It's official: Pirates crack Windows Vista at last

Operating Systems
Windows, Linux, Solaris, Red Hat, etc.....32 bit or 64 bit.
If its an OS, its here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

It's official: Pirates crack Windows Vista at last

Post by Apoptosis » Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:02 am

A genuine crack for Windows Vista has just been released by pirate group Pantheon, which allows a pirated, non-activated installation of Vista (Home Basic/Premium and Ultimate) to be properly activated and made fully-operational.

Image

As always Legit Reviews does not condone or encourage piracy in any way on LegitReviews.com -- and that includes linking to material that facilitates it. So please talk about the impact and the legitimacy of it and not links on using it ;) This forum is for talking about anything we want and this is obviously something that will be and needs to be talked about.

Article Source: APCMAG

User avatar
jtm55
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:01 pm
Location: Long Island NY

Post by jtm55 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:20 am

Hi All,

I guess that shouldn't be a surprise to anyone. I wonder what if any impact it'll have on the consumer market. In addition what do you think Microsoft's response will be?

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4715
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Post by bubba » Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:27 am

wonder how long it will take MS to find the hole the took advantage of and fill it.

also I don't think there will be a mass move to do an upgrade either, I dont think most folks wallets can handle the hardware upgrade, but most hardware nuts either all ready have it or waiting for something to come out to make it worth the jump.

NAiLs
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 871
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 12:46 am
Location: WI
Contact:

Post by NAiLs » Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:55 pm

bubba wrote:wonder how long it will take MS to find the hole the took advantage of and fill it.

also I don't think there will be a mass move to do an upgrade either, I dont think most folks wallets can handle the hardware upgrade, but most hardware nuts either all ready have it or waiting for something to come out to make it worth the jump.
If I'm not mistaken, it works by using an OEM copy of Vista. The OEM copies that are given to vendors to package with their PC's. Those copies do not need to be activated because it is "an inconvenience" to the consumer... :roll: I can say that I OWN a copy of Windows XP Professional that does NOT need to be activated also... which is odd.

It was only a matter of time before it was cracked. Unfortunately for M$, it was a very short period. Now with HD-DVD/Blu-Ray encryption, those guys got more for their money as it took a bit longer to crack! :P
"Bow down before the one you serve! You're going to get what you deserve!" - |\| | |/|

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:22 pm

NAiLs wrote:It was only a matter of time before it was cracked.
and cracked wide open it is... The first of many I am sure... I wonder what Microsoft will do now that this is in the open. I'm guessing the first patch will block the product keys that are being used by this hack as wouldn't every OEM system sold still have unique product keys?

moon111
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:33 pm

Post by moon111 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:53 pm

ASUS (default) ... I knew there was a reason I chose this brand!

User avatar
KnightRid
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4024
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Dallastown, PA

Post by KnightRid » Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:44 am

I imagine they will block this quick.

I do however have 1 good use for something like this. Intel is shipping tose Ultimate Vista dvds to the retail advantage people sometim within the next 50 years, and you can only install either the 32 or the 64 bit OS. Once you install one, you can NOT install the other at a later date! now to me that is just assanine ( spelling looks way off on that one ) as I want to test out the 64 bit version for a while, but then would probably go back to 32 bit until they get more programs to work with 64 bit.

Mike

BTW - hasnt 64 bit processing been out a while now? So why so many programs that dont use it? or crash when using it? hmmm
Cigar Blog I review for - http://www.stogiereview.com

Remember, I am opinionated and nothing I say or do reflects on anyone or anything else but me :finga:

User avatar
bubba
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 4715
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 10:24 am
Location: STL

Post by bubba » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:02 am

KnightRid wrote:now to me that is just assanine ( spelling looks way off on that one )
asinine :finga: LOL gotta love the auto spell checker in FF 2.0

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Post by FZ1 » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:39 am

This has now come out as a hoax.
Joe

User avatar
DMB2000uk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7095
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: UK

Post by DMB2000uk » Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:51 am

one of the comments the original article to a similar post to yours was this:
You're confusing this with the Brute Force Keygen, which "Computer User" has now admitted was a hoax. This is a different crack.
That what you were thinking of?

Dan
Image (<- Clickable)

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:32 am

FZ1 wrote:This has now come out as a hoax.
what is a hoax? This OEM crack? This crack is real as can be...

The brute force crack was said to be a hoax or would take months.

User avatar
FZ1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 6:49 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Contact:

Post by FZ1 » Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:15 am

Sorry, the brute force crack...
Joe

cyberneticimplant
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:00 pm

Post by cyberneticimplant » Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:53 pm

moon111 wrote:ASUS (default) ... I knew there was a reason I chose this brand!
I'm sure its because its the most popular brand... ;)

User avatar
The Black Pumpkin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:45 pm
Location: Lake City, Florida

Post by The Black Pumpkin » Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:00 pm

I guess I don't know much about Vista, but what the h3ll is with the bios emulation? Is that some new "feature?" :roll:
AMD Opteron 1224SE "Santa Ana" = DFI Lanparty UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G
Crucial Ballistix 4x1GB DDR2 800 = Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Sapphire 4870 1GB = Sceptre X20WG-Naga 20" = Logitech X-530 5.1
Seagate 320GB (SATA II) x2 = Samsung SH-S203B (SATA)

User avatar
wildlaser
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:20 pm

Post by wildlaser » Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:11 am

Sweet! Too bad I dont like Vista, but it's still nice to know about, microsoft makes you feel like a crook, all their security, put THE MASSES through all these hoops, for the FEW who pirate.

Post Reply