AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:04 am

AMD plans to relase two dual-core Kuma-powered processors in Q1 2009. The processors fits in AM2+ socket and are based on 65nm process. Both of them supports 1066MHz DDR2 memory.

Here is what the rumor boat has for specifications right now.

Athlon X2 7750 - 2.7GHz, 2x 512KB of L2 cache and 2MB of L3 cache, 95W TDP
Athlon X2 7550 - 2.5GHz, 2x 512KB of L2 cache and 2MB of L3 cache, 95W TDP

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by skier » Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:33 pm

it's taking them long enough to have competitive dual core chips :roll:

(not to mention these are 65nm so they still won't compete with wolfdale)
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
geokilla
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by geokilla » Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:49 pm

Are these based on the failed Phenom cores? Their TDP is the same as the Phenom , and they have a small L2 cache and a 2MB L3 cache.
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.16V (CPU-Z + LinX)
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H F14 BIOS
ASUS GTX 460 768MB @ 800/1950
Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB @ DDR-1333
Corsair AX750
Crucial M4 128GB
Western Digital Black 1TB
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ EVO
BenQ E2420HD
---------------------
I AM CANADIAN!

User avatar
dipu
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:14 am
Location: Dhaka,Bangladesh.

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by dipu » Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:14 am

I dont understand why AMD is running behind this x2 processors. We dont need them any more. They should concentrate more on Fusion. :cry: :-k

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by skier » Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:11 am

dipu wrote:I dont understand why AMD is running behind this x2 processors. We dont need them any more. They should concentrate more on Fusion. :cry: :-k
because AMD is getting hammered in the dual core market by Intel's wolfdale 45nm architechture, AMD is'nt even putting up a fight for performance in the Dual Core market
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
dipu
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:14 am
Location: Dhaka,Bangladesh.

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by dipu » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:44 am

because AMD is getting hammered in the dual core market by Intel's wolfdale 45nm architechture, AMD is'nt even putting up a fight for performance in the Dual Core market


yes you are right. The "AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs" are bloody knuckles and broken bones from AMD. :(

Very sad coz I like AMD.

User avatar
jedihobbit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Central VA, USA

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by jedihobbit » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:58 pm

Can't find any other posts concerning the 7750BE....has anyone here done anything with one as I would like to compare notes! :)
DreamCatcher v4.0 DOA >> SG01 Evo, TA790GXE, PII X4 945 (AQ H2O Cooled), BFG GTX280 H2OC, Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB, 2 x WD5000KSs, TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF, MODU82+ EMD525AWT, XP Home SP2
Kermit v4.0 VIRUSed >> Ultra MX6, 785GM-E65, PII X4 955 @ 3.70GHZ(air), XFX GTX285, Raptor X, F3-12800CL7D-2GBPI, OCZ700MXSP ModXStream Pro, XP Home SP2
Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE @ 3.00GHZ(air), 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

User avatar
stopthekilling77
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2192
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by stopthekilling77 » Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:15 pm

jedihobbit wrote:Can't find any other posts concerning the 7750BE....has anyone here done anything with one as I would like to compare notes! :)
I've built a few systems with this CPU configuration with ASUS M3A78-CM boards, just playing with the unlocked divider some of them will hit well over 3GHz ;)
MSI 970A-G43
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE @ 3.5 GHz
10 GB DDR3 1333 CAS-7
GeForce GTX 650 Ti OC 2GB
2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB WD HDD for backups,
Antec P-180B, Antec 450W PSU
ASUS 27" LED LCD Monitor
someday I will get a real GPU and some SSD's... :goodman:

User avatar
jedihobbit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Central VA, USA

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by jedihobbit » Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:45 pm

Okay don't feel so bad then as my 3.17GHz is my "consistanly" stable setting. However under the S & Gs label I did manage an 8M run of SPi with Image
DreamCatcher v4.0 DOA >> SG01 Evo, TA790GXE, PII X4 945 (AQ H2O Cooled), BFG GTX280 H2OC, Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB, 2 x WD5000KSs, TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF, MODU82+ EMD525AWT, XP Home SP2
Kermit v4.0 VIRUSed >> Ultra MX6, 785GM-E65, PII X4 955 @ 3.70GHZ(air), XFX GTX285, Raptor X, F3-12800CL7D-2GBPI, OCZ700MXSP ModXStream Pro, XP Home SP2
Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE @ 3.00GHZ(air), 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

User avatar
Athlonite
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by Athlonite » Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:06 am

I've had my 7750BE upto 3.3GHz on 1.35v stable as and only 38 °C (100 °F) @ idle and 43°C loaded
Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD FX 8320 @ 3700MHz NB/HT @ 2600MHZ
2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 C9
1x Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 9550MHz core 1250MHz mem
1x Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212S SATA
2x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm raid0
1x Samsung HD502IJ 16MB cache 7200rpm storage
1x WD2500AAJS 8MB cache 7200rpm storage
Thermolab Baram 1 x 120mm CM R4 90cfm 2000rpm 1x SilverStone 120mm AP 1500rpm 37.5cfm
SilverStone ST75F-P 750W PSU Full Modular
SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by spitter » Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:27 am

Athlonite wrote:I've had my 7750BE upto 3.3GHz on 1.35v stable as and only 38 °C (100 °F) @ idle and 43°C loaded

Can't seem to get either one of mine above 3ghz and keep it stable, and my temps are are lower than yours so I don't think it is a temp problem.

User avatar
jedihobbit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Central VA, USA

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by jedihobbit » Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:11 pm

spitter wrote:
Athlonite wrote:I've had my 7750BE upto 3.3GHz on 1.35v stable as and only 38 °C (100 °F) @ idle and 43°C loaded
Can't seem to get either one of mine above 3ghz and keep it stable, and my temps are are lower than yours so I don't think it is a temp problem.
spitter, what would be your settings?
DreamCatcher v4.0 DOA >> SG01 Evo, TA790GXE, PII X4 945 (AQ H2O Cooled), BFG GTX280 H2OC, Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB, 2 x WD5000KSs, TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF, MODU82+ EMD525AWT, XP Home SP2
Kermit v4.0 VIRUSed >> Ultra MX6, 785GM-E65, PII X4 955 @ 3.70GHZ(air), XFX GTX285, Raptor X, F3-12800CL7D-2GBPI, OCZ700MXSP ModXStream Pro, XP Home SP2
Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE @ 3.00GHZ(air), 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

User avatar
hainer36
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by hainer36 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:38 am

my 7750 can hit 3ghz no problem just by upping the multi to 15x and no voltage increases. Try using the unlocked multi to you benefit

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by spitter » Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:36 pm

Thanks for the offer guys, but I do know my way around in the bios, it is more a question of how stable is "stable". I can run prime95 at 3 ghz for 48hrs at stock voltage without errors, but folding for 6 days I will get minor errors in other programs due to the overclock. I would rather run at stock for 20 days straight with no errors then 6 days with 1 error.

User avatar
jedihobbit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Central VA, USA

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by jedihobbit » Wed Sep 23, 2009 11:13 pm

Interesting about the folding....are you running SMP or classic? Kermit in my sig right now is doing classic and GPU 24/7 and haven't had issues. But agree with you about "what is stable". :)
DreamCatcher v4.0 DOA >> SG01 Evo, TA790GXE, PII X4 945 (AQ H2O Cooled), BFG GTX280 H2OC, Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB, 2 x WD5000KSs, TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF, MODU82+ EMD525AWT, XP Home SP2
Kermit v4.0 VIRUSed >> Ultra MX6, 785GM-E65, PII X4 955 @ 3.70GHZ(air), XFX GTX285, Raptor X, F3-12800CL7D-2GBPI, OCZ700MXSP ModXStream Pro, XP Home SP2
Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE @ 3.00GHZ(air), 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

spitter
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:33 am

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by spitter » Thu Sep 24, 2009 7:47 pm

Classic, and I'm glad kermits doing so well for you. I see you have two biostar boards, I also have a 790 and 760.

User avatar
jedihobbit
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:57 pm
Location: Central VA, USA

Re: AMD Athlon X2 7750 and 7550 - dual-core Kuma CPUs are coming

Post by jedihobbit » Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:22 pm

spitter wrote:Classic, and I'm glad kermits doing so well for you. I see you have two biostar boards, I also have a 790 and 760.
The 760G is new for me as I fried a 780G when I did my initial W/C start up :oops: but love 'em. Going to go back and play with the Kuma and -CM shortly and see if the S & Gs will do something! :mrgreen:
DreamCatcher v4.0 DOA >> SG01 Evo, TA790GXE, PII X4 945 (AQ H2O Cooled), BFG GTX280 H2OC, Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB, 2 x WD5000KSs, TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF, MODU82+ EMD525AWT, XP Home SP2
Kermit v4.0 VIRUSed >> Ultra MX6, 785GM-E65, PII X4 955 @ 3.70GHZ(air), XFX GTX285, Raptor X, F3-12800CL7D-2GBPI, OCZ700MXSP ModXStream Pro, XP Home SP2
Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE @ 3.00GHZ(air), 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

Post Reply