Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
matricxs
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:46 am

Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by matricxs » Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:52 pm

An online retailer is apparently taking orders for several AMD 12-core Opteron processors, as if six cores weren't enough.

The Opteron X12 6164 runs at 1.7GHz and has 16MB of cache and it costs $797, while the 6136 is clocked at 2.4GHz, packs 18MB of cache and costs $808. The slower version runs on just 65W of power, while the 2.4GHz model consumes 105W, which sounds quite impressive.
:partyman: :prayer: :supz:
AMD ATHLON X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHZ stoc cooling
ASUSTeK M2A_VM
ASUSTeK ATI HD4870 1GB 750/900
2GB A-DATA DDR2 800+ EXTREME
SEGATE BARACUDA 60 GB + MAXTROR 80 GB

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33891
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by Apoptosis » Fri Mar 26, 2010 7:34 am

any links or images?
Find us on Facebook to discover the faces behind the names!
Follow Me on Twitter!

User avatar
Darkstar
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 1910
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by Darkstar » Fri Mar 26, 2010 7:48 am

Provantage is the retailer, havent seen any images of it myself.

:drinkers:
Phenom II 1075T,Phenom II 1090T,Intel i7 870
Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Evga GTX460
8 GB Corsair
Agility2 120GB SSD
Dual 24" Samsungs LCD's

matricxs
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:46 am

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by matricxs » Fri Mar 26, 2010 7:51 am

No one has a picture yet of the procesor , or the performances,sry ! :roll:
Yep Darkstar is right, provantage is the only one who should have it!
AMD ATHLON X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHZ stoc cooling
ASUSTeK M2A_VM
ASUSTeK ATI HD4870 1GB 750/900
2GB A-DATA DDR2 800+ EXTREME
SEGATE BARACUDA 60 GB + MAXTROR 80 GB

User avatar
Dizz01
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by Dizz01 » Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:03 am

*drool*
AMD Phenom II x6 1075T @3.3▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂Three Hundred Antec Case
Asus M4A785TD M-EVO▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂500w OCZ Modular PSU
Noctua CPU Cooler▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂500Gig WD HDD
4Gig OCZ Gold Edition 1600 Ram▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂ASUS ATI 7770 2GIG!

1Kurgan1
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 1:55 am

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by 1Kurgan1 » Sat Mar 27, 2010 2:02 am

I wish I had the need for a server as i would be rocking these processors, their pricing looks VERY competitive.

matricxs
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:46 am

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by matricxs » Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:16 am

I think I saw a server motherboard with 4 procesors suport, so you ca have 12x4=48 procesors :lol: thats hysterical , by the way xp can only se 31 procesors !!! :toimonster:
AMD ATHLON X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHZ stoc cooling
ASUSTeK M2A_VM
ASUSTeK ATI HD4870 1GB 750/900
2GB A-DATA DDR2 800+ EXTREME
SEGATE BARACUDA 60 GB + MAXTROR 80 GB

User avatar
taichi135
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by taichi135 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:32 am

Anyone see motherboards for these processors? (I assume they're pretty damn expensive.) I'd love to get one for a desktop linux system. Do I "need" 12 cores, probably not, but that's not the point! :)

In all seriousness, I could possibly need one for work in the future, and since I'm not paying for it....
"Windows is a 32-bit patch to a 16-bit GUI for an 8-bit operating system written for a 4-bit processor by a 2-bit company that can't stand 1-bit of competition"

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by skier » Mon Mar 29, 2010 3:17 pm

taichi135 wrote:Anyone see motherboards for these processors? (I assume they're pretty damn expensive.) I'd love to get one for a desktop linux system. Do I "need" 12 cores, probably not, but that's not the point! :)

In all seriousness, I could possibly need one for work in the future, and since I'm not paying for it....
i would imagine most AM3 boards out will be compatible with a BIOS update
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

User avatar
taichi135
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by taichi135 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:48 pm

I didn't think the opterons were made in AM3 or AM2+ socket. Pretty sure they're different. (?)
"Windows is a 32-bit patch to a 16-bit GUI for an 8-bit operating system written for a 4-bit processor by a 2-bit company that can't stand 1-bit of competition"

User avatar
skier
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4450
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Retailer lists AMD phenom II x12-cores

Post by skier » Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:01 am

taichi135 wrote:I didn't think the opterons were made in AM3 or AM2+ socket. Pretty sure they're different. (?)
oh haha nvm then, i was only looking at the thread title as i read the OP on the 26th
-Austin
Image
Screamin' BCLK: Image
775 System (Overclocking Platform): Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7400/E7500 - GA-EP45-UD3R v1.1 - 4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 CL5 2.1v Corsair TX-750w
Gamer: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, i7 3770K @4.6GHz, ThermalTake Armor A90 modded, 2x4GB GSKILL RipjawsX DDR3 2133 CL9, Corsair HX-750w, MSI GTX660 Twin Frozr
Server2012: Q9300 - 8GB DDR2 - Asus P5QL Pro - Corsair CX430 - Mirrored 2TB Seagate's with 2TB WD cav for fileshare backups, 1TB WD for OS backups

Post Reply