OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
tw1st3d
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:17 am

OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by tw1st3d » Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:17 pm

Hi

I'm brand new, but i chose to write here, since yours Overclocking the x2 4200+ review inspired me.

So i have been tried to OC my AM2 x2 4200+ Windsor ADA4200IAA5CU - same CPU as you used.

My motherboard is an Asus Crosshair

Ram is OCZ platium Rev. 2 PC 6400 - Previous owner said they run with pretty low timings on

Cooling is WaterCooling @ XSPC extreme cpu, 2 x Black Ice Pro 120 mm and XSPC XSO 400 pump.

Temperatures is around 25c idle and 35 - 40c load.

So here is the thing..

I put my ram on lowest divider @ DDR400
HTT x 4
Multipliere x 11
FSB @ 250 mhz
PCI-e @ 101 mhz
CPU volt @ 1.4
Ram volt @ 2.0

But when i test with orthos i get both error after a 1 minute or so, both with the ram and cpu...

What am I doing wrong, or its just my CPU there suck at OC'ing..

- Tw1st3d

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by hercules71185 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:59 pm

what is your HT
And what type of ram ddr2 800?

User avatar
kenc51
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 5167
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Contact:

Re: OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by kenc51 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:19 pm

Try increasing the CPU voltage a tad...if this doesn't help, move onto the memory voltage and then onto the other voltages.

Welcome btw

tw1st3d
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:17 am

Re: OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by tw1st3d » Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:36 pm

hercules71185 wrote:what is your HT
And what type of ram ddr2 800?
What do you mean by HT..

And by type ram.. Alle i can tell about my is that they are 4-4-4-4-15 and got life garanty on 2.1 volt.
kenc51 wrote:Try increasing the CPU voltage a tad...if this doesn't help, move onto the memory voltage and then onto the other voltages.

Welcome btw
A bit after i made this post, i knocked my volt up to 1.45 volt and the CPU turned out stabel for more than 10 mins (i'm lazy, but i know you have to test atleast 6 hours when you found the point you wanna stay)

But my ram which is running 5-5-5-15 @ 250 mhz and 2.0 volt made my comp. shut down under orthos..

Can it be my PSU - Its a cheapscale LC power 520 watt - Been running all my systems.. From Athlon XP to C2D and now x2

And thanks :)

User avatar
The Black Pumpkin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:45 pm
Location: Lake City, Florida

Re: OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by The Black Pumpkin » Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:55 am

HT is what has replaced the fsb on modern AMD systems. That's why you have an ht multiplier. So in your first post, what you list as your fsb speed is actually your ht speed.
AMD Opteron 1224SE "Santa Ana" = DFI Lanparty UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G
Crucial Ballistix 4x1GB DDR2 800 = Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Sapphire 4870 1GB = Sceptre X20WG-Naga 20" = Logitech X-530 5.1
Seagate 320GB (SATA II) x2 = Samsung SH-S203B (SATA)

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by hercules71185 » Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:04 am

all it is is a replacement?
my fsb is 280 and my ht is 845. I can up it to over 1100 if it makes a difference but, I think its bad for the cpu right? and not a difference after a 800

User avatar
The Black Pumpkin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:45 pm
Location: Lake City, Florida

Re: OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by The Black Pumpkin » Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:32 pm

Yeah, HT is a replacement for fsb, fsb is totally gone. So it's your HT that is 280, and multiply that by your HT multiplier to get your bus speed, in your case 280x4. The bus speed has a default of 200x5, or 1000, and it doesn't hurt your hardware to go over 1000, but it can hurt stability. It's best to keep it under 1000 for that reason.
AMD Opteron 1224SE "Santa Ana" = DFI Lanparty UT NF590 SLI-M2R/G
Crucial Ballistix 4x1GB DDR2 800 = Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Sapphire 4870 1GB = Sceptre X20WG-Naga 20" = Logitech X-530 5.1
Seagate 320GB (SATA II) x2 = Samsung SH-S203B (SATA)

Reunion island
Legit Little One
Legit Little One
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:02 am

Re: OC'ing x2 4200+ = Weird Problems

Post by Reunion island » Fri May 09, 2008 2:03 am


Post Reply