will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
dprijadi
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:46 am

will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by dprijadi » Sat Mar 15, 2008 1:00 am

hi all

i got old AMD 3200 (socket 939) with ASUS A8n-SLI (deluxe) mobo (2gb DDR RAM, 160 SATA HDD, 1 Benq DVD RW, Geforce 7900GS) all run in stock speed.

im thinking of upgrading my rig to :

Phenom 9500 + AMD780g mobo (cheapest mobo) and 2gb DDR2 RAM

mostly i only play games like Hellgate London and WOW/LOTRO

will i see improvement if i upgrade ?

thanks

ps: no i wont go for Core2Duo system , AMD is sexier :)

User avatar
Methious
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Joplin Mo.

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by Methious » Sat Mar 15, 2008 3:11 am

You'll see an improvement, but unless your doing video encoding, or sound encoding you probably won't get much out of the 3rd and 4th core on the cpu. It's a hard decision going Quad for future proofing, or high end dual for gaming.

Which ever way you go you'll see a nice improvement over the 939.
Image

User avatar
dkarko
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:32 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by dkarko » Sat Mar 15, 2008 4:07 am

You will see an improvement. The fact that you have more than one cpu core makes the system in general much more responsive.
You know you could upgrade cheap with a used X2 4200 (939) (its performance is on par with intel's E4300 and E1260). It would be a very good and cost effective upgrade. Even if you want to upgrade to a completely new system keep the old one, i don't see anything wrong with it. Make it an HTPC or something
"Παν ΜέτÏ

User avatar
martini161
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome
Posts: 3185
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by martini161 » Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:03 am

You may think that amds are "sexier" but many dual core intels perform better than quadcore amds. put that in your pipe and smoke it 8) but yes, if you must go with amd (which you shouldn't) than you will see an improve ment

dprijadi
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:46 am

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by dprijadi » Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:58 pm

few days ago i was testing a friend's core2 duo 4300 ddr2 1gb (1.8ghz) with 3650 radeon and playing hellgate on it. it suprised me that the weather effect is more pronounced compared to my rig (amd3200 2.0 ghz, 2gb ddr, nv7900gs)..

i was wondering if even lower clocked cpu is faster than my old AMD3200.. will those cheap phenom with less than 2ghz clock outperform my 2ghz singlecore amd64 ?

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by Merlin » Wed Mar 26, 2008 10:09 pm

I just upgraded from the same socket you have with a dual core 3600 to what my sig says I have now and the improvement is substantial. You can find better chipsets than what I have in ATX config or the 780G if micro ATX is your thing ( I just jumped to micro ATX myself) I would not recommend the 740G that I have now at this time simply because there are some issues with the chiset drivers that you would not have with the 780G. Total cost under $600 you can upgrade to a very nice AMD 2.5 + Ghz system with really good graphics.
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by ibleet » Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:39 pm

Or you could just upgrade to Intel and see a much more drastic performance increase...allow me to explain:

AMD setup:

Crosshair motherboard
5200+ windsor @ 2.6Ghz

Intel setup:

Gigabyte P35 DS3L
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz

Both setups have exactly the same components otherwise, with no overclocking whatsoever.

Average increase in benchmark performance using Lightsmark & 3DMark06 = 40%. I was amazed considering the all but equal cpu speeds in the 2 systems.

The AMD system had a fresh install of XP Pro MCE. I ran Lightsmark & 3DMark06 and wrote down the results. Next I removed the Crosshair motherboard and 5200+ and replaced them with the P35 & E6750. I did a fresh install of XP Pro MCE, and once again ran the 2 benchmarks. Both systems had the latest bios installed with very similar bios options enabled. The difference is like night and day.

User avatar
Merlin
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 888
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Dallas Texas

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by Merlin » Thu Mar 27, 2008 6:31 am

So are you saying that no one should stay with AMD no matter what? That Intel CPU is $79 more than the AMD I don't know what the "Crosshair" MOBO is but when I was looking into my upgrade Intel boards were $ 20-$60 more than AMD. I am not sure but I gather that Intel is a bit hotter so most of the time you end up having to go with aftermarket cooling that adds another $30-$40. My point being there are more factors than benchies at play and loyalty is one of them...a big one for me. I MAY find a better review on a given product on another site but I ALWAYS look here first and last..
Merlin
ASUS Z97-A LGA1150|i7 4790K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR3 2400| EVGA GTX660 | Corsair HX520W PSU
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO 1151|i7 8700K|32Gb G-skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666| EVGA GTX1080 | Samsung 500GB SSD | Corsair AX760 PSU

User avatar
ibleet
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1529
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:40 pm

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by ibleet » Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:47 am

Don't shoot me, I'm just the messenger.

I'm not saying anything, I'm just reporting the facts. I knew the Intel would be faster, but I expected maybe 5-10%, so when it was 40%, I figured it was noteworthy. Glean from it what you will. :mrgreen:

The Intel CPU may in fact cost $79 more, but the P35 board I chose cost $150 less, making the Intel setup $70 cheaper.

BTW, both setups had nearly identical temps, so an aftermarket cooler wasn't necessary. That plus the fact that the Intel chip had monster overclocking headroom and the AMD chip had very little.

If you think you absolutely must buy an aftermarket cooler (which is nonsense if you don't overclock), then you can pick up an Arctic cooler freezer 7 pro for under $30, and they work extremely well.

Yes there are many other variables involved besides benchmarks, but they are important to enthusiasts everywhere and carry a lot of weight.

In conclusion, enjoy your loyalty, while I enjoy my performance boost. :lol:

hercules71185
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Re: will i see improvement if i upgrade from amd3200 to phenom

Post by hercules71185 » Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:59 pm

if you had an am2 motherboard already then I see sticking with amd and getting the phenom. But, If you have to buy a mobo reguardless..I have no idea why you would not switch. [email protected] 4.0 easy vs phenom at 3.2 is the same price range. and your performance isn't even close. Trust me I like amd but, at this point in time there is no reason to stay. When they get back on top it is worth it. Buy intel is killing them

Post Reply