Barton's Are Now Locked??

Discussions about AMD Processors and overclocking. Need help with that new AMD CPU or not sure which one to buy? Like to void your warranty? This is the place for you! Please keep the topic on Processors only!
Post Reply
User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Barton's Are Now Locked??

Post by Apoptosis » Sat Nov 08, 2003 8:04 pm

SIGH.... I knew this was coming, but seems that is it upon us already!

Here is the list of CPU's from around the web that have been found to be locked or not... For the most part Pre-Week 39 seems to be unlcoked for all.

locked:
AQFZA 0341 XPMW
AQXCA 0340
AQXFA 0340 MPMW
AQXFA 0339
AQYFA 0342
AQZEA 0341
AQZFA 0342 UPMW
AQZFA 0339 UPMW

unlocked:
AQZEA 0339 UPMW
AQZFA 0340 UPMW
AQZEA 0334

Looks like the odds are against you if you are looking for a new barton unless you find a source with some old ones. Wire tricks don't work on the new ones...

User avatar
Illuminati
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Wright City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Post by Illuminati » Sat Nov 08, 2003 9:26 pm

uhh... damn.
Justin West
Server Admin & Forum Moderator
Follow me on Twitter | Find us on Facebook

morosis
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 8:24 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by morosis » Sun Nov 09, 2003 12:40 am

Yeah, I found that this morning too :(

Kinda sucks, because I was trying to save up for a 2500+ and overclock it to hell and back... not now! :(

Ah well, looks like I'll just have to save for a complete refresh, perhaps go Intel next time, or Athlon64. This sucks... like a hoover!
Sex is like software, it's better when it's free.

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Sun Nov 09, 2003 10:45 am

I don't thinkj you are too late to get an unlocked one. Smaller shops that do less volume will have the older unlocked ones. Just got to look around a little bit. Try to get one if you can!

kpothuwila
Legit Enthusiast
Legit Enthusiast
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by kpothuwila » Thu Nov 13, 2003 8:33 pm

Damn, why do AMD shut off their potential customers(overclockers) when they're in debt?

Many will now move to P4 2.6c

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:58 pm

does anyone know who has any pre-week 39's in stock?

EnigmaX
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 11:20 pm

Post by EnigmaX » Fri May 07, 2004 11:25 pm

Just buy a mobile processor. They are better then the normal ones. They run at a lower vcore and a lower fsb

Immortal

Post by Immortal » Sat May 08, 2004 4:26 am

this has been going on for a while, nothing new.

Bartons after week 26 have been locked since about 2 months ago! :p

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Post by Bio-Hazard » Sat May 08, 2004 9:00 am

More like from week 0343 of last year............ :shock:

User avatar
infinitevalence
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Post by infinitevalence » Sat May 08, 2004 12:25 pm

your both right some are locked as eirly as week 26 some as late as week 43 most though are locked as of week 39.

The big news is that you can do an L5 mod and turn the chip into a mobile and use a software program to addjust the multiplyer and voltage in windows.
Last edited by infinitevalence on Sun May 09, 2004 3:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Don't open that! It's an alien planet! Is there air? You don't know!"

grunt
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:16 am
Location: Savannah, Ga

Post by grunt » Sat May 08, 2004 6:52 pm

so are all the mobile's unlocked?

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Post by Bio-Hazard » Sat May 08, 2004 10:17 pm

Yup, they have to be to use that power regulating stuff that the laptops use........... :shock:

Immortal

Post by Immortal » Sun May 09, 2004 4:21 am

Dont think thats the reason, its cause of Cool'n'quiet technology. Whenever the extra speed is not needed, the laptop lowers the multiplier taking the speed lower and lower, while at the same time lowering the voltage slightly!

User avatar
Illuminati
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Wright City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Post by Illuminati » Sun May 09, 2004 1:38 pm

I think that's the same thing Bio is referring to.

less computation being done -> less MHz -> less voltage -> less power -> longer battery life
Justin West
Server Admin & Forum Moderator
Follow me on Twitter | Find us on Facebook

User avatar
Bio-Hazard
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 2302
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Back Woods Of MO.

Post by Bio-Hazard » Sun May 09, 2004 2:55 pm

That's what I ment.....excuse a old country boy for his bad use of english....... :wink: :D 8)

Post Reply