serial. Did this a few times with my Vista Home Premium x64 disc when I went to install the Vista Ultimate x86 that was given to me.

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Win 7 Tweak Apps

Post by pwcmed » Sat May 08, 2010 6:27 pm

I used this guide to combine all editions to include x64.

http://www.windowsvalley.com/blog/creat ... ingle-dvd/

User avatar
Major_A
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 3793
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Win 7 Tweak Apps

Post by Major_A » Sun May 09, 2010 12:08 pm

The guide you posted states that it only needs a DVD5 disc (4.7GB). However, I just did the tweak above to my copy of Professional x64 and it looks like the image takes up roughly 3.75GB. When you did this can you confirm it works with just one DVD5? I'm asking because I don't have any dual layer discs and if I don't need to buy one then I won't.

User avatar
pwcmed
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:03 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Win 7 Tweak Apps

Post by pwcmed » Sun May 09, 2010 10:03 pm

I didn't add the enterprise version because I really have no need for that. My final ISO excluding the enterprise version was 3.8 gigs. I noticed that when I added the starter and basic version it didn't increase the image by much.

Post Reply