overclock a 3200+?

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

overclock a 3200+?

Post by grunt » Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:00 am

Can you do it? My ram in kingston hyperX pc-4000 2x512. Lemme know what I can do to speed it up, Im a lil jealous at the slower chips getting overclocked to be faster then mine :(

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33897
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:08 am

Once you update the BIOS to version 24 which is the newest on the NF7-S just start increasing the FSB till the system becomes unstable ;)

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:19 pm

I got up to 23, thats the highest listed in the abit site?

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33897
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Wed Mar 31, 2004 2:09 pm


grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Thu Apr 01, 2004 10:06 am

i have the rev 2.0 which it takes me back to the 23 version of the bios.

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:29 pm

downloaded it and now I am waiting on a new bios chip =( Called abit and they said I shouldnt download any of the bios updates from their site lol.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33897
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:23 pm

what happened? Fried your chip?

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Mon Apr 05, 2004 10:58 pm

I guess so, they are sending me a new bios chip (for free)

Post Reply