Performance losses running an AM3 chip on an AM2 MOBO

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
/dev/null
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:28 pm

Performance losses running an AM3 chip on an AM2 MOBO

Post by /dev/null » Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:12 pm

Hello, I had a quick question about how much of a performance increase would likely be seen running an am3 chip on an actual am3 board as apposed to running it on an am2 board? I know it forces the Hypertransport to a slower speed, but how much real-world speed difference does this translate to, does anybody know?

Thanks for any help you guys can offer! I'm thinking about upgrading to an am3 board, I just revamped my cooling system to allow for good overclocking but dont want to hinder things by running parts at a slower spec than they should if it makes much difference.

-John

HACKhalo2
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Cheboygan, MI

Re: Performance losses running an AM3 chip on an AM2 MOBO

Post by HACKhalo2 » Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:09 pm

I would bite the bullet and upgrade the Motherboard and RAM. You'll get faster RAM and Hypertransport 3.0, can't go wrong there.

But if you can't upgrade, I don't foresee to much of a performance decrease. I'm not sure though, I haven't seen specs on an AM3 processor in an AM2/AM2+ board compared to an AM3 processor in an AM3 board.

User avatar
werty316
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:35 am

Re: Performance losses running an AM3 chip on an AM2 MOBO

Post by werty316 » Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:11 pm

I don't think you'll really notice a difference at all; its only when you run the benchmark numbers where you'll notice.
There is no theory of evolution. Just a list of animals Chuck Norris allows to live.

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Performance losses running an AM3 chip on an AM2 MOBO

Post by skier » Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:55 pm

its too bad this is so hard to test as its similar to comparing apples to oranges, its not like manufacturers make an AM3 and AM2+ board exactly the same, numbers will vary from any board to another regardless of socket
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Post Reply