AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
hitechseeker
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:18 pm

AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by hitechseeker » Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:37 pm

My ECS motherboard K7vta3 V 5.0 has been running an AMD 1800+ CPU until now. It runs at 1.12 GHz.

Recently, I bought a 2800+ CPU
I have replaced the BIOS with 5.0g, and set the FSB to 166 MHz with jumpers. I have also cleared the CMOS.
The processs or is running at 1.083 GHz, when it should be running at 2.083 GHz. At this low speed the computer is not stable either.

Is there any other setting that I need to make in order to get the full speed of this CPU ?

My memory is DDR 333 and I have a Radeon 9200 VGA graphicat card.

What settings are people using with this MB and CPU combination. Looks like the processor is supported in teh CPU forum messages.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
ViPeR.Ja
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:03 pm
Location: Eden Prairie, MN

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by ViPeR.Ja » Mon Apr 28, 2008 4:17 pm

it could be the AMD Cool'n"Quiet technology that is throtling down the frequency.
Dell Sucks.... In my opinion anyways
New Rig
AMD Phenom II 955 at 3.2ghz
DFI 790
4GB OCZ 1066mhz
MSI 280 GTX
650Watts Antec Truepower Trio

hitechseeker
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by hitechseeker » Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:41 pm

The CPU does not seem to run excessively hot. How can I figure out if its the "cool-n-quiet" technology is causing the problem. The 2800+ runs at a lower clock rate than the 1800+ I had in there before.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by skier » Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:29 pm

with my 2800, the board would default it to 1250mhz(100 FSB) so i had to "OC"it to the stock settings of 166, if you set it to the 166 it's supposed to be at, it should run great,

i run mine at 177 though 8) except the whole, board dying thing :(
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

hitechseeker
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by hitechseeker » Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:12 pm

I can see FSB of 166 MHz when the BIOS comes up on power on. At that FSB it is showing a speed of 1083MHz. Unfortunately, I cannot change the Vcore voltage to 1.65V as recommended by AMD for this chip. The BIOS shows it to be 1.45 V. The chip is marked AMD Athlon AXDA2800DKV3C. The memory speed is also at 166 MHz

I wish I had another MB to try it on to see if I can actually get 2800+ CPU performance.

Anybody have any ideas or confirmation that its the motherboard that will not work with this chip ?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by skier » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:49 am

can you change the multiplier in the BIOS? because if it's FSB is 166, then it has to run at 2083MHz unless the board changed the multi

(assuming your chip is the XP 2800+ with 166MHz FSB and 12.5x multiplier like mine)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

hitechseeker
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by hitechseeker » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:07 am

I can only change the FSB on this board, no other parameters. The Board vendor claims that it is compatible with the 2800+ Athlon, however the clock speed comes out at just over 1100 MHz with the FSB at 174. I cannot change the multiplier or the Vcore voltage. The Belarc utility also gives the same clock rate.

hitechseeker
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by hitechseeker » Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:26 am

Is it possible that the chip clock rate got locked down somehow and needs to be unlocked ? I would not know hoe to unlock it.

hitechseeker
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: AMD 2800+ on an ECS k7VTA3 V5.0 with BIOS 50g

Post by hitechseeker » Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:23 pm

Correction to my first post.
My AMD 1800+ is running at 1.54 GHz at FSB of 133 MHz as it should. I do not have Vcore or Multiplier adjustment on my motherboard, only FSB.

Post Reply