black edition ?

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

black edition ?

Post by Merlin » Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:50 pm

I know the multi is unlocked on black edition CPUs but are there any other significant differences? Will a x2 5000 Brisbane black edition stay cool with an X2 3600s retail cooler provided I don't overclock untill I can buy an aftermarket cooler?? The Brisbane 5000 retail is priced at 99 as is the black edition and all I have in terms of cooling is the cooler that came with the retail version X2 3600 I am running now. also will a cooler from a socket 939 even work on a socket AM2?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
ViPeR.Ja
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:03 pm
Location: Eden Prairie, MN

Re: black edition ?

Post by ViPeR.Ja » Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:13 am

it should be good, but if do overclock which is most ppl buy a black edition cpu then u would need a aftermarket cooler
Dell Sucks.... In my opinion anyways
New Rig
AMD Phenom II 955 at 3.2ghz
DFI 790
4GB OCZ 1066mhz
MSI 280 GTX
650Watts Antec Truepower Trio

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: black edition ?

Post by Methious » Sat Mar 08, 2008 8:56 am

Yea you'll be golden if you don't OC until you go after market. Lot of the guys with the 5000BE are using the Zalman 9700led, or the Thermalright 120 Ultra and hitting 3.1-3.2 under air with them.
Image

summerisle
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: black edition ?

Post by summerisle » Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:12 am

i've got a 5000+BE running at 15.5x200 with a Zalman 9500 - it works great at 3100MHz, at any rate. My mobo doesn't allow me to adjust the voltages for the cpu or ram, and i can't get the processor to run reliably above 15.5x200 at 1.3v, but it doesn't seem to overheat - it just doesn't want to clock up any higher.
I don't generally go in much for overclocking to the nth degree, but this little 5000+ has me thinking about it. I'm curious how far it'd go with a more OC-friendly setup, like Methious' setup.
Athlon 64 x2 5000+ BE @ 3100MHz
Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
2x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15)

User avatar
doghucat
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:23 pm
Location: Jermyn,Pa
Contact:

Re: black edition ?

Post by doghucat » Mon Mar 17, 2008 4:20 pm

I have the 5000+ Black running at 3.2 with a Zalman 9500 in a Centurian o5 case and it idles at about 27 - 28 hits about 47 under dual cpu load and the case temp runs about 26 c very nice chip but a little slow conpared to my P5K with E6750.
Sandman/Intel C2D E8400 @3.00GHZ/ P5Q Pro Turbo Mobo / Xigmatik-1283 / 2-HD5670 Video-Crossfire / 4 Gig Kingston Ram / Antec P-180B Case
Notebook HP dv9720US 17" Wide Screen

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: black edition ?

Post by ibleet » Mon Mar 17, 2008 4:43 pm

doghucat wrote:I have the 5000+ Black running at 3.2 with a Zalman 9500 in a Centurian o5 case and it idles at about 27 - 28 hits about 47 under dual cpu load and the case temp runs about 26 c very nice chip but a little slow conpared to my P5K with E6750.
Thats normal, as you can't expect an AMD chip to overclock like Intel...they just aren't made for it.

But thats actually a very nice OC for that 5000+ black. My 5200+ won't even get close to that at those temps.

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: black edition ?

Post by Merlin » Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:45 pm

OK so I got this and now I want to start with a very conservative OC without increasing voltage. Do I increase the multi right away or go for increasing FSB first? Also how far is a ok starting point and what is the best way to keep up with temps so I know how well the cooler is working ( it was a pain to get onto the cpu)?
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: black edition ?

Post by Methious » Sun Mar 23, 2008 1:14 pm

I use AMD Overdrive to keep track of the temps. You can use it or SpeedFan, or Core Temp their all pretty good.

I start with bumping the Multiplier, default bus speed is 200 on AMDs so to figure 2.6 your probably on a default multiplier of 13. I like to go for the gusto on the first round bump it to 15 for a nice boost to 3.0. If you get a post test with Othos or OCCT, usually OCCT will shake out an error quicker in the short run. Run it for a half hour to see if your marginally stable.

If your not stable then bump the Vcore a notch at a time until it stabilizes or your convinced it's not vcore. If after a couple of vcore bumps it's not stable, bump the vdimm (ram) voltage.

Each bump of voltage run OCCT to test for stability. If you have control of other voltages, most notably NB you might have to bump it once. Other voltages might have to be bumped also.

When you reach stable run Orthos for a number of hours to determine stability. Keep an eye on those temps. Below 50C is golden, depending on the chip some will run up to 70C, I would under no circumstances allow it to go above 55C for any period of time.

Once you hit 3.0 stable then you can go for max OC at 16X multiplier and go through the above steps again, or go for the Sweet spot and run the 15X multiplier and try for a FSB/HT OC from there. If you can get a Multiplier AND FSB/HT OC that's best. Start bumping the FSB by 5 at a time and test stability in between bumps until you hit unstable again. Then go for the voltages again.

If you can get to 3.0 on multiplier, then increase the FSB and hit a stable OC after that you get an increased CPU speed and more performance from your ram. That's the best OC IMHO. A lot of time on popular CPUs you can search Google and see the settings other people are running on the identical Mobo and start from there. Some times if you get really lucky it'll fit like a glove.

Oh yea if at any point you see smoke that's probably a bad thing :shock:
Image

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: black edition ?

Post by Merlin » Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:06 pm

Would Prime 95 be on par with Othos or OCCT as a stability test?? I upped the multi to 15 and ran prime 95 for 5.5 hours with no errors or warnings. That is with the retail heatsink/fan that came with my socket 939 x2 3600. Core temp listed a loaded temp of around 42 during the test and also 5 hours into it.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: black edition ?

Post by geokilla » Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:51 pm

Merlin wrote:Would Prime 95 be on par with Othos or OCCT as a stability test?? I upped the multi to 15 and ran prime 95 for 5.5 hours with no errors or warnings. That is with the retail heatsink/fan that came with my socket 939 x2 3600. Core temp listed a loaded temp of around 42 during the test and also 5 hours into it.
#1 Socket 939 doesn't have X2 3600. You must mean AM2 right? How can you change the multiplier if your X2 is a 3600+ anyways?

#2 Prime 95 is the same as Orthos. I'm not too sure on how to use Prime 95 though since I think there was a setting you had to check to make sure that Prime reports errors if there is one. I'm not sure about OCCT so I can't say anything about that.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: black edition ?

Post by ibleet » Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:23 pm

Merlin wrote:Would Prime 95 be on par with Othos or OCCT as a stability test?? I upped the multi to 15 and ran prime 95 for 5.5 hours with no errors or warnings. That is with the retail heatsink/fan that came with my socket 939 x2 3600. Core temp listed a loaded temp of around 42 during the test and also 5 hours into it.
Yes, imo, Prime95 is on par with Orthos and OCCT. Your OC would be deemed stable and your load temp of 42c is quite good for air cooling.

geokilla wrote:#1 Socket 939 doesn't have X2 3600. You must mean AM2 right? How can you change the multiplier if your X2 is a 3600+ anyways?
If you read the entire thread, you will see that he is using a 5000+ black (AM2), although he talked about using his old 3600+ stock cooler.

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: black edition ?

Post by Methious » Mon Mar 24, 2008 4:14 am

Yea Prime 95 is as good as any of them if not better, Grats on the OC!

Now I'd try and see how far I could go on the FSB/HT getting you a little more speed and increasing your Ram speed. I forgot earlier to tell you that you might have to lower Hyper Transport from 5 to 4 when OCing. It looks like your stable though.

Good job!
Image

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: black edition ?

Post by Merlin » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:14 am

The cooler came from my old socket 939 the OC is on the new 5000+ Black. I just looked at the stamp on the back of the CPU and yes the old one is an X2 3600+. I am going to run this as is for a few days ( play a little COD4 ) before I try to go further. I have not added voltage to anything yet and I would rather not just for the sake of heat.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: black edition ?

Post by Methious » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:17 pm

I don't generally bump Vcore more than once or twice for the same reason.
Image

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: black edition ?

Post by Merlin » Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:12 am

Core temp is not recording temp accurately. It is 68 'F which is 20' C right now in my house and Core temp tells me its at 18' C. I do have a 80mm fan mounted in the side panel that is blowing air from outside right onto the heatsink fan but that reading is still off by at least 5'C and probably more like 10'C. IF my idle temps were at 28'C that would still beat the readings given in all th reviews of coolers listed here on Legit with ambient temps of around 20'. Why are all these MOBO temp monitors soo far off?? I have never heard of one being right. With that said I really don't feel comfortable increasing Vcore at all since I have no real way of KNOWING what my core temp really is. Hell it could have been bumping 70'C under prime 95 and I would never know it.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: black edition ?

Post by Methious » Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:23 pm

I generally use Speed Fan or AMD OverDrive but over drive is for the 7XX series only. Core temp is known to have problems with Asus boards so I stay away from it. It can be a crap shoot monitoring. When In doubt I use a physical cpu temp monitor that attaches to the side of the CPU protector and trust that before I trust the software monitors.

That's a new Hybrid I believe so it might be a while before it's supported.
Image

Post Reply