Can't get Athlon II X2 240 above 3Ghz?

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
User avatar
madhatter
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:04 am

Can't get Athlon II X2 240 above 3Ghz?

Post by madhatter » Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:23 am

i am pretty much new to the whole OC business
decided id try and see how far my cpu can go
ive been using ASRock OC tuner to get 3Ghz without giving it a second thought for a while
then i read guys reporting frequencies 3.4-3.6 and even 4 so i thought i could get 3.3 no matter what
asked OCCT and got a bsod
14x232 1.375V, 14x231 1.4V, 14x226 1.4V and 14x223 1.4V were all a no go
whats funny is that neither OCCT nor Prime95 caused any problems while running
true, no test ran for longer than ~1.5hrs, but never anything?
then about an hour or so after testing i got freezeups

mb: ASRock ALiveNF7G-GLAN
psu: Gigabyte Superb 55OP 450W
When dealing with citizens, if it felt good saying it, it was wrong.

User avatar
XstollieX
Staff Writer
Staff Writer
Posts: 1641
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Can't get Athlon II X2 240 above 3Ghz?

Post by XstollieX » Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:32 pm

Don't forget, when you increase the fsb that will also increase your memory. Try backing down the multi on your ram and see if that helps. May need to do that through the bios

User avatar
madhatter
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:04 am

Re: Can't get Athlon II X2 240 above 3Ghz?

Post by madhatter » Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:01 am

tried setting frequency to 220 via bios, 1.375V
left PCI at 100
not even bios would load, which is funny cos ive been using that setting in asrock oc tuner for months

and what do you mean by ram multi? all i could find was setting ram to 200, 266, 333, 400 or 533
When dealing with citizens, if it felt good saying it, it was wrong.

Aniki
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:43 pm

Re: Can't get Athlon II X2 240 above 3Ghz?

Post by Aniki » Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:46 pm

Try 237*13.5. You shouldn't need to bump up the voltage for a 400 MHz OC.

Post Reply