Why AMD processor Speed in Ghz Does not equal Intels?

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
User avatar
DeusEx
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:27 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Why AMD processor Speed in Ghz Does not equal Intels?

Post by DeusEx » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:28 pm

I knew this for ages, but i never really thought about WHY that is the case. Can someone shed some light on this topic?

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Why AMD processor Speed in Ghz Does not equal Intels?

Post by skier » Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:20 pm

different architectures are more efficient for different things, as i'm sure you know, Phenom was an architecture that was released early just to fight intel, so they made a new architecture, Phenom II which was better across the board, and basically as time goes on, one company will make a chip that beats the other at a certain speed, lets say 2.6GHz Corei7 = 3GHz Phenom II X4 because speed can make up for most of architecture faults and cache differences (Corei7 has a ton more cache as well, so it's better for things that USE cache dominantly) that one chip has compared to another.

i mean, a 2.6GHz Corei7 doesn't equal a 2.6GHz Corei5 either. cache matters and so does the architecture

hope this somewhat answers your conceptual question
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
DeusEx
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:27 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Why AMD processor Speed in Ghz Does not equal Intels?

Post by DeusEx » Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:12 pm

yeah you explained it very well. Makes sense. So it can vary not only from manufacturer but also across different lines within 1 manufacturer. Interesting.

Post Reply