Single VS. Dual core

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by Merlin » Sun Dec 23, 2007 7:52 pm

cool thanks Dan.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by Merlin » Wed Jan 02, 2008 9:08 pm

New CPU came in today and I have it in right now. Plug it in and off it goes...thanks for the help. Any ideas on Tweaks that may help maximize its usefullness?? So far it seems to be quite a bit faster even thought I havnt pushed both cores yet. Is there a way to "manage" what each core is "responsible" for?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by hercules71185 » Wed Jan 02, 2008 10:49 pm

I deleted the post it pertained to the wrong cpu and I have no knowledge of the socket 939

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by Methious » Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:24 am

Hey Merlin, download the dual core optimizer, and the Amd processor driver. Those are really the only two updates you need for cpu optimization. The dual core optimizer handles the smooth balancing of load between cores (especially for games). I don't know of any way to allocate core load manually.
Image

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by Merlin » Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:23 pm

I can move this to another thread if need be.... I installed the optomizer NP but when I tried the driver I got this message " the application failed to properly install the driver. Installation will abort" I clicked OK and got this message...." application failed to uninstall the driver. Uninstall will continue but the driver will still be installed." I clicked ok and got this same message again clicked OK and it went away. Any ideas I dont know IF the driver installed or not..I doewloaded it twice with same results both times.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by kenc51 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:30 pm

Merlin wrote:I can move this to another thread if need be.... I installed the optomizer NP but when I tried the driver I got this message " the application failed to properly install the driver. Installation will abort" I clicked OK and got this message...." application failed to uninstall the driver. Uninstall will continue but the driver will still be installed." I clicked ok and got this same message again clicked OK and it went away. Any ideas I dont know IF the driver installed or not..I doewloaded it twice with same results both times.
Install the CPU driver first
http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content ... /setup.zip

Reboot

Then install the Dual-Core Optimizer
http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content ... /Setup.exe

and reboot again. Then install all windows updates.
It might be a good idea to make sure you have the latest nForce drivers installed too!
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_nf4_win2k_6.86.html

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by Merlin » Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:37 pm

Tried uninstalling the Optimizer and started over following your order and I still got the same error I mentioned above.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by kenc51 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:54 pm

Merlin wrote:Tried uninstalling the Optimizer and started over following your order and I still got the same error I mentioned above.
Did you install the latest nForce chipset drivers?

Another issue could be with windows having the wrong CPU driver installed by default.

In task manager, does it show two CPU's or just one?

If just one, then you need to install a windows driver for multiprocessor support first.

R-Click "My Computer" and goto "Manage"... Then click on "Device Manager"

Listed under either CPU or computer it should list your system as "multi processor" or something. (I'm currently running Linux so can't check what it's called at the moment)
If it's listed as "Uni-processor" then double click it and goto the "Driver" tab. Select "Update Driver" and install the driver listed for "multiprocessor" and reboot.
You should then be able to install the AMD drivers

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by Merlin » Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:05 pm

I re-installed the chipset drivers and following that was able to install the drivers and the optimizer. In the device manager it says ACPI multiprocessor PC under the computer tab. Does that mean I am now good to go? Is there a way to log or record processor activity so I can look later and see if both are ever used ?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by kenc51 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:33 pm

Merlin wrote:I re-installed the chipset drivers and following that was able to install the drivers and the optimizer. In the device manager it says ACPI multiprocessor PC under the computer tab. Does that mean I am now good to go? Is there a way to log or record processor activity so I can look later and see if both are ever used ?
It's setup correctly now!

You can let windows log the CPU usage.
R-Click My Computer and goto manage again. Select "Performance Logs and alerts"
You can create a custom log here to track CPU usage........just remember to disable it when done, as polling CPU usage will lower performance a tad

Another easy option is check device manager, but you can't do this when gaming.

OwnageDC650
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:23 pm

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by OwnageDC650 » Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:27 pm

I went from a single core Opty running @ 2.85 Ghz to a X2 3800+ running @ 2.72 Ghz and I noticed a pretty nice speed boost in XP and Vista.

User avatar
pistyll
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:46 am
Location: Rochdale United Kingdom

Re: Single VS. Dual core

Post by pistyll » Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:41 am

hope you go well with your dual core but beware there are many benifits associated with dual core but there are a few pitfalls *see 4800+ shutdown problems) my personal opinion is if going dual core make sure you have latest bios update for mobo get dual core optimiser and ms hotfix or if you dont want any faffing about and just want to plug and play go core2duo!!!
C2Q Q6600 @ 3.60Ghz
temps 36 idle 62 load
vcore 1.3375v bios 1.312v cpuz
Asus P5-KC-P35
pny8800gt 256meg Freezer7 pro
Etasis ET750w Quad Rail
4x1gig pc8500 [email protected] 5-5-5-15 2t 2.1v
200Gig maxtor Sata
Aspire X-Infinity case
XP Pro SP3

Post Reply