hmm

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

hmm

Post by grunt » Tue May 18, 2004 12:07 pm

Trying to get my 2500+ to overclock, not sure as to what voltages I should run at. Im sure there is more to it then just bumping the fsb. I got the nf7-s (rev 2.0) and for now I am using 512 xms 3700pt ram. Not for long of course, once the rest of my parts come then I will use my 1024twinX pro :lol:
As for now, what do i need to do?

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Tue May 18, 2004 10:21 pm

the default is 1.65v, most people can get 2.2 (11x200) at the default voltage. I try to keep my cpu below 2v. but thats just me... some people have no problem running at 2.1+.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Wed May 19, 2004 5:35 am

ok I am at 2v right now. im at 200x11.5 getting 2.31ghz... Lets see what else I can do hehe... As for the timing of the ram what should I have it at 3/3 4/4 etc?
Anyone know where I can get that 3dmarkpro at (maybe free)

Immortal

Post by Immortal » Wed May 19, 2004 5:39 am

2v is huge, what kinda cooling you have on it, unless u have really high end air cooling or water cooling, 2v is quite dangerous! :?

If you really wana OC well, get urself a Mobile 2500+, they run @ 1.4v default voltage..... and have the multiplier unlocked!

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Post by Bio-Hazard » Wed May 19, 2004 7:40 am

Immortal wrote:2v is huge, what kinda cooling you have on it, unless u have really high end air cooling or water cooling, 2v is quite dangerous! :?

If you really wana OC well, get urself a Mobile 2500+, they run @ 1.4v default voltage..... and have the multiplier unlocked!
I agree, you need to keep a eye on your temps, normally anything over 1.85v will get to hot with air cooling. I try to keep my temps under 50c using MBM, the core will be alot hotter that that reading.

He has to have a unlocked Barton 2500 as he said he is at 11.5x200 (Barton 2500 is 11x166 stock)

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Wed May 19, 2004 9:18 am

do those mobile's at newegg for 90$ o/c? We have the same board I just wanna make sure before i order it

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Wed May 19, 2004 11:59 am

Yes the newegg mobiles overclock very well. as for ram timings generaly the goal is as low as you can get them. some people see better benchmarks when runing at 11-2-2-2 i have my fastest times ruing at 6-3-3-2 (the fastest my meory will run).
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

A10Pilot3
Legit Fanatic
Legit Fanatic
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 7:51 pm

Post by A10Pilot3 » Wed May 19, 2004 8:10 pm

I will be getting a mobile 2500+ soon and overclocking it for someone, so I will let you guys know what I get out of it

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Wed May 19, 2004 10:45 pm

Well mine is cranking along at 2.4ghz. i think i can get more out of it but i need to lap my heatsink and upgrade my psu becaues my 12v line is super low when i run over 2.4ghz.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Post by Bio-Hazard » Thu May 20, 2004 6:59 am

A good XP-M should go to around 2500-2700 MHz on air (Highest I've seen). My locked 2500 Barton will do 11x220 at 1.85 volts and will stay in the low 40's max load........but I'm water cooled............I'm planning on getting a XP-M here pretty soon also (if the cash thing works out).......I have a friend that hit 2700 with his XP-M on water so I know it can be done............. :D

Fantasma
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 4:30 pm

Post by Fantasma » Thu May 20, 2004 5:11 pm

Why all people is buying a 2500?, a 3200 will overclock better or it won´t?

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Post by Bio-Hazard » Thu May 20, 2004 5:46 pm

It's all a matter of the almighty dollar...........the 2500's are alot cheaper...........and run just as fast, if not faster.......... :shock:

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Thu May 20, 2004 6:41 pm

Fantasma wrote:Why all people is buying a 2500?, a 3200 will overclock better or it won´t?
No. There are two things going on. One we are talking about the 2500+ Mobile which runs at a much lower voltage and tops out at 3ghz. Most people can get 2.7 on air and some good chips as high as 2.8 on air. to go higher people have used phasechangeing equipment to get up to 3ghz. Second the 2500+ and the 3200+ are the same chip. The 3200+ just tested for higher frequency at the amd plant. That means that at its frequency of 2.2ghz it was more stable (theoreticly) than a 2500+ core. However all Barton chips have the same basic properties and top out at the same basic frequencys. Most barton chips have a top end of 2.6ghz, except for the mobiles. The mobile chips are the cream of the crop from amd thats why they can run 1.45v rather than 1.65v at the same speed.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

Professorfate
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:31 pm
Location: California

Post by Professorfate » Fri May 21, 2004 12:56 am

grunt wrote:do those mobile's at newegg for 90$ o/c? We have the same board I just wanna make sure before i order it
My Newegg 2500 mobile runs smooth at 12.5 X 200 for 2500MHz at 1.83 Vcore. AN7/SP97 mobo/cooling.

Also 13 X 205 = 2671MHz CPU @ 1.93 Vcore, but I'm not crazy about that much Vcore.

Fantasma
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 4:30 pm

Post by Fantasma » Fri May 21, 2004 2:41 pm

infinitevalence wrote:
Fantasma wrote:Why all people is buying a 2500?, a 3200 will overclock better or it won´t?
No. There are two things going on. One we are talking about the 2500+ Mobile which runs at a much lower voltage and tops out at 3ghz. Most people can get 2.7 on air and some good chips as high as 2.8 on air. to go higher people have used phasechangeing equipment to get up to 3ghz. Second the 2500+ and the 3200+ are the same chip. The 3200+ just tested for higher frequency at the amd plant. That means that at its frequency of 2.2ghz it was more stable (theoreticly) than a 2500+ core. However all Barton chips have the same basic properties and top out at the same basic frequencys. Most barton chips have a top end of 2.6ghz, except for the mobiles. The mobile chips are the cream of the crop from amd thats why they can run 1.45v rather than 1.65v at the same speed.
Hmm, ok, clearer now :goodman:

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Fri May 21, 2004 5:23 pm

had to edit, got my 2500+ mobile today.... currently at 1.8v 2.5ghz 400fsb... nice... Oh yeah, amd heat sink and fan lol

Its weird since I have in the pc a 2500 mobile, and laying on the desk I have a 3200+ and a 2500+ barton...

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Sat May 22, 2004 12:51 am

Ebay the suckers. get the $$ and buy a new grahpics card or a new hd.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

User avatar
wuzy
Legit Aficionado
Legit Aficionado
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:07 am
Contact:

Post by wuzy » Tue May 25, 2004 9:43 pm

[quote="grunt"]Oh yeah, amd heat sink and fan lol[quote]
You'll definitly want to get a new HSF for that baby if you're going to do any serious overclocking.

It's a shame that with my current water rig plus a normal 2500+, the max. I can get out of it is 218x11.5 @1.95V

http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.p ... 1419674535

Post Reply